Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member antipesto93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    london

    does lapping heatsink make the heatsink FIRTHER awat from cpu?

    i have a freezer 7 pro... and it uses the push pin thing to keep it too the motherboard...but i was thinking.....if u where to sand down the copper at the bottom of the heatsink....wouldnt it make the heatsink firther away frm the cpu........
    i7-930 3939A @ 3.8ghz 1.3v W/HT
    Cogage arrow + Akasa apache
    Gigabyte Ex58-Extreme
    GTX470 (unlocked 465)
    6GB DDR3 OCZ Gold 1600mhz
    1tb + 500gb F3's
    Corsair TX650W
    CM 690 II
    z-2300

  2. #2
    Anubis_386's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    England - Where VAT hurts my pocket :(
    Well yeh .. but by a fraction of a mm .. The push pin mounts aren't really very good any ways because of their lack of pressure .. But it wouldn't matter any ways really, your TIM would bridge the gap ..
    || i3-2120 :( || H77 Mobo || GTX 670 2GB @ 1200 || 16GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz || OCZ Vertex 4 128GB (OS) || 3TB Storage Drive || Samsung 245B 24" LCD || Logitech Z-5400 5.1 Digital Speakers || Razer Imperator Mouse & Microsoft Sidewinder X4 Keyboard ||

  3. #3
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    it will obviously reduce pressure if you using something like the stock clips, but if your using a bolt through mount no...
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by Anubis_386 View Post
    Well yeh .. but by a fraction of a mm .. The push pin mounts aren't really very good any ways because of their lack of pressure .. But it wouldn't matter any ways really, your TIM would bridge the gap ..
    It does matter if one can't put much pressure on the CPU. Actually those mounts should be illegalized, they suck SO much. I wonder how many people look at reviews "WOW! TRUE gets 50C temps load! :O" and go to buy one, just to notice that they get 85C temps under load until the CPU starts throtling - thanks to VERY stupid mounting.

    More TIM = worse conductivity = higer temps = NO GOOD. When the TIM thickness halves, the thermal conductivity doubles.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Heatware Profile
    I realize you're making a general statement but just so no one interested in a TRUE gets confused, the TRUE DOES come with a bolt through mounting kit.
    Main i7-2600K + Noctua NH-D14, ASUS P8P67 EVO, 12GB DDR3, Samsung 830 256GB, ATI 7950, SeaSonic X750, Antec Fusion Remote Max - W8 Pro 64-bit
    File Server Phenom II X4 965, ASUS M4A785-M, 4GB DDR2, Intel PRO/1000, Nexus VALUE 430, Norco RPC-450B - unRAID Pro 8TB: Samsung 2x2TB, 4x.1.5TB, X25-M G2 120GB [cache]

    Dell U2713HM

    Heatware

  6. #6
    Anubis_386's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    England - Where VAT hurts my pocket :(
    Quote Originally Posted by Calmatory View Post
    It does matter if one can't put much pressure on the CPU. Actually those mounts should be illegalized, they suck SO much. I wonder how many people look at reviews "WOW! TRUE gets 50C temps load! :O" and go to buy one, just to notice that they get 85C temps under load until the CPU starts throtling - thanks to VERY stupid mounting.

    More TIM = worse conductivity = higer temps = NO GOOD. When the TIM thickness halves, the thermal conductivity doubles.
    True but the amount of metal taken off through lapping is absolutely tiny .. I wasn't saying that more TIM would be needed, you would use the same amount and it would still interface between the CPU and HS .. Push pin mounts should be make illegal tho, they are awful ..
    || i3-2120 :( || H77 Mobo || GTX 670 2GB @ 1200 || 16GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz || OCZ Vertex 4 128GB (OS) || 3TB Storage Drive || Samsung 245B 24" LCD || Logitech Z-5400 5.1 Digital Speakers || Razer Imperator Mouse & Microsoft Sidewinder X4 Keyboard ||

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •