Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 3
Results 41 to 55 of 55
  1. #41
    Senior Member KillrBuckeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Livonia, MI
    Red_LightRanger, I didn't see you mention your framerates. What one person considers "smooth" could be "choppy" to someone who isn't satisfied with anything less than 50 FPS. If you're not aware, you can monitor framerates in Crysis by opening the console (~ key) and typing in "r_displayinfo 1". I have very similar hardware to you, and running at 1680x1050 with high settings (no AA) I get about 35 FPS. To me, this is good enough to play the game comfortably.
    KillrBuckeye

    Scarlet: i7 3770K @ 4.4 GHz (1.19V), Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, 16GB (2x8GB) GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, WD 750GB Black, Samsung EcoGreen 2TB, SB Audigy 2, Corsair 450VX, Dell 2005FPW + ASUS VH226H, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

    Gray: Q6600 G0 @ 3.4 GHz (378*9, 1.31V), Abit IP35-E, 2x2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400, HD 5450, OCZ Agility 60GB SSD, Corsair CX500

    http://www.killrbuckeye.com

  2. #42
    sys_physics_CPU = 3 ;CPU used for physics "0"=CORE1, "1"=CORE2, "2"=CORE3, "3"=CORE4 Either put this in a config or just type it in the console, your choice.
    Motherboard ------- Asus Rampage Extreme
    CPU ---------------- QX9650
    Memory -------------Crucial Ballistix
    Harddrives --------- 300g Velociraptor, WD6400AAKSx2 Matrix Raid, 74g Raptor, 7200.10 500g
    Graphics Card ----- Sapphire HD4870 CF
    Soundcard ----------X-Fi Platinum
    Case --------------- HSPC Top-Deck
    PowerSupply ------- Corsair TX750
    Cooling -------------Watercooled

  3. #43
    my frame rates were pretty good (around 40) when theres not a lot of commotion going on. But if there are a lot of explosions or whatever it dips a bit. This is on high with no aa as well

    Pntgrd what does that code do?
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Desktop
    Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
    Corsair H70
    Asus P8P67
    G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
    EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
    Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage

  4. #44
    Member xgtdec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Crysis crysis crysis, what is it i love and detest about this game, well using the spec below and all the updated drivers i could manage i could play crysis for max 10 minutes before it either A: crashes and returns to vista with the usual"its an error but we dont know why" message or B: the sound Jams and its a restart. All other games run with no real probs although obliion is heavily modded so i cant complain bout a few glitches here and there. But amazingly i put on a dual boot win xp pro and installed crysis...and it runs like a dream, looks great runs great, i am almost...almost tempted to install all games onto XP and wait til vista 64 is a more stabe platform. Also i have not eben been tempted by quad core as of yet, i still reckon the dual core extreme is the best bang for buck around.....for now anyways. and god bless killrbuckeye for the framerate code....gonna see what im pulling out first thing when i get home

    Dec
    Last edited by xgtdec; 03-26-08 at 06:04 AM. Reason: cos im a douche

  5. #45
    Quote Originally Posted by Red_LightRanger View Post
    my frame rates were pretty good (around 40) when theres not a lot of commotion going on. But if there are a lot of explosions or whatever it dips a bit. This is on high with no aa as well

    Pntgrd what does that code do?
    It makes the core of your choice handle the physics. If you have a Quad then set the number to 2 or 3 and it will then use either Core 3 or 4 for physics and use 1 and 2 for the rest of the cpu stuff. Just might help the problem you are describing.
    Motherboard ------- Asus Rampage Extreme
    CPU ---------------- QX9650
    Memory -------------Crucial Ballistix
    Harddrives --------- 300g Velociraptor, WD6400AAKSx2 Matrix Raid, 74g Raptor, 7200.10 500g
    Graphics Card ----- Sapphire HD4870 CF
    Soundcard ----------X-Fi Platinum
    Case --------------- HSPC Top-Deck
    PowerSupply ------- Corsair TX750
    Cooling -------------Watercooled

  6. #46
    I dont remember where, but someone did a review with a skulltrail and tri sli ultra's. As the detail and resolution gets higher, it becomes more intensive towards CPU, due to more physics calculations.
    Mobo: XFX 680i LT
    CPU: Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.8 ghz
    Cooling: Apogee GT + MCW60
    RAM: OCZ SLI Ready 6400 @ 1000mhz 2 x 1gb
    Vid: 2x EVGA 8800GTS 512 (g92) @ 812/1035/2020
    Case: NZXT Lexa Black
    PSU: Ultra Xfinity 600W
    3dMark06:18356 marks

  7. #47
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    u guys talking about being patient for quad core gaming lol
    how about ps3? it has 9 cores lol. I cant wait till ps3's games catch up with the system. It will be like crysis x3. But they prob will make an update to use all the cores

  8. #48
    Member MooMasster716's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Fontana, CA
    Well I was never disappointed with Quad Core gaming because Its still to early to really even look at them for gaming. Besides is there even a game out there that goes from unplayable to playable with the addition of Quad Core Processor? All the gains I ever wanted were fulfilled when I fired up Nero Recode to encode a movie or encoded an entire season of Roswell in 45 minutes. If you are a gamer first then why would you even look at purchasing a Quad Core processor when you could grab a E4500 and OC to 4ghz and really help Crysis.
    Intel Q9550 @3ghz ### Xigmatech HDT-1283
    4GB G.Skill F2 6400CL5-2GBPQ @840mhz
    Gigabyte EP43-UD3L ### XFX Nvidia GTX275
    500gb Seagate 7200.10
    1TB Samsung F3
    1000Watt Cooler Master Real Power PS
    10 case fans of pure silence on 2 Sunbeam Fan Controlers
    CoolerMaster 690
    My Heatware

  9. #49
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by technoViking View Post
    quad cores seem like an epic fail for gaming.
    Epic fail?
    How do you figure?

    I decided when I got my quad core that I wanted to try gaming while converting Highdefinition video (affinitied to only 2 cores)

    Went like butter.

    Even when not doing that (but still multitasking) I noticed when dropping from a quad to a dual that even non multithreaded games stuttered a little bit at times (rarely, and its been so long since I had a quad... that I do not notice it anymore but it was there initilaly)

  10. #50
    This build was mainly for video editing, but i can game with it as well. Dont get me wrong, crysis isnt unplayable, in fact its runs pretty smooth until theres a whole lot on screen. All in all i am pleased with the build, i guess i was just hoping the quad would be able to kick ass in crysis.

    Do you guys think that there will be a patch released for crysis that will optimized for quads?
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Desktop
    Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
    Corsair H70
    Asus P8P67
    G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
    EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
    Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage

  11. #51

    Member
    freeagent's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg!
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    crysis uses all 4 cores, so does just about every other game i play. they may not be pinned to max, but everything touches all 4.
    Intel Xeon x5690 E.S. @ 4209mhz, 1.32v/4800mhz, 1.55v
    Corsair H100/2x 38x120 Panaflo @ 60%
    Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200/3608/3608
    3x2GB STT Chrome @ 1600mhz 6-6-6-20 1T, 1.65v
    Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1100 1.1v
    Intel 520/WD Black
    Auzentech Prelude
    Thermaltake SP850M
    Fractal Design Define R4

  12. #52
    right, but i want it to max em out and fully utilize the whole processor. It kinda sucks having all that power left and only going half throttle.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Desktop
    Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
    Corsair H70
    Asus P8P67
    G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
    EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
    Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage

  13. #53

    Member
    freeagent's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg!
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    its not going half throttle for that game
    Intel Xeon x5690 E.S. @ 4209mhz, 1.32v/4800mhz, 1.55v
    Corsair H100/2x 38x120 Panaflo @ 60%
    Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200/3608/3608
    3x2GB STT Chrome @ 1600mhz 6-6-6-20 1T, 1.65v
    Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1100 1.1v
    Intel 520/WD Black
    Auzentech Prelude
    Thermaltake SP850M
    Fractal Design Define R4

  14. #54
    Member RangerXLT8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Asheville NC
    Crysis and COD4 use all 4 cores... Might not be pegged at 100% but like mentioned above it uses 4 cores.
    Core 2 Xeon 3210 Quad Core 2.4GHz
    Gigabyte EP-35C-DS3R
    Patriot Viper DDR3 4GB 6-6-6-20
    ATI HD4870 512MB
    OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
    2x150GB Raptors
    1x320GB Western Digital HDD
    LiteOn DVDRW
    Heatware 44-0-0

  15. #55
    Registered SMTP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    I'm using XP Pro x32 on my system. I can play Crysis on 'Very High' with no chop at all. Can't turn AA on past 1x without getting a noticeable drop in FPS.

    However I game at my monitor's native resolution 1440x900. I imagine if my monitor were a couple inches bigger I'd be singing a different tune :P
    E-VGA X58 SLI
    i7 920 @ 3.8ghz
    6GB DDR3
    2x Sapphire HD5850 @ 775/1125
    TRUE
    CM HAF 932
    < 70 at 100% load and quiet as a whisper

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •