Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Member golfking222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New York

    Stress Test: ATI Tool vs. 3DMark06

    What stresses a video card more, ATI Tool's little square or 3DMark06? My buddy here with his Crossfire 3870's is telling me 3DMark06, but I don't think it's worth the effort of watching 3DMark for 20 minutes as opposed to being able to tweak clocks with ATI Tool and watching for artifacts and such at the same time. I'm guessing they both probably eventually will put the video card to full load, but my friend doesn't think ATI Tool is capable of creating artifacts and a load temp.

    Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Member CGR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lower NY
    I have found that the ATI tool tends to be better to test OC's as it heats the gpu up a lot more than 3dmark does.

    3dmark has the temp going up and down as its not always using 100% of the gpu, whereas the ati tool definitely maxes the gpu to 100% from what I have seen from temperatures.

    With my X1900 I would use the ati tool to find my maximum OC with using the rotating image to heat up the gpu. Once I found a stable artifact free OC I would then loop 3dmark06 for a while.
    Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
    DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
    G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
    HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
    WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
    OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI


  3. #3
    Member aja's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets
    How does rthdribl compare?

  4. #4
    Member CGR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lower NY
    Quote Originally Posted by aja View Post
    How does rthdribl compare?
    Never used it, so not sure. Guess I should give it a try sometime as I have seen it mentioned before as pretty good for maxing the gpu.
    Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
    DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
    G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
    HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
    WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
    OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI


  5. #5
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Quote Originally Posted by aja View Post
    How does rthdribl compare?
    Ive used it and it gets the temps pretty close to those of ATI tool.

    Between ati tool and 3dmark I would say ATI tool has the advantage of being highly GPU dependent, while 3dmark also stress tests the cpu which could take stress time away from the graphics card.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  6. #6
    What about fur? It's the same concept with ATI tool, both rotating fur things but it's full screen. I got a few degreess higher on it than ATI tool, what about you?

  7. #7
    For me, ATITool shows errors and artifacts before 3dmark does, so I end up with a more stable clock. Ill test out rthdribl and fur, and see what I think of them.

  8. #8
    Member Roofles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brew City
    Fur has the ability to be both more intensive and less intensive than ATI tool I believe. Crank up the AA and res and watch your card chug along. But if you are strictly looking for artifacts I would say stick with ATI tool for the short run as it seems to do a better job imho.

    That being said, running all three is never bad. ATItool for the short term, FUR for longer runs and 3Dmark for gaming stability and e-peen scores.
    Q6600 - 3.42 (380x9) 1.48V : IP35 Pro : 2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC
    New GTX275 OC to come : HP w2207
    X-Fi Platinum (Op Amp modded) : Audio Technica A500's
    Tuniq Tower 120 : Antec P182
    Running: Windows 7 RC and Fedora 10 (PREEMPT_RT)

    "If science is the dispassionate pursuit of objective truth, then it stands to reason that mad science is the completely irrational pursuit of a nutty project that the rest of the world will never completely understand." -Popular Mechanics

  9. #9
    Yeah! That renders all these "which is better" threads usless. Run all 3 and have no worries!

  10. #10
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Quote Originally Posted by Blazing fire View Post
    Yeah! That renders all these "which is better" threads usless. Run all 3 and have no worries!
    Heh, set your screen to its highest rez and give each program its own corner, let them fight it out for resources.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  11. #11
    Member necrokiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    my 3dmark06 run at 1680x1050 with 8xAA runs perfectly alright (except a low score) but ATi Tool shows artifacts within the first few minutes. Is my OC stable/safe for gaming?
    Last edited by necrokiller; 08-24-08 at 08:14 PM.
    Processor | Intel C2D E8400 C0 @ 4GHz Xigmatek Dark Knight
    Motherboard | eVGA 680i SLI
    RAM | OCZ XTC Platinum 2x1GB DDR2 1066MHz PC-8500
    Graphics | EVGA GTX 260 (192sp)
    Storage | Western Digital 320GB SATA
    Case - Power Supply |CM 690 - Corsair TX750
    Operating System | Windows 7 (32-bit)

  12. #12
    You could try assassin's creed, which locks up while 3dmark06 and fur could pass (both for 4 hours).

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Don't ask me why, but ATI Tool artifacts at stock settings on my 4870/Vista x64. I see the artifacts, but the tool continues on and says "0 artifacts found." Not sure what that's all about.

    I like to run Crysis in DX10 mode for a few hours to beat the hell out of my card, personally. It's definately game/bench stable. rthdribl has always been a good alternative, imo, but you have to watch it for artifacts, although the same can be said for other visual programs that don't detect them for you.

  14. #14
    Definitely trust your eyes. The only time I use these "stability test" is to leave it on overnight or when I am busy.

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    I have some basic questions as I am now stress testing my overclock.

    What is "true stablity" for a gfx card. Prime95 I like to run 24 hours but what tool and for how long? I ran the ATitool last night for 60 minutes on the test mode without it just saying no error for 60.00 minutes. Does this mean I am stable? I swear in 3dmarks i got a strange flash in the screen once or twice.

    With less clocks and combos I wasn't able to get 3Dmark06 without crashing finally I got a stable mark06 and tested the ATitool. Previously with a less close I was getting missing pixels at this and that delta every 10-30 seconds, is that an artifact?

    So how long should I run the test mode in ATitools to determine stablity?

    If the 3Dmarks has screen pops (when something flashes out of synch with the picture) does this mean "unstable"?


    Below are my scores from last nights testing with a headline of the setup. The basic really seems more dependent on CPU clock then anything else

    9800Gx2
    Q6600
    790i Ultra
    Kingston HyperX 9-9-9-27 1.9 (2x2gb)

    UNclocked CPU / 177.19 drivers
    3DMark Score 13663
    SM 2.0 Score 5060
    SM 3.0 Score 6742
    CPU Score 3853

    STOCK DRIVERS / 177.19 drivers / Q6600 clocked to 3.2
    3DMark Score 17461
    SM 2.0 Score 6851
    SM 3.0 Score 8085
    CPU Score 5110

    GeForce ForceWare 177.89 XP 32-bit drivers / Q6600 clocked to 3.2

    3DMark Score 17557
    SM 2.0 Score 6860
    SM 3.0 Score 8184
    CPU Score 5104

    Same as above with Oc'd gfx card
    core/shader/mem
    700/1750/1049

    3DMark Score 17751
    SM 2.0 Score 6716
    SM 3.0 Score 8522
    CPU Score 5123

    750/1875/1075

    3DMark Score 18047
    SM 2.0 Score 6847
    SM 3.0 Score 8716
    CPU Score 5121

    CPU oc'd to 3.375
    700/1750/1053

    3DMark Score 18549
    SM 2.0 Score 7137
    SM 3.0 Score 8767
    CPU Score 5378

    CPU oc'd to 3.375
    750/1875/1110

    3DMark Score 18604
    SM 2.0 Score 7015
    SM 3.0 Score 8973
    CPU Score 5347

    CPU oc'd to 3.4
    726/1815/1145

    3DMark Score 18851
    SM 2.0 Score 7202
    SM 3.0 Score 9007
    CPU Score 5407

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •