Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member DSM4Life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA

    Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E

    How can i find out what each of these settings mean ? I been googlin like crazy and can't find any answers. I am having a problem with my bittorrents where it seems my ethernet is "shutting down" when i have a bunch of files for download. My eye has been on this "flow control" but i am not sure. Id like to know what these settings do.

    Last edited by DSM4Life; 03-12-08 at 07:30 AM.
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Intel i7-930 4Ghz 1.23V / Corsair H-70 push/pull
    Gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev2.0
    OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 240GB
    Corsair XMS 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20
    MSI GTX 580 Lighting 960/1920 @ 1.149v
    Corsair-750HX

  2. #2
    Member JCLW's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Back in Toronto
    Most of the time that tends to be your router, not your NIC. http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Router_Slowdown

    Flow control allows your computer to ask another computer to "Pause" the data being sent if it's getting overloaded.
    ♫♪ ☺ ♫♪

  3. #3
    Member DSM4Life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Quote Originally Posted by JCLW View Post
    Most of the time that tends to be your router, not your NIC. http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Router_Slowdown

    Flow control allows your computer to ask another computer to "Pause" the data being sent if it's getting overloaded.
    Yes i noticed this only after i hooked up my router, thank you.
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Intel i7-930 4Ghz 1.23V / Corsair H-70 push/pull
    Gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev2.0
    OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 240GB
    Corsair XMS 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20
    MSI GTX 580 Lighting 960/1920 @ 1.149v
    Corsair-750HX

  4. #4
    Member JCLW's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Back in Toronto
    What kind of router is it?
    ♫♪ ☺ ♫♪

  5. #5
    moocow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Texas State
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    You don't have to worry about any of that unless you're dealing with an industrial router. Just leave all of those settings on the defaults. It might be your ISP or modem giving you fits instead of the NIC.

  6. #6
    Member DSM4Life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Quote Originally Posted by DSM4Life View Post
    Yes i noticed this only after i hooked up my router, thank you.
    D-link wireless N - DIR 615
    http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/D-Lin...oductDetail.do
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Intel i7-930 4Ghz 1.23V / Corsair H-70 push/pull
    Gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev2.0
    OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 240GB
    Corsair XMS 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20
    MSI GTX 580 Lighting 960/1920 @ 1.149v
    Corsair-750HX

  7. #7
    Member JCLW's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Back in Toronto
    Does it work for a short period of time and then slow down?

    On the router, have you forwarded a port to your computer and told your P2P software to use that specific port?
    ♫♪ ☺ ♫♪

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •