Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    tricknasty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    468

    uhg~ cruncher problem help plz?

    one of my laptops is a T7200 named laoming. anyways it stopped getting work and said it reached the daily quota 2 results. On the results website the tasks say "redundant result", " Cancelled by server".
    This laptop has been rockin out for awhile so whats the deal? its not overclocked and nothing is wrong with the laptop.

    heres a list of my computers
    http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/hosts...&sort=rpc_time
    what can i do to get it crunching again ?
    i7 970 IFX-14 hsf
    Lian-Li PC-7077B/EVGA 3X Classified
    6gb OCZ/120gb OCZ SSD/ HD 6970
    30" Dell /1250W Coolermaster PSU/Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers

  2. #2
    boox2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Okla.
    Posts
    35
    try reset project from boinc.

    P5E-Q6600-GO-@ 3.6 4 GB GSKILL PC6400@480
    2-320GB 7200.10's RAID 0, 2-250GB HITACHIS RAID 0
    PLEXTOR PX-810SA, EVGA 8800GTX 768mb 600/950
    W/C'D - SWIFTECH APOGEE GTX BLOCK SWIFTECH MCP-355 PUMP WITH DELRIN PUMP TOP
    1/2 TYGON TUBING AND BLACK ICE 2 RAD. - 2X120MM FANS
    SEASONIC HT-650, GREEN ASPIRE TURBO CASE

  3. #3
    Careface's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Dunedin, New Zealand
    Posts
    2,330
    That really is weird. I think I know whats happened though.

    SETI has recalled a lot of work as its redundant (obviously, from the message), but because the WU have been cancelled, SETI thinks that theres a problem and youre not returning your results. This would cause your daily quota to drop significantly, even to 1. The plus side is, once youve crunched that 1 WU per core, the quota should raise itself substantially... though, having a look it doesnt seem to be the case.

    I would try a project reset, and as an extreme case and youll do anything to get that pc crunching again, change its name. heck, make the l a L, and itll think its a new pc.

    It could also be SETI just behaving weird. Ive noticed Ive had an ASS of a time trying to get WU from the server.. all the downloads would time out, or id get like a 1k/sec rate.. yuck!

    Either way, good luck man. Hope it works out.

    EDIT: actually, having a deeper look at the WU, they werent actually redundant.. I see 2 pcs still have the WUs sent out to them in "New" status.. only laoming has been given the Redundant Result".. hmm.. Id definitely suggest a reset and/or detach/reattach project. And if all else fails, try the name change thing. Its not ideal, but its a start..
    One Team... One Universe... One Goal: The Truth...
    {OC*SETI}

    ...Because we are not alone...



  4. #4
    tricknasty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    468
    resetting the project didnt work =( so in the morning im going to reinstall boinc and optimized app with a name change. im too sick to mess with it right now
    i7 970 IFX-14 hsf
    Lian-Li PC-7077B/EVGA 3X Classified
    6gb OCZ/120gb OCZ SSD/ HD 6970
    30" Dell /1250W Coolermaster PSU/Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers

  5. #5
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    What's the deal with all those "Client Detached" results? That's really weird.
    Did you hit the wrong button somewhere along the line ...?

  6. #6
    Frustrating Senior SETI Nut!
    eaglescouter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    CA- Not far from the Allen SETI array
    Posts
    4,769
    When you do the deed, fully uninstall.
    Then delete the boinc folder and all of its contents
    Then reboot and reinstall, then optimize.
    Mining LTC
    #4 in the 20 Million SETI Club
    Top 4 Producer for BOINC Seti Many GHz of Seti Crunching Power!
    Number 18 Seti Classic Cruncher

    Member of the Phase Cooled 6Ghz Club
    [SG] Halo Custom Edition Clan Leader

  7. #7
    tricknasty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    468
    quietice i have no idea, must have hit something strange ~.~

    :EDIT:
    oooo i have a possible explanation for the client detached error. about that date i swapped my laptop hard drive for an 80 gig to a 160. i just saved my boinc folder, reinstalled boinc from a fresh install and dropped the folder into it. ....... still it doesnt make sense cuz i was getting client detached errors from awhile ago.
    Last edited by tricknasty; 02-14-08 at 12:10 PM.
    i7 970 IFX-14 hsf
    Lian-Li PC-7077B/EVGA 3X Classified
    6gb OCZ/120gb OCZ SSD/ HD 6970
    30" Dell /1250W Coolermaster PSU/Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •