Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member realtadiquantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    603

    NIC/IP Binding Windows/Applications

    So I have two onboard NIC's on my Asus P5k Premium.

    NIC one goes into a Linksys WRT54GS v7 w/ DD_WRT Micro to Cable modem
    NIC two goes into Cable modem 2

    When I only have one of the connections active (either disabled the second in Windows or left it unplugged), all of my internet traffic is fine.

    When I have both connections enabled, Trillian will hop from connection to connection, Firefox will once in a while shift from the windows default internet connection of NIC1 to NIC2, and then back, and my traffic on NIC2 will slow to 0 and then pick back up again even though it's bound the NIC2.

    Does Windows have some type of bandwidth management where it tries to see which route over the internet is the most efficient?

    Why does my traffic bound to NIC2 slow to a crawl and resume momentarily?

    Is there a way to bind Firefox or Thunderbird to a local IP?

    ~Thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    526
    check your routing table when this happens

    netstat -rn at a command prompt

    see what the metric is for the two routes... if its the same it may try to load balance...

    also remove the default gateway from whatever connection you do not want used... then you can specify routes for a piticular destination that will route over the other interface.
    Abit NF7-S Rev 2
    AMD 2500 Mobile
    2 x 512mb Mushkin 222 Special
    Maze 4 GPU Eheim 1250, 89 Ford Van H/C 2 Ys-Tech 135CFM fans with custom shroud, critcool relay
    2 120GB SATA Western Digital 7200 RPM 8MB Raid 0
    Plexwriter Premium 52x32x52 8mb
    Gigabyte 6600GT
    Antec True Blue 480W power supply
    4 (2 in 2 out) 120mm, 6 (2 in 4 out) 80mm 284cfm out 222cfm in all on high ( not usually on high )
    Lain Li pc70 w/ heavy mods

  3. #3
    Member realtadiquantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    603
    Quote Originally Posted by skidooosl View Post
    check your routing table when this happens

    netstat -rn at a command prompt

    see what the metric is for the two routes... if its the same it may try to load balance...

    also remove the default gateway from whatever connection you do not want used... then you can specify routes for a piticular destination that will route over the other interface.
    I'll try this tonight.

    When you say remove the default gateway, that's my NIC1 w/ Router, which I have statically assigned. So if I delete the gateway entry of 192.168.1.1, am I done or how do I specify the particular destination?

  4. #4
    Drunken Master JNCIE Senior dark_15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Out on the road again...
    Posts
    1,669
    As far as I know, Windows does not support any dynamic routing protocols that you would need to determine which connection is the fastest route. If you have default gateways set on both NIC's, traffic will inconsistently egress one interface over the other. This is especially true if they both have the same preference (or cost/metric) for your default route. Hope that helps!
    JNCIE-SEC #69, JNCIP-ENT, JNCSP-SEC, JNCIS-SA, JNCIS-AC, JNCIA-IDP, JNCIA-WX, ACMP, RCSP-WAN

    HEAT Register Personal Blog

  5. #5
    Member realtadiquantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    603
    Quote Originally Posted by dark_15 View Post
    As far as I know, Windows does not support any dynamic routing protocols that you would need to determine which connection is the fastest route. If you have default gateways set on both NIC's, traffic will inconsistently egress one interface over the other. This is especially true if they both have the same preference (or cost/metric) for your default route. Hope that helps!
    That's what I was thinking.. How do I prevent this from happening?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    526
    a default route is used for any traffic that does not have an explicit route defined....

    say you have 2 interfaces... you give one a default route so all traffic will use that interface... if you want traffic to route out the other interface you need a route statement listing the secondary connection as the gateway....

    basically you need to add a route for the destination network pointing out the other connection

    when you do a netstat -rn it will display your routing table... the line that lists a dest and mask of 0.0.0.0 is your default route

    for example lets say you want all traffic to flow via the interface with the address 192.168.1.2 but traffic with a destination of 2.2.2.2 should flow out of the interface with the ip address 192.168.2.3

    you would need to specify a route for 2.2.2.2 address that points to the 192.168.2.3 interface

    the syntax to add this route to the routing table would be

    route -p add 2.2.2.2 mask 255.255.255.255 192.168.2.3

    if you type route at a command prompt it will display all the syntax for the command if that helps...

    I did a quick google search and this link may explain it better than I can

    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...routing-table/
    Abit NF7-S Rev 2
    AMD 2500 Mobile
    2 x 512mb Mushkin 222 Special
    Maze 4 GPU Eheim 1250, 89 Ford Van H/C 2 Ys-Tech 135CFM fans with custom shroud, critcool relay
    2 120GB SATA Western Digital 7200 RPM 8MB Raid 0
    Plexwriter Premium 52x32x52 8mb
    Gigabyte 6600GT
    Antec True Blue 480W power supply
    4 (2 in 2 out) 120mm, 6 (2 in 4 out) 80mm 284cfm out 222cfm in all on high ( not usually on high )
    Lain Li pc70 w/ heavy mods

  7. #7
    Member realtadiquantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    603
    Alright, thank you everyone for your input. I will be trying this when I get free time.

    I really appreciate your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •