Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered Z-95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    49

    Lightbulb Performace gain of upgrading vs. all new

    I've been out of hardware researching for a while so I thought I'd ask here where I got the info for my current system

    Right now I currently have a Pentium 4 3.0E on an Asus P4C800E Deluxe with 1GB of memory and an ATI x800 PRO modded to an XT. I also have 4 250GB SATA drives in 2 RAID 0 arrays. My vid card is partly fried I think (too much OC) and can't change resolutions properly without crashing (its not drivers, formats have done nothing). But that is not the problem. My question is, given my current system, will a new system really give that much more performance over upgrading my current setup?

    Case 1: Upgrade to 2GB of memory and to an AGP Radeon 3850. Cost: $220ish
    Case 2: Build a new system with Quad Core, 2GB of memory, PCI Express vid card (not quite top of the line, not looking to SLI/crossfire either), prolly 2x 500 or 640 or 750GB SATA2 in RAID 0. Cost: ??? $1000ish or something around that

    Will the extra performance gained from the new system really warrant the increased cost? I will be looking to choose sometime this summer and will be on a budget. I'm not looking to play Crysis at full resolution with all the bells and whistles, but I want to be able to keep up with current games better. I've been having to play games on my laptop because of my vid card problems, but that gets to be a hassle (it can play Crysis though, on Low). I want to have my gaming machine back!

    So basically, would P4 -> Core 2 Quad and AGP -> PCI-Express (not to mention DDR -> DDR2 and SATA -> SATA2) be worth the $1000ish versus the $220ish. Thanks!
    *Intel Core2Duo E8400 @ 3.00GHz (OC coming soon!) with a Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme in an Asus P5K Premium
    *NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB (max 800core/2000shader/1100mem atm) powering a Dell 2407WFP
    *Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 PC8500 4GB RAM
    *Seagate 7200.11 1TB SATA2 HDD
    *Antec P182 with a Corsair 550VX PSU
    *Auzentech Prelude 7.1 powering a Logitech Z-5500 5.1 system
    *Logitech G15v2 keyboard and Logitech Mx518 mouse on a custom self-made stainless steel pad :]
    *Windows Vista Enterprise x64 SP1

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeast Texas
    Posts
    1,136
    Definitely time for a new build. You could build an antiquated AMD socket 939 setup that would blow that P4 out of the water, nevermind a Q6600 setup.
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/

    MOBO....Gigabyte....GA-MA785GPMT-UD2H
    .............................HT Link : 222 x 11 = 2442
    CPU.......AMD..........1090T : 222 x 18.5 = 4107 @ 1.475v, 46*C
    .............................CPU-NB : 222 x 12 = 2664 @ 1.225v
    RAM.......GSkill........2x4gb Ripjaws DDR3 : 222 x 6.67 = 1480 @ 1.6v
    GPU.......XFX...........5870 1gb : 938/1325 @ 1.2v, 70*C
    SSD.......OCZ..........Vertex II 120gb
    HDD.......WD...........Caviar Blue 320gb
    CASE......Antec........P180 Mini
    PSU.......Corsair.......HX650

  3. #3
    Member cabose1227's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California 805 ftw
    Posts
    1,985
    new build time, any core 2 duo will hand you the buttocks of your current rig.
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    New Rig : D, thanks to all the people in the classifieds hooking it up with the good parts!
    Silverstone FT03 Titanium
    ASUS Maximus V Gene
    Intel i5 3570k @4.8 ghz/ s1283
    ATI HD 5970
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 2x8 1600
    Antec 650W 80 plus Platinum
    OCZ Vertex 4 120gb
    WD Re4 500gig
    WD Veloci Raptor 300gb
    HEAT : caboose1227

  4. #4
    Member Freezer7Pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FINLAND. EVERYTHING IS EXPENSIVE HERE.
    Posts
    672
    Yes, by far. I'd go for an E7200 and 3870/8800GT for a fairly cheap setup that'll still last for a good while.

    E7400 4GHz 1.4V
    GTX260 c216 730 Core 1458 Shader 2430 RAM
    4GB 800MHz XMS2 4-4-4-12
    ASUS P5Q Pro
    Xigmatek HDT1283
    Xonar DX
    Samsung Spinpoint F1 320GB
    I fold in honor of those who fight the same deadly battles as my uncle Peter Flinck once did. May he rest in peace.


  5. #5
    Member TombKeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    690
    Yes, I would upgrade... I just upgraded from my AMD Opteron 146 system... which, with my previous video card would probably have been faster than yours is.
    MB:............Asus P5Q Pro
    CPU:..........Intel Xeon E3110 @ 4.0 Ghz @ 1.35V in CPU-Z
    HS:............Noctua NH-U12P (push-pull) w. MX-2 TIM
    RAM:.........2x2Gb Mushkin 1066s
    VIDEO:......MSI 275 GTX
    SOUND:.....X-Fi Prelude + Logitech Z-5500s
    HD:............2 x 640Gb WDs
    PS:............Corsair 750TX
    CASE:.......Coolermaster Stacker 832 (painted Black in/out)
    DISPLAY:..Dell 30" 3007
    OS:............Windows 7 Pro
    Other:........Logitech G15 kb, Logitech MX Rev mouse, APC BX1300LCD ups

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    28
    definitely time for an overhaul.

    i just upgraded, myself. had a P4 3.0GHz, 1GB DDR RAM, GeForce4 Ti4200. my new system is in my sig, all parts brand new, and the difference is night and day... and it cost me less than $650.

  7. #7
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,650
    no need for a quad unless you spend 90% of your time encoding video's or 3d rendering.

    i good setup for kinda cheap...

    E1200 $49.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116064
    2gigs ddr2-800 cas4 $49.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231087
    motherboard $89.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128337
    video card $179
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150252
    PSU $89
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371007
    500gig drive $99.99x2
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148288

    total = $659.93

    or sub out the E1200 for the E7200
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115052
    would then make it,$744.93

    in short yes spend the extra money on new setup. will be so much faster then what you have now...

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  8. #8
    Registered Z-95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    49
    Haha wow, overwhelmingly one side.

    Ya I would def go for at least a C2D. Its way worth it over a Celeron. I do do some video encoding but gaming is definitely the main use of the computer. So it looks like a C2D would be best.

    I also require at least basic RAID, though a mobo supporting RAID 5 would be very nice. That would be worth some extra $$ but at least basic RAID is required.

    I am also a modest overclocker so I'll prolly spring for some aftermarket cooling.

    Looks like I'll be starting my research again! As well as hoping to get a good job to pay for it :P. Heck, I'll probably spring for some better parts if I get the job. Thanks for the help guys!
    *Intel Core2Duo E8400 @ 3.00GHz (OC coming soon!) with a Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme in an Asus P5K Premium
    *NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB (max 800core/2000shader/1100mem atm) powering a Dell 2407WFP
    *Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 PC8500 4GB RAM
    *Seagate 7200.11 1TB SATA2 HDD
    *Antec P182 with a Corsair 550VX PSU
    *Auzentech Prelude 7.1 powering a Logitech Z-5500 5.1 system
    *Logitech G15v2 keyboard and Logitech Mx518 mouse on a custom self-made stainless steel pad :]
    *Windows Vista Enterprise x64 SP1

  9. #9
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,650
    yea,NP!!
    btw the E1200 while labeled for the celeron line is a C2D,just has less cache. still worth the money and even clocked at 3ghz would blow the doors of the current P4 3ghz cpu you have.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,174
    if you want a quad go for it.
    Workstation - Windows 7 x64
    AMD 1055T
    Server - ESXi 5.0
    INTEL E5-2603

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •