Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 55
  1. #1

    quad core with crysis

    I just built my new system and its laggin a bit on crysis high settings. Ive upgraded to a quad core, 8800gt, and 4 gigs of ram. Nothing is oc'd yet and im running vista 32bit. I also have the latest video drivers installed. Im cooling my quad with a TRUE as well. My 3d mark score is around 11,000 (does this seem ok)

    Any suggestions?
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Desktop
    Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
    Corsair H70
    Asus P8P67
    G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
    EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
    Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage

  2. #2
    Member PhysX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    get a 9800gx2 ?

    you maybe have a bad ass computer, but crysis is hard even on the 8800gt, so over clock both and see how it goes.
    ASUS P8P67 DLX | Core i7 2600k @ 5200Mh - CM Hyper 212+ | 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance 1600| 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB CrossFireX | 2 X WD Black 500GB HW-Raid 0 - 2 X WD GREEN 1.5TB (EARS) HW-RAID 1 | Corsair AX 1200

  3. #3
    Member ps2cho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Socal, no hella here
    Post full specs first of new computer.
    Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
    Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
    Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
    HDD Server: Celeron 1840 // ASRock Z97Extreme4 // 6TB HDD's // Windows Server 2012


  4. #4
    Disabled DerekDRP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    No Truss Passing :)
    Quote Originally Posted by Red_LightRanger View Post
    I just built my new system and its laggin a bit on crysis high settings. Ive upgraded to a quad core, 8800gt, and 4 gigs of ram. Nothing is oc'd yet and im running vista 32bit. I also have the latest video drivers installed. Im cooling my quad with a TRUE as well. My 3d mark score is around 11,000 (does this seem ok)

    Any suggestions?
    It doesn't lag on my system and I went with ati :P

  5. #5
    Member Hardin's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sumter, South Carolina
    Quote Originally Posted by DerekDRP View Post
    It doesn't lag on my system and I went with ati :P
    Yes well you'll notice that he has one card while you have two.
    -1 for trying to make it an ati vs nvidia thread.
    cpu-Intel Core i7 3770k
    ram-G.Skill 2x4gb DDR3-1600
    gpu-Radeon HD 7950
    motherboard-Asus P8Z68-V LE

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Red_LightRanger View Post
    I just built my new system and its laggin a bit on crysis high settings. Ive upgraded to a quad core, 8800gt, and 4 gigs of ram. Nothing is oc'd yet and im running vista 32bit. I also have the latest video drivers installed. Im cooling my quad with a TRUE as well. My 3d mark score is around 11,000 (does this seem ok)

    Any suggestions?
    11k?

    Should be 14k

    Overclocked yet?
    2500K @4.2GHz, P8P67 PRO, 8GB G.Skill Sniper, RocketFish Case, 2x 6950, X750 PSU, TRUE120


  7. #7
    Disabled DerekDRP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    No Truss Passing :)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hardin View Post
    Yes well you'll notice that he has one card while you have two.
    -1 for trying to make it an ati vs nvidia thread.
    True true . and back to the regularly broad casted thread :P

  8. #8
    Member redrumy3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New York
    Heatware Profile
    i play crysis on very high with natural mod and get around 20 fps with my 8800GT plays smooth enough for me to enjoy the graphics dx10 as well x64 too

    11k non overclock seems about right i pull 14,700 on vista x64 overclocked
    Corsair H80
    i5 4670K 4.5Ghz 1.26v
    Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-1600 1.50v
    Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H F10
    Evga GTX 770 4GB | SamSung Evo 120GB SSD
    Evga 850W G2 | Asus Xonar Essence STX
    Beyerdynamic DT-990 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz
    SteelSeries Rival | Razer BlackWidow Ultimate | Corsair 760T
    Windows 8.1 Update 1 64-Bit

  9. #9
    ya im not oc'd yet. I just wanted to get a base score.

    Heres my specs:
    6600 @ stock on TRUE
    8800gt @stock
    4gig mushkin mem
    abit IP35-e
    corsair 550w ps
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Desktop
    Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
    Corsair H70
    Asus P8P67
    G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
    EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
    Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage

  10. #10
    I also heard that vista 64bit runs crysis much smoother, but I had a lot of problems with the wireless card driver, so I installed 32bit. I also tried to run the virtual address hotfix from microsoft, but it said it didnt apply to my system.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Desktop
    Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
    Corsair H70
    Asus P8P67
    G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
    EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
    Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Get Windows xp 64 bit edition and read the guide to getting very high settings on XP. you will deffinatly increase in frames. Its sorta stupid how all these "new games" are like going to be locked parts on vista while they will perfrom better on xp. Vista is too bugged if u ask me

  12. #12
    Member TempliNocturnus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Where angels carry savage weapons
    Does crysis utilize all 4 cores?

  13. #13
    Senior Something Moto7451's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    LA, CA
    No, it's only optimized for two cores.
    Intel C2D e6400 @ 375MHz x8 = 3Ghz 1.328v, Gigabyte EP43-UD3L, 3GB DDR2, GeForce 9600GT, 73GB 15K SCSI HD/Adaptec 29160 SCSI Card, 750GB SATA Drive, 320GB ATA Drive, HDTV Tuner

    D5 Pump Bonneville w/ AC Heater Core Gemeni Cooling Maze 4 Style Water Block

    Sager 8690: Core i7 940XM Exreme 2.13GHz (3.2GHz Turbo), 4GB DDR3, GeForce GTX 285M 1GB, 15.6" 1080 LCD, 320GB 7200RPM HD

    Difference Between D5 Revisions + flow mod Difference between NPSM & G1/4

  14. #14
    Member SteveLord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Heatware Profile
    Vista will drop your frames a bit more.
    "There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
    or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
    patience for useless things."

    __________________

  15. #15
    Ya i hear that vista does drop your performance a little, but i like it to be honest. Maybe I will give 64bit another try. Last time i had it installed i didnt run crysis, but I will give it another go.
    I thought crysis was optimized for quads
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Desktop
    Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
    Corsair H70
    Asus P8P67
    G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
    EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
    Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage

  16. #16
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    You'll want 64-bit OS to use your memory properly.

    If I could get 64-bit Crysis to work without crashing it would be nice haven't tried it since my reinstall, SP1 and new sound card so might have to try that. But overall Vista does run Crysis a bit slower.

    My rig.. while yes its OC'ed it holds its own on Crysis but higher res's is basically out of the question if you want to run high/ultra high settings. I like my eye candy so I choose to downgrade my res.

    Really you get 11k with your rig stock? I get 11.7k basically with my rig stock, and just over 14k OC'ed currently.

    Crysis was suppose to be optimized for quads. But in beta at least it always was dual core optimized. It kept getting dragged out and I don't even think they released a "quad core optimized beta" before it went to retail. That sucked I know Crysis was a game I was going to get a quad for but after seeing no one getting any results from said game with quads, I said forget it.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Samsung UD590 28" 4k | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  17. #17
    damn crysis....Do you guys think that crysis runs slow on most rigs because its not optimized well, or do you think its because the graphics are way ahead of its time?? Either way i can run most other games on max settings so im pleased with this build.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Desktop
    Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
    Corsair H70
    Asus P8P67
    G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
    EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
    Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage

  18. #18
    Member technoViking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    quad cores seem like an epic fail for gaming.
    Videocard: BFG nvidia/8800gt/512 OC @ 725/1816/2000
    Processor: E8400 @ 3.6 [1.26V]
    Mobo: ...... Gigabyte P35-DS3L
    Memory: ...2x1gig G. Skill DDR2 8500: 5-5-5-15
    Sound
    : .....Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
    PSU: .........Enermax 460W
    Monitor: ...22" HP w2207 @ 1680x1050 && 40" 1080p @ 1920x1080
    Mouse: .....Logitech mX518

    One must remember...
    The techno viking doesn't dance to the music.
    The music dances to the TECHNO VIKING!

  19. #19
    Member Hardin's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sumter, South Carolina
    Quote Originally Posted by technoViking View Post
    quad cores seem like an epic fail for gaming.
    Give it some time. Alan Wake was supposed to utilize 4 cores, but I haven't heard anything about it in awhile.
    cpu-Intel Core i7 3770k
    ram-G.Skill 2x4gb DDR3-1600
    gpu-Radeon HD 7950
    motherboard-Asus P8Z68-V LE

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by technoViking View Post
    quad cores seem like an epic fail for gaming.
    you are an epic fail for gaming...jk why do you say that? the only game i have ran that doesnt perform like I want is crysis.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Desktop
    Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
    Corsair H70
    Asus P8P67
    G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
    EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
    Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •