Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26
  1. #1
    Member nitteo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX

    *NEW* Ubuntu: Hardy Heron 8.04 Beta

    Alright Linux-Heads, I am going to try this new Ubuntu with F@H:

    http://www.ubuntu.com/testing/hardy/beta

    **THIS IS THE BETA** FINAL RELEASE IS IN APRIL 2008 (if you want to wait)

    This thread is going to be used for info/problems/rants and raves about our newest Linux.

    HOPEFULLY this will solve my NIC/Stuck on Loaded Queue Successfully issue.
    Last edited by nitteo; 03-26-08 at 10:14 AM.

  2. #2
    Seņor Senior Member
    ihrsetrdr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    just on the edge of civilization, in the Mojave Desert
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I upgraded to 8.04 from 7.10 on my 'crash box', without incident. Re:your Stuck on Loaded Queue incident, what was going on there? Maybe 8.04 was having some heartburn with some chipset component?
    ihrsetrdr aka Tim

    Main Desktop: Asrock 79 ext4 | Intel Xeon E2650 | 4x4 DDR3 1600 | Debian "Wheezy", MATE DE

    Be strong when you are weak, brave when you are scared, and humble when you are victorious.
    - Unknown

  3. #3
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Having been without Linux since September/October last year* I'm tempted to install Hardy to play with KDE4 ...


    * The dreaded case where I need a box that works perfectly with Office '07, Origin, ChemDraw, Crossfire Commander and Scifinder
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011] [Google Scholar]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The Home Machine: AMD Llano A6-3650 APU / 8 GB DDR3 / Lots of HDDs / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7 [ Untouched for well over a year ]

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  4. #4
    traldan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Folding in Maryland!!
    Boo KDE! Although honestly I haven't really tried it in a while. I <3 Gnome. I'm using 8.04 beta, but it's on my horribly slow old P3 with 256 megs of ram. Visual effects off and I can STILL hardly run firefox and pidgin.

    I like it so far, though. The new artwork is great.
    .:Bliss:.
    .:Q6600 G0 3.0Ghz - Ultra 120 Extreme/Ultrakaze 120mm (130CFM!) - possibly dead?
    .:Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
    .:4GB (2x2) G.Skill DDR2-1000
    .:Sapphire X1900XT
    .:Sparkle FSP550PLG-SLI
    .:160GB Hitachi Deathstar, 500GB Maxtor
    .:Hyundai L90D+

    Folding 24/7 for TEAM 32

  5. #5
    Senior Member that
    wants to Be Banned
    Premium Member #16



    10 Year Badge
    dfonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin
    Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile
    Downloading the ISO now, I was going to wait for the final in April...but what the heck.
    #1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM Gigabyte GTX 970, Corsair 850W
    Phones:One+64GB, Nexus 5, N4,N7, iphone 5, iphone 6(4.7")
    Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
    The first 4 months you cover your phone and baby it...
    The next 4 months you go commando and relax...
    The last 4 months you treat it like a rented mule, because lets face it its time for a new phone...

  6. #6
    Moderator #666
    WarriorII's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Moderating
    7.04 was nicer than the 6.06 & 6.10, but I think I'll wait, as I only Fold on the 'Nix boxes.
    To Honor Those who went before their time.
    God Bless them all
    Fight the Fight worth Fighting
    FOLD for Team 32
    IS THERE A CURE AMONG US?

    Black Belt Overclocker MyHeatware under WarriorII

  7. #7
    Senior Member that
    wants to Be Banned
    Premium Member #16



    10 Year Badge
    dfonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin
    Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by WarriorII View Post
    7.04 was nicer than the 6.06 & 6.10, but I think I'll wait, as I only Fold on the 'Nix boxes.
    I am anticipating leaving windows behind...so I am attempting to assimilate my wife and kid. I keep telling the wife to start using the web based AOL.
    #1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM Gigabyte GTX 970, Corsair 850W
    Phones:One+64GB, Nexus 5, N4,N7, iphone 5, iphone 6(4.7")
    Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
    The first 4 months you cover your phone and baby it...
    The next 4 months you go commando and relax...
    The last 4 months you treat it like a rented mule, because lets face it its time for a new phone...

  8. #8
    Member nitteo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Right off the Bat, WU 3062 killed by a error0x1!

    I tried installing ia 32 libs, but it says wont install, conflicting packages?

    Do I need ia 32libs?I can access the FAH program with no problems:

    chmod +x fah6
    ./fah6 -smp

    brings me to the FAH setup. If I remember correctly, I wouldnt even get this far without having to install ia32 libs. I did DL the ia32 libs and used an installer. I am going to try to sudo.

    sudo apt-get install ia32libs

    Did I spell that right?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Folding Profile
    No. It's ia32-libs

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  10. #10
    Member nitteo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Quote Originally Posted by ChasR View Post
    No. It's ia32-libs
    Got it, but Ubuntu says ia32-libs is already installed.

    I tried re-installing FAH, but I was getting a Core Client Error in Communication.

    Going back to Fedora 8 in this Borg...

    I will try Ubuntu 8.04 on my next rig.

    Edit: This is one of my rigs that had the SAME problems as 7.10 Gutsy, what I dont understand is HOW Fedora 8 can work with FAH, but not Ubuntu ON THE SAME RIG?

  11. #11
    Member Zanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Quote Originally Posted by nitteo View Post
    Got it, but Ubuntu says ia32-libs is already installed.

    I tried re-installing FAH, but I was getting a Core Client Error in Communication.

    Going back to Fedora 8 in this Borg...

    I will try Ubuntu 8.04 on my next rig.

    Edit: This is one of my rigs that had the SAME problems as 7.10 Gutsy, what I dont understand is HOW Fedora 8 can work with FAH, but not Ubuntu ON THE SAME RIG?
    ubuntu is different then fedora (red hat)

    you may need to customize your kernel for your hardware. something may not have been picked up in the auto installer in ubuntu that fedora did.

    -------- New Gaming Rig PC: 3DMark06 Score P15760 | Old Gaming Rig: 3DMark06 Score 12375
    CPU---- AMD Phenom II 1090T Thuban OC to 4.05GHz. | Q6600 Kentsfield 2.40Ghz - tr-120ex-- OC 3.2 @1.47V
    RAM---- G.Skill Ripjaw (2 x 4GB) DDR4 @ 1600MHz.. | G.SKILL (4 x 1GB) DDR2 800 - tr-HR-07
    GPU---- EVGA NVIDIA 460 Superclocked............. | MSI N9600GT 512MB 256-bit
    MOB---- ASUS M4A89TD PRO Socket AM3.............. | Gigabyte EP35-DS4 P35
    HDD---- Intel 80GB SSD, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 2TB| 2 - Seagate Barracuda 500GB, 1 WD Black 1TB, INTEL X25-M G2
    PSU---- Corisaire 540w Modular................... | Corisaire 520w PSU

  12. #12
    traldan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Folding in Maryland!!
    You're using the x64 version of Ubuntu, right?

    Other than that, I really don't know.
    .:Bliss:.
    .:Q6600 G0 3.0Ghz - Ultra 120 Extreme/Ultrakaze 120mm (130CFM!) - possibly dead?
    .:Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
    .:4GB (2x2) G.Skill DDR2-1000
    .:Sapphire X1900XT
    .:Sparkle FSP550PLG-SLI
    .:160GB Hitachi Deathstar, 500GB Maxtor
    .:Hyundai L90D+

    Folding 24/7 for TEAM 32

  13. #13
    Sleepy_Steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    VT... or MD
    Its like everytime I check my folding stats, there is a new ubuntu version out there.... when will they stop!?!?
    CPU i7-2600 Cooling CM 212+ w/ 2 fans RAM 4x4gb G.Skill DDR3 1333 Video 9800GT & 8600GT Storage 1TB Raid0 system & 2TB storage HEAT
    Folding User Stats

  14. #14
    Member curtis1552's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    They put out twice a year, it's not that often. It almost seems like too long to me. I wanted to get the 2.6.24.4 kernel because it has better USB HID support among other things. Now, I'm stuck waiting for April. (I know I could upgrade manually but, jeez, it's only waiting until April.)
    Desk Puter - Foxconn C51GU01; AMD X2 3800+ - Dual 2.0Ghz; 1.5gb RAM; Nvidia 6600GT pcie; Win 7 64 bit / Mint 9
    NetBook - Acer Aspire One D250: 160Gb HDD: Win 7 / Backtrack 4 / Mint Debian / MeeGo
    Server Puter - Supermicro X5DAE; Dual Processor - E7505 XEON - Dual 2.66Ghz; 2gb RAM: Nvidia 6600GT agp; Win 7 32 bit / Mint 9.
    HEAT
    Restarting a computer is not how you fix a problem...
    I suffer from
    Fenestraephobia
    I don't think being turned on while turning it on is too high on the creepy list - freakdiablo

  15. #15
    Member Zanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    -_- lovely, i installed this last night. works fine for the exception that it corrupted my 500GB ntfs storage drive... lovely. now i gotta try and recover it. (not it was not the drive i installed linux on.)

    this is gonna be a fun weekend.

    -------- New Gaming Rig PC: 3DMark06 Score P15760 | Old Gaming Rig: 3DMark06 Score 12375
    CPU---- AMD Phenom II 1090T Thuban OC to 4.05GHz. | Q6600 Kentsfield 2.40Ghz - tr-120ex-- OC 3.2 @1.47V
    RAM---- G.Skill Ripjaw (2 x 4GB) DDR4 @ 1600MHz.. | G.SKILL (4 x 1GB) DDR2 800 - tr-HR-07
    GPU---- EVGA NVIDIA 460 Superclocked............. | MSI N9600GT 512MB 256-bit
    MOB---- ASUS M4A89TD PRO Socket AM3.............. | Gigabyte EP35-DS4 P35
    HDD---- Intel 80GB SSD, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 2TB| 2 - Seagate Barracuda 500GB, 1 WD Black 1TB, INTEL X25-M G2
    PSU---- Corisaire 540w Modular................... | Corisaire 520w PSU

  16. #16
    Senior Member that
    wants to Be Banned
    Premium Member #16



    10 Year Badge
    dfonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin
    Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Sleepy_Steve View Post
    Its like everytime I check my folding stats, there is a new ubuntu version out there.... when will they stop!?!?
    Hopefully never I don't see myself buying an OS again...

    (Did I mention I have Wine working now?)
    #1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM Gigabyte GTX 970, Corsair 850W
    Phones:One+64GB, Nexus 5, N4,N7, iphone 5, iphone 6(4.7")
    Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
    The first 4 months you cover your phone and baby it...
    The next 4 months you go commando and relax...
    The last 4 months you treat it like a rented mule, because lets face it its time for a new phone...

  17. #17
    Folding Monk belorsch's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Maryland
    Mine install of 8.04 with smp has seems to be working. When I say seems to be its because the first install bombed at 21% but this seems to have been because of a faulty hdd. I have another used 10gig I re-installed on and now I'm trying again. Hoping this drive is not a problem.

  18. #18
    ludeboy12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wheeling, WV
    Ok got this running tonight along with smp and all seems to be going great....no complaints so far.
    C2Q Rig.... C2Q Q6600 @ 3.6ghz | Abit IP35 Pro | 2 x 1gb G.Skill DDR2 PC6400 | eVGA 8800gts 320 x 2 | Silverstone TJ-09
    i7 Rig.... i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | eVGA x58 | 3 x 1gb G.Skill DDR3 1600 | eVGA 8800gts g92 x 2 | Caseless
    FAH Quad / GPU Farm....To be continued....
    My Folding Stats...

  19. #19
    I installed 8.04 on my new c2d rig nativelym other than trying in vain to get some temp monitoring it installed easily and so did fah. So far I'm content.

  20. #20
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Installed it but wasn't so impressed. Much prefer KDE3 or Gnome.

    Going to back to Gentoo... Ubuntu just feels... weird.
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011] [Google Scholar]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The Home Machine: AMD Llano A6-3650 APU / 8 GB DDR3 / Lots of HDDs / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7 [ Untouched for well over a year ]

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •