Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6

    Question (pcChips M748LMRT) - oc p3 E 650???

    hi guys,
    1st thread here... hope able to get some info...

    i have a mobo(M748LMRT) with p3 E 650, is it possible to oc this?? i know this board is OLD..! juz trying my luck...

    and erm... is it better to get my BIOS updated?? cuz its a '97 version of American Megatrends...

    lots of thanks in advance!!
    Last edited by DéJà Vu; 04-26-08 at 10:44 PM.

  2. #2
    Member JDXNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Québec, Canada Èh?
    Posts
    3,399
    I believe I worked on a system before with that board, and its a cruddy PC Chips board with no oc options, you best bet might be with some sort of software oc in windows.

    Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
    Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
    G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
    | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

    Heatware

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6
    JDXNC
    hmmm... thought so... cuz i've tried changing the multiplier in BIOS, but it wont change... lower or increase... still stand at 650...
    and what software do u mean? any specific 1??

  4. #4
    Member JDXNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Québec, Canada Èh?
    Posts
    3,399
    Well the multi on P3's(well any Intel cpu newer than the very first P2) is locked anyway, so theres no changing that. You only option is raising the bus. You might try SetFSB or CPUFSB, those are probably your best bets. You still won't have any voltage control and any gains you do get will be very minimal, but its still fun to see what you can get out on old timer like that.

    Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
    Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
    G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
    | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

    Heatware

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6
    ic ic... thanks very much... for the fast reply... will try the software u suggested... just wanna try to overclock... xD
    and the BIOS thing... do u think its good to update? or juz leave it..?

  6. #6
    Member JDXNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Québec, Canada Èh?
    Posts
    3,399
    Quote Originally Posted by DéJà Vu View Post
    and the BIOS thing... do u think its good to update? or juz leave it..?
    It won't really help you any, and could turn the motherboard into a paperweight if it doesn't go right.

    Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
    Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
    G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
    | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

    Heatware

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6
    ok... lotsa thanks ya... ^^

  8. #8
    Senior Member DocClock aka MadClocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Stockton Cal, USA, Earth
    Posts
    2,122
    The 650 wasn't a very good clocker either, but with softfsb or other utility, you might get a few more Mflops outa the old rig.
    Folding User Stats

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •