Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Disabled DerekDRP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    No Truss Passing :)
    Posts
    2,211

    Installing ascom driver + platform on my lappy?

    If I did this and I used a normal cat 5 cable will it work?


    My telescope has a cat 5 plugin but I don't know if this will work.

  2. #2
    Frustrating Senior SETI Nut!
    eaglescouter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    CA- Not far from the Allen SETI array
    Posts
    4,769
    No clue, we use software to analyze radio telescope data that is collected by the University of California at Berkeley. We don't use our own telescopes for this project. But good luck.
    Mining LTC
    #4 in the 20 Million SETI Club
    Top 4 Producer for BOINC Seti Many GHz of Seti Crunching Power!
    Number 18 Seti Classic Cruncher

    Member of the Phase Cooled 6Ghz Club
    [SG] Halo Custom Edition Clan Leader

  3. #3
    Disabled DerekDRP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    No Truss Passing :)
    Posts
    2,211
    Quote Originally Posted by eaglescouter View Post
    No clue, we use software to analyze radio telescope data that is collected by the University of California at Berkeley. We don't use our own telescopes for this project. But good luck.
    Thanks mate, Right now I have no clue if it will work or not. And I'm not going to find out until tomorrow when my friend will coem back from the weekend of flying.

  4. #4
    Blank Senior Member El<(')>Maxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,035
    Of curse it will work, thats what it's designed for.
    rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'

  5. #5
    Disabled DerekDRP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    No Truss Passing :)
    Posts
    2,211
    Quote Originally Posted by El<(')>Maxi View Post
    Of curse it will work, thats what it's designed for.
    then why would someone try to sell me a special cable for $50 and think I'm going to take the bait?

    Come a cat 5 cable is not $50.....

  6. #6
    Blank Senior Member El<(')>Maxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,035
    Why do people try to sell anything? Without seeing what it is I can't say for sure, there may be a good reason.
    rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'

  7. #7
    Disabled DerekDRP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    No Truss Passing :)
    Posts
    2,211
    Quote Originally Posted by El<(')>Maxi View Post
    Why do people try to sell anything? Without seeing what it is I can't say for sure, there may be a good reason.
    for the green my friend.

  8. #8
    Blank Senior Member El<(')>Maxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,035
    I know I was answering you lol
    rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'

  9. #9
    Disabled DerekDRP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    No Truss Passing :)
    Posts
    2,211
    Quote Originally Posted by El<(')>Maxi View Post
    I know I was answering you lol
    LOL okies


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •