Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Member Shiggity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL

    E6570 @ 1.65vcore (air)

    Ok so I lap my CPU and heatsink, remount and now...



    It's kind of hard to see, but I was at 1.65vcore, other voltages at stock. Ran small FTT torture in prime for ~15 minutes, never going above 68C. (Idling at 26-27C atm)

    Can that temperature readout be correct? On air? My heatsink is nothing special either, just a 9500 zalman. I'm using coretemp 0.96.1

    What other programs have reliable temp readouts for the CPU that I can crosscheck with?
    CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
    Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
    Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
    GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
    HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
    PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W


  2. #2
    Member Shiggity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    bump, thoughts anyone?
    CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
    Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
    Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
    GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
    HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
    PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W


  3. #3
    Coretemp has never lied to me...try Intel Thermal Analysis Tool (TAT). Gives you accurate temps as well.
    _____________________________________________
    E6600@3.375Ghz 1.35V 375x9 Zalman9700
    Evga 680i SLI Mobo
    4G G Skill DDR2 Ram 5-5-5-15@1100Mhz 2.1V
    Evga 8800GTX 768M 50c/65c
    Antec 1200 Case
    3 Seagate 1TB -Raid 5- Areca 1210 Raid card
    2x Dell 2407WFP
    ABS Tagan BZ 700 Watt
    Z-5500 + Xfi XtremeGamer

  4. #4
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Heatware Profile
    coretemp and TAT will give the same temps since they are both reading from the same place.. if the pic wasnt resized we could actaully see the temps... im on a 42in tv and cant see your temps in coretemp..

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  5. #5
    Member Shiggity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Quote Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
    coretemp and TAT will give the same temps since they are both reading from the same place.. if the pic wasnt resized we could actaully see the temps... im on a 42in tv and cant see your temps in coretemp..
    Aye I know, but the vcore scaling on my cpu is very weird.

    1.40 -> 3.4ghz

    1.50 -> 3.6ghz

    1.60 -> Was nearing complete stability on 3.8ghz

    Everyone I see on these forums runs vcores MUCH MUCH lower on air.
    CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
    Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
    Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
    GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
    HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
    PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W


  6. #6
    Senior Member jason4207's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Concord, NC
    Quote Originally Posted by Shiggity View Post
    It's kind of hard to see, but I was at 1.65vcore, other voltages at stock. Ran small FTT torture in prime for ~15 minutes, never going above 68C. (Idling at 26-27C atm)

    Can that temperature readout be correct? On air? My heatsink is nothing special either, just a 9500 zalman. I'm using coretemp 0.96.1
    I bet you can get stable w/ a lot less vcore if you tweak some other voltage settings. Once you get above 420 you usually have to do something. Try dropping your multi, and see what happens when you give the NB and FSB more juice. With your multi dropped you can get your CPU OC out of the equation, and just see what you have to do to get the FSB stable at 450 or higher. Then raise your multi back up, and see how much vcore it takes to keep the CPU happy at those speeds.

    Also, it looks like your giving your RAM 1.8v. What is the voltage spec on your RAM? A lot of current enthusiast DDR2-800 requires anything from 2.1-2.2v, so get your RAM the spec voltage before you do anything else. Show us the 'memory' tab of CPU-Z, so we can see your divider settings as well.

    Your temps are pretty good for as much vcore as you are pumping in.
    MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
    GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
    27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
    G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

    GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
    GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
    Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

    unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
    19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB


  7. #7
    Member Shiggity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Quote Originally Posted by jason4207 View Post
    I bet you can get stable w/ a lot less vcore if you tweak some other voltage settings. Once you get above 420 you usually have to do something. Try dropping your multi, and see what happens when you give the NB and FSB more juice. With your multi dropped you can get your CPU OC out of the equation, and just see what you have to do to get the FSB stable at 450 or higher. Then raise your multi back up, and see how much vcore it takes to keep the CPU happy at those speeds.

    Also, it looks like your giving your RAM 1.8v. What is the voltage spec on your RAM? A lot of current enthusiast DDR2-800 requires anything from 2.1-2.2v, so get your RAM the spec voltage before you do anything else. Show us the 'memory' tab of CPU-Z, so we can see your divider settings as well.

    Your temps are pretty good for as much vcore as you are pumping in.
    My ram is terribad, not even rated to go above 2.0 and i get error spam going above 1.8V on this ram. It's horrible and I know its holding me back. But thats another issue. I run it at 1:1 5-5-5-15 2T, and it can barely keep up with DDR2 900 speed with my 450FSB.

    Sooooo.....Ram suggestions? =D
    CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
    Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
    Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
    GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
    HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
    PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W


  8. #8
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Heatware Profile
    4gig ddr2-1000 $114
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231145

    2gig kits
    $69=ddr2-1000
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231152
    $109=ddr2-1066
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145033

    people may not agree with my choice of ram listings. i am suggesting non micron based ram. till we ram that doesnt die at stock speed/voltage, ie like 2.2v or lower.. i still think it has something to do for when they started making ddr3 ic's.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  9. #9
    Member Finny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    North Dakota
    Quote Originally Posted by Shiggity View Post
    Aye I know, but the vcore scaling on my cpu is very weird.

    1.40 -> 3.4ghz

    1.50 -> 3.6ghz

    1.60 -> Was nearing complete stability on 3.8ghz

    Everyone I see on these forums runs vcores MUCH MUCH lower on air.
    Thats just about right where I am. 1.5v at 3.6 stable.
    92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy and paste this.

    CPU......................i7 920 @ 4.16 with 1.46v
    GPU......................GTX260 core 216 at 700-1180
    RAM.....................6GB micron (cellshock)
    Sound...................Auzentech X-Plosion w/LVM4562OPAMPS
    MOBO...................Biostar T-power x58
    Case....................INCOMING!
    PSU......................Antec 850
    HEAT

  10. #10
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
    coretemp and TAT will give the same temps since they are both reading from the same place.. if the pic wasnt resized we could actaully see the temps... im on a 42in tv and cant see your temps in coretemp..
    I can see it fine on my 22"...it says 67c and 66c.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    HOPE u dont fry anything there Homer.
    Asus P5K |458x8
    Intel E6750 | 2.66-->3.66Ghz @ 1.48v (OCZ Vanquisher @ 50*C) | 3.68GHz stable
    Sapphire ATI 2600xt (RAM 700MHz-->710 | GPU 800MHz-->820)
    Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1066 | 916Mhz @ 4-4-3-12 (fried, they suck)
    Antec Sonata III 500w (enuff power??)


    Old: P III 933==>1050MHz | Asus 9550 | 512MB RAMs | FSB 150MHz :)

  12. #12
    Member nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chulak
    Those temp readings are correct. The E6750 is a gem of a chip. I can go to 1.75V without breaking 69C on my U90.(I am not insinuating you try this, I just did it for temperature research.)
    "Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"

  13. #13
    I wonder how much electromigration occurs with so much voltage, Im hesistant to run that much in my 90nm core.
    Workstation - Windows 7 x64
    AMD 1055T
    Server - ESXi 5.0
    INTEL E5-2603

  14. #14

    e6750

    I would think that chip will be dead in a short time with 1.65v. Thats insanely hi IMO.

    I have an e6750 and run it at 450x8 with 1.40v and hit 48 to 54c max at full load in orthos.. It will do 3.8 but had to up it to 1.5v and wasn't worth it to me for an extra 200 mhz. Maybe for benchmarks but not 24/7.

  15. #15
    Roisen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Folding in Ames, IA
    Quote Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
    coretemp and TAT will give the same temps since they are both reading from the same place.. if the pic wasnt resized we could actaully see the temps... im on a 42in tv and cant see your temps in coretemp..
    I'm on a 20 inch LCD and I can read them 67 and 66.

    Your temps do not seem right. My friend had 1.53V with the Zalman 9500 and AS5 on an E6450, and he was hitting 70C.

  16. #16
    Member Shiggity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Quote Originally Posted by terran2k View Post
    I wonder how much electromigration occurs with so much voltage, Im hesistant to run that much in my 90nm core.
    Yeah I'm torn if running it at 1.50V 24/7 is smart to do, the temps are fine but running that much voltage on it all the time is iffy.

    I use speedstep and C1E though, so unless I'm gaming the voltage is lower with the lower multi.

    We'll see though, if it burns out in a year I'll know not to volt that high =D
    CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
    Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
    Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
    GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
    HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
    PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •