Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member andyl33t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,199

    Recommend me some PC2-8500 RAM

    Hi, I'm going to be getting new RAM when I get my new P45 motherboard. I need 2x2GB. Was wondering what ram to get? Should I get the:

    Corsair 4GB DDR2 XMS2 Dominator
    G.Skill 4GB DDR2 PK PC2-8500C5
    OCZ 4GB Reaper HPC Edition

    Or any others recommended?

  2. #2
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    8,739
    Quote Originally Posted by andyl33t View Post
    Hi, I'm going to be getting new RAM when I get my new P45 motherboard. I need 2x2GB. Was wondering what ram to get? Should I get the:

    Corsair 4GB DDR2 XMS2 Dominator
    G.Skill 4GB DDR2 PK PC2-8500C5
    OCZ 4GB Reaper HPC Edition

    Or any others recommended?
    For a Q6600? Don't waste your money on 1066 rated RAM. You'll be at 3.6ghz before even running 800 rated stuff at full speeds..
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  3. #3
    Member andyl33t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,199
    But then I can alter the FSB:RAM ration to meet the ram speeds. Its also future proof.

  4. #4
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    8,739
    Quote Originally Posted by andyl33t View Post
    But then I can alter the FSB:RAM ration to meet the ram speeds. Its also future proof.
    Future proof?? No such thing. DDR2 will be going away and making room for DDR3 soon enough. LGA775 is going away soon enough as well.

    If it's worth an extra $20 to get memory rated at 1066 just to say you have it, by all means go for it. Just be aware of the actual performance increase you are going to get by running the memory faster than FSB: Zilch.

    OK, maybe .2% or so
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  5. #5
    Member jokers_greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario
    Posts
    2,564
    ^ +1. nothing's future proof right now. wait for the next quarter to come around. New cpu socket, DDR3 will be mainstream, etc. If you want an upgrade. do what im doing... wait
    Primary
    3570k @4.6 turbo, P8Z77-V PRO ,
    6970 , Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB 1600
    Vertex 4 120GB, 1x 250GB Seagate
    LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4167B
    ,
    HX 850W , NZXT Switch 810

    My OLD WC Project Log
    My Heat

  6. #6
    Member andyl33t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,199
    Oh ok, so DDR800 would be enough? What would you recommend?

  7. #7
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    8,739
    Quote Originally Posted by andyl33t View Post
    Oh ok, so DDR800 would be enough? What would you recommend?
    Probably these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231148

    4-4-4-12 so if you do end up taking FSB beyond 400, you'll have some decent headroom if you just bump it up to 5-5-5-15 or something.

    These Corsairs are very nice too, just make sure it's not a problem to use tall modules on your mobo/case combo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145194

    Really, anything on this page: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2508081&name=4
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  8. #8
    New Member Foolishoverlord's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    I Live In London, UK
    Posts
    9

    slright hijack

    hi there ive been reading up on ram speeds etc, and while the ddr2 800mhz is good for the Q6600 would some 8500+ RAM be alright for the Yorkfields (particularly the Q9300), in terms of functionality and value against bandwidth utilization between the CPU and RAM?

    apologies for the slight hijack of this thread, however this seems to be following my same train of thought in terms of what RAM i should buy and for the same reasons (future proofing, per say lol)

    sorry again
    Alienware Area 51 5700 (circa 2005)
    Processor: Pentium D 830 (Smithfield) 3.00Ghz 2MB Cache 800FSB
    Motherboard: Intel 975XBK
    RAM: Crucial 4GB DDR2 5300 5-5-5-15
    Graphics Card: BFG 8800GT 512mb OC Edition
    Sound Card: Creative X-Fi Pro
    PSU: Enermax 600Watt

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    284
    Quote Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
    For a Q6600? Don't waste your money on 1066 rated RAM. You'll be at 3.6ghz before even running 800 rated stuff at full speeds..
    What is full speed for 800 rated stuff?

    i5 3570k Ivy Bridge
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
    ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard
    OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W
    OCZ Agility 3 2.5" 120GB SSD
    Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme
    EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
    Antec 900

  10. #10

    Member
    freeagent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg!
    Posts
    5,017
    id go with the pc8500.. running your fsb at higher speeds is good, it opens up the pipes, and gets the mem controller moveing. haveing the stix to compliment it is gravy. ratbuddy you need to run some more everest. there is more then a 2% gain from running your stix faster, there is more to life then 3dmark
    Intel Xeon x5690
    Asus Rampage III Formula
    6x2GB G.Skill 2133 BBSE
    Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum
    Intel 520/WD Black
    Auzentech Prelude
    Thermaltake SP850M
    Fractal Design Define R4

  11. #11
    New Member Foolishoverlord's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    I Live In London, UK
    Posts
    9

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by freeagent View Post
    id go with the pc8500.. running your fsb at higher speeds is good, it opens up the pipes, and gets the mem controller moveing. haveing the stix to compliment it is gravy. ratbuddy you need to run some more everest. there is more then a 2% gain from running your stix faster, there is more to life then 3dmark
    thanks for the advice now i know what im gonna buy lol
    Alienware Area 51 5700 (circa 2005)
    Processor: Pentium D 830 (Smithfield) 3.00Ghz 2MB Cache 800FSB
    Motherboard: Intel 975XBK
    RAM: Crucial 4GB DDR2 5300 5-5-5-15
    Graphics Card: BFG 8800GT 512mb OC Edition
    Sound Card: Creative X-Fi Pro
    PSU: Enermax 600Watt

  12. #12
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    8,739
    Yep, you can score higher in memory benchmarks running your memory at higher mhz. Are you going to notice a difference in real use? Nope. It's also foolish to spend the extra cash for 1066 memory rated at 5-5-5-15 or higher when 800mhz 4-4-4-12 rated stuff will usually clock just as high and costs less..
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  13. #13
    Member andyl33t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    1,199
    Ok cool, I appreciate what everyone is saying. I understand that there is no point atm getting high end DDR2, since DDR3 will be the standard soon and also I can just overclock the 800 to 1066 speeds. I'm looking for around a 4Ghz clock (I hope) so thats 4000/9 = 444.4 Mhz FSB. Since DDR is double data rate, therefore the my memory clock will be 888.8 - which a 800Mhz ram will easily reach.

    I'm not an extreme overclocker that wants to shave every milisecond of benching timings - I'm looking for more real world uses . So with PC2-6400 will suite my needs, I hope!

    Thanks everyone!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •