Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered SkyFire47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005

    My new Q6600 Rig & Overclock

    howdy y'all,

    got the new q6600 in sig and a few questions to all the quad users on the boards. am currently testing for stability and:

    1. prime95'ed overnight at 3.0ghz (333fsb @ 1:1) using 1.2350 vcore and its stable
    2. now priming overnight again at 3.2ghz (356fsb @ 1:1) using 1.2350 vcore and it's doing good so far.

    my questions are:

    -idle temps are 37/30/33/36
    -load temps are 59/47/49/59

    are these normal temps are a bad mounting job of the TRUE? is 10 a big difference on a quad core? should i remount? also, any idea what the top speeds are going for on air? what's the most common OC with this chip? i know vcore shouldn't be pushed past 1.5 and load temps should stay under 70 so i'm just curious as to what's a realistic max OC on this would be. appreciate any insight and thanks in advance.
    (currently testing for stability)
    Intel Core2Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.2 [256fsb@1:1]
    Abit IP35-Pro w/ TRUE 120
    2x1gb Crucial Ballistix Tracers PC6400
    XFX 8800GT (G92) 512
    Dell U3011 30" Monitor
    Corsair HX620
    Antec900 Case

  2. #2
    Member Shiggity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Most get to 3.6GHz on air, you're doing good so far.
    CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
    Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
    Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
    GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
    HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
    PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W


  3. #3
    Member ManOfKnight's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Back in Iowa :( Come on Gators, Get up and Go!
    Actually you didn't state the stepping of your Q6600. I am assuming since it is brand new it is a G0...if it is a G0 then you should be able to get around 3.4-3.6 on air...depending on your cooling solution. I am guessing you have a G0 by looking at your temps. If it is a B3 then you will have a tough time getting that high...your max will probably be around 3.2-3.4.
    Laptop: XPS m1530 | T7700 2.2Ghz | 2048MB GSkill DDR2 | NVidia m8600GT 256MB DDR3 :D | 120GB 7200rpm
    Project Caesar: Q9450 @ 3.4Ghz | Maximus Formula | 8192MB OCZ Reaper | eVGA GTX260 | XFX 8800GTS for F@H | 2780GB Total Sata
    Project Jessks: e8400 @ 4.2Ghz | P5KE-WiFi/AP | 4096MB GSkill Red | ATi HD4850 (folding) | 74GB Raptor | 1.5TB Green WD
    Project Fileserver: Phenom 9850 | Biostar 790GX | 2048MB GSkill | (4) 1.5TB Green WD
    Computers are running 24/7 World Community Grid and Folding@Home for
    My Mother, My Sister, Julie Stutzman, Gary Janssen, and Shelly Laborde
    My Heatware 30-0

  4. #4
    Registered SkyFire47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    >_< sorry about that guys. it is a G0 stepping. thanks for the input. anyone have any ideas on the temps though? at load, 2 cores stay right around 60 and the other to stay close to 50 so i'm doing ok. just wondering if this is normal and i have nothing to worry about or if i should remount and all cores should be around 50?
    (currently testing for stability)
    Intel Core2Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.2 [256fsb@1:1]
    Abit IP35-Pro w/ TRUE 120
    2x1gb Crucial Ballistix Tracers PC6400
    XFX 8800GT (G92) 512
    Dell U3011 30" Monitor
    Corsair HX620
    Antec900 Case

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    It's probably just because you need to lap it! I would (my temps differ by like 5*C) but I'm too lazy to spend a couple hours doing it I also got a G0

  6. #6
    Member turd's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    I have been running for months with a spread in the core temps as you can see by my pic. I believe that most do get some spread. Your spread does seem a little high so it may be worth a remount.

    This is on water, at idle, with the rad fans throttled down silent. Heats on in the room and it is warm . So you seem to be doing OK with your temps.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Mines at 2448 G0 Stepping, I guess I should lap because at load it's 48/48/42/40, and I could shave quite a bit (Enzotech Ultra-X)

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    This is as tight as my spread will go, ive been fighting a losing battle

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    I'm right about where you are Perplex, i can make 3.6, but vcore up to about 1.48-49 and temps a little hotter than I like. Instead I'm doing daily use at 3.2 no problems at all.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Quote Originally Posted by SkyFire47 View Post
    >_< sorry about that guys. it is a G0 stepping. thanks for the input. anyone have any ideas on the temps though? at load, 2 cores stay right around 60 and the other to stay close to 50 so i'm doing ok. just wondering if this is normal and i have nothing to worry about or if i should remount and all cores should be around 50?
    My temps at idle are about 34/34/32/31, under load however, they are 56/56/46/45. When I first installed my TRUE there was about a 15 diff between them, and it was more like 65/65/50/49. The first time I spread the TP and then put on the HSF, when I reseated I used the line across the middle method. One thing I noticed when I reseated it is that the pegs on the back plate that sit in the motherboard, one of them doesn't sit all the way in, no matter how I tighten it down.

  11. #11
    Registered SkyFire47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by xj0hnx View Post
    My temps at idle are about 34/34/32/31, under load however, they are 56/56/46/45. When I first installed my TRUE there was about a 15 diff between them, and it was more like 65/65/50/49. The first time I spread the TP and then put on the HSF, when I reseated I used the line across the middle method. One thing I noticed when I reseated it is that the pegs on the back plate that sit in the motherboard, one of them doesn't sit all the way in, no matter how I tighten it down.
    thanks. i actually used the line across method as instructed in one of the stickies up top. i guess there's not too much to worry about as long as temps stay good.

    UPDATE - 3.2ghz @ 1:1 w/ 1.2350 vcore is stable. gonna try for 3.4 next. any ideas what vcores are common for 3.4ghz and 3.6ghz?
    (currently testing for stability)
    Intel Core2Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.2 [256fsb@1:1]
    Abit IP35-Pro w/ TRUE 120
    2x1gb Crucial Ballistix Tracers PC6400
    XFX 8800GT (G92) 512
    Dell U3011 30" Monitor
    Corsair HX620
    Antec900 Case

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •