Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Brasil !
    Posts
    14

    What's the difference between Duron and Tbird??

    I never understand the difference? There are two models of Duron, isn't it?? The Morgan and the Palomino. I think Morgan has a 64kb of L2 cache and the palomino has 256kb of L2. ANyway, anyone know the difference between them?!

  2. #2
    Senior Member The Coolest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    8,397
    Hi there! I see you're new to this forum so WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!!!

    Now there are two models of Duron & two models of Athlon (actually its 3, the old Athlon Classic wich was using the slotA interface). The Duron (spitfire, Athlon T-Bird core w/ 64KB cache) came upto 950MHz. The Duron Morgan (Palomino core, 64KB cache). upto 1200MHz so far.

    The Athlon T-Bird w/ 256KB cache, and the Athlon XP (Palomino core) w/ 256KB. the Only difference betwin T-Bird & Duron spitfire is the cache and same difference betwin Morgan & AthlonXP.

    The Athlons have more cache so they are faster and better with multi-tasking.
    "<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Secondary rig:
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

    Heatware

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Brasil !
    Posts
    14
    THX man!! Now I got it!

  4. #4
    Member lennytiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,387
    welcome fellow oc.com brother, please consider joining the Folding@Home team with your underworked computer!!

    thanx lennytiger! :-)
    Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
    Pentium G3258@4.2GHz
    Gigabyte GT630 2Gb (910/1600)
    Seagate 1Tb HDD x2, 8.0Gb DDR3-1333
    Lite-On DVD-RW
    Windows 7 SP1 Professional
    --I fold for Team 32 --


  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Brasil !
    Posts
    14
    what's the Folding@Home ??

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Brasil !
    Posts
    14
    what's it it?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Hardass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    S.W. Florida.
    Posts
    2,967
    Go to the Folding@Home forum they will tell you what where why.
    Folding User Stats

  8. #8
    Senior Aircraftsman IRL RedDeathDrinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Scotland - And don't you forget it!
    Posts
    1,965
    But the SETI forum has so much to offer as well...... www.ocsetiteam.com (poach poach!)

    Duron is to Athlon, as Celeron is to Pentium.....(basically similar cores, but not quite so hot on the cache....)
    We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works.
    How do you recognise something that is still technology?
    A good clue is if it comes with a manual...

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Hardass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    S.W. Florida.
    Posts
    2,967
    Do both then you won,t have to choose.
    Folding User Stats

  10. #10
    Member Fightingpiper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    St. Paul, MN
    Posts
    1,092
    you must ring in the new year with that little Folding icon in your system tray. Or how about the new years resolution.. "I will join the overclockers.com folding team." That should be one you can actually follow through on...
    Isn't having a smoking section in a restaurant like having a peeing section in a swimming pool?

    MY HEATWARE

  11. #11
    Senior Member The Coolest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    8,397
    Don't the posts from the 3rd reply belon in the GD?
    "<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Secondary rig:
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

    Heatware

  12. #12
    Member Fightingpiper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    St. Paul, MN
    Posts
    1,092
    probably
    Isn't having a smoking section in a restaurant like having a peeing section in a swimming pool?

    MY HEATWARE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •