Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member boorishid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    260

    Help lost stable OC cant figure out whats going on

    So i built this system a few weeks ago

    e6750
    4gb of crucial ballistix 800
    asus striker extreme
    geforce 8800 gts (g92) 512

    Anyways i got it up to 3.8ghz stable (12hrs orthos) with the ram at 950 4-3-3-3. i was using a geforce 7800 256mb gtx till my 8800 arrived. I installed the new video card played a a few games didnt notice ne problems. I had a tuniq tower originally but decided to go to a water cooler a few days after the video card arrived. So i took the thing apart installed a a few fans on the heat pipes for the NB, put the water cooler on booted it up and it was blue screening i cant get it stable at 3.8ghz again. Right now im running at 3.6. Does anyone have an idea about what the hell happend??!! the water cooler is running the proccessor alot cooler than the tuniq tower did. Im not sure but im thinking maybe its a psu issue i used an old aspire 680 watt i had its rated at 75% effecintcy. Could it just be crapping out? maybe the the vid card is drawing to much wattage? i just cant figure it out. I tried
    nb 1.5
    cpu vtt 1.55
    vcore 1.5
    it wont even get to 3650 this way when i had it running at vcore 1.475 and everything else stock voltage to hit 3.8. everest is reporting my cores at 47c under load right now at 1.4 so i know its not heat.

  2. #2
    Member Zenoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    France, Lyon
    Posts
    299
    It might be a Memory problem, but I still think that a 12 hours Orthos test isn't enough to consider that absolute stability has been reached. The Memory and CPU tests must be done for at least 20 hours, in my book, if not 24 hours. However maybe that's just me. My old AMD 64 3500+ was apparently stable in my games at 2.7Ghz, until I got a few BSOD's during mere Internet browsing (it was very rare, but it still happened).

    Back then I tested at 2.7Ghz with Prime95 for 14 hours exactly. I THOUGHT it was stable, and my games were INDEED stable, they never crashed once. But then I decided one day to let the same test run for more than 14 hours and as I expected, somewhat, Prime95 gave me errors at the 17th hour of test. The bottom line is that it wasn't stable after all...and it wasn't the Memory.
    CPU: Intel C2D E8400 @ 3.8Ghz / OCZ Vendetta & AS5
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6 BIOS F8
    Memory: OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-6400 4GB @ 846Mhz
    GPU: eVGA GeForce GTX285 @ Stock
    PSU: Corsair TX750W
    APU: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
    OS: Vista Ultimate SP1 x64 + XP Home SP3 x86

  3. #3
    Member brakezone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,320
    the other day I swapped out my P5N-E SLI to try out a p35-DS3L and when I switched back I forgot that my memory modules are slightly different timings, so they must be paired exactly in each channel. Anyways, I forgot that this was the case so I had a few moments where I felt like I had lost my OC. I swapped the modules around and problem solved.

  4. #4
    Xtreme refugee Tweaked!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh.
    Posts
    1,144
    Boorishid, I would say at first glance it's your ram. I've gone through three sets of ballistix in my Asus board and had similar issues as you with all three. As soon as I switched to Kingston ram all my issues disappeared. Biggest problem for me was that I thought it was the mobo so I ordered another one just to experience it again with the new one.
    E8400@3.4 w/ Apogee w/c
    Asus P5B Deluxe
    8gb pc2-6400 @ 475mhz 1:1 5,5,5,15
    Asus GTX570 DCII
    PC P&C 610w Silencer
    2 WD sata 3.0 raid array 0



    My Heat

  5. #5
    Member boorishid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    260
    so i ran memtest this morning no memmory faliure , i have no idea whats going on here. i ran orthos for 6 hours last night at 3.6 and it was stable then i started using my pc and windows kept ****ting on me again.

  6. #6
    Member boorishid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    260
    So i got the system on an hour of 3 diffrent stress tests running at the same time at 3.6 and rebooted windows wouldnt load had to click the vcore up, im thinkn this may be a power issue are these readings decent

    vcore 1.36
    +3.3v 3.18
    +5v 4.97
    +12v 11.84
    +5v standby 4.92

    They jump a lil lower and higher this is under load. also the psu is on rated at 75% effecentcy not 80+

  7. #7
    orion456's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,166
    Quote Originally Posted by boorishid View Post
    +5v 4.97
    +12v 11.84
    Not good, you should be over +12. Points to PSU problems. The PSU efficiency has no relationship to stability. You need a good PSU for overclocking.

    Did you try setting the memory timings to 5-5-5-18. It still could be memory as well.
    -- W3570 @ 3.8 P6TD on Swiftech H20-220
    -- QX9650 P5K-E on Swiftech H20-220 water, ATI 3870, G.Skill PC 8500.



    The only thing for sure, is that nothing is for sure!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Posts
    5,351
    Quote Originally Posted by Zenoth View Post

    Back then I tested at 2.7Ghz with Prime95 for 14 hours exactly. I THOUGHT it was stable, and my games were INDEED stable, they never crashed once. But then I decided one day to let the same test run for more than 14 hours and as I expected, somewhat, Prime95 gave me errors at the 17th hour of test. The bottom line is that it wasn't stable after all...and it wasn't the Memory.
    Your issue sounds like not good enough cooling. Your temps probably aren't consistent. I have PCs that are like that, they always run Prime95 fine during overnight then fails when the sun is out.

    You need to get cooler air. Should be 24-hour stable after that.

    I had heat ruin my Prime95 test, because when it was almost done, the sun was baking my window and cooling duct. I shall have moved my cooling duct to another window.

    It would always Prime95 for 12 hours, because I had more than enough cold air at night.
    Prime95 always passed when I launched the Prime95 torture test when the sun was down then stopped it by 7 AM of the next day.

    The problem also may be caused by the heat coming on in the house.
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  9. #9
    Member boorishid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    260
    Im pretty sure the cooling can handel things ive never seen the proc above 51c day or not. It winter and i keep my house at 68f my computer is in an antec 900 with all the fans on hi and the water cooling is cpu only nothing else in the loop. I was reading some **** about uping mpp and spp voltages last night i dont see those options in my bios though. I also tried to test the mobo last night set the multiplier to 6 cranked up the fsb i had to keep adding voltage to the cpu to get it stable even though it was only like a 300mhz over clock. The system wouldnt even boot at a 1900mhz bus wich is what it was at originally and working fine . I dunno whats going on but its ****ing me off . Should an e6750 only go to 3.2 or so on stock voltage ater 3.2 i gotta keep feeding it more and more just to get an unstable 3.6 at 1800mhz bus. Im thinking maybe i need to cool the chipset with more than air and get a new chip with a 9 instead of 8 multiplier. I really wanna hit 4ghz. Im just not sire if its the cpu or the mobo or maybe i have ****ass psu. Wich soon i will be going to sli and i dont trust it to run 2 512gts's either.

    This mobo doesnt seem to have asome options i may need though like the mcpp and spp volts and the fsb vtt it also doesnt report my chipset temp anyone have this problem with an asus striker extreme or p32en sli? Im running bios 1401 i upgraded from 1301 last night.

    Also if i wanted to put a water block on the chipset how would i go about it without distroying the heat pipe system? Im sorda scared to volt mod this mobo or cut the heat pipes 300 dollars is alota money for a mobo, i would much rather burn the ram or cpu up.

  10. #10
    Member Shiggity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,429
    4ghz on an E6750 is pretty hard, I have to use like some rediculous amount of voltage just to get it to boot at that without even being close to stable

    My stable 3.6ghz OC is ~1.50V, some chips are just worse than others
    CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
    Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
    Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
    GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
    HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
    PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •