Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9

    Samsung 305t Screen Problem

    I recently built a new rig with the following components
    EVGA 780i
    Q6600
    4GB Corsair
    2x9800GTX
    1TB Seagate SATA
    Samsung 305t
    Windows Vista Ultimate 32
    I have the SLI Bridge on the video cards and enabled the Sli in the nvidia control panel. However, the problem occurs after i get into Vista where the left side of the screen starts to fade and become dark. Right side of the screen is ok. Is there an option in the bios that i need to enable to Sli to run properly or do you think I have a bad monitor?

  2. #2
    Member Kevin007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    321 Florida
    Posts
    1,477
    Well does the monitor work under non-SLIness?
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
    4.00 GB Mushkin
    Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H (Socket M2)
    ATI Radeon HD 4800

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    Under non sli it appears to do the same. It will be working fine as windows starts but after 30 sec the left side becomes darker. Doesn't this monitor need SLI to run properly?

  4. #4
    Member Kevin007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    321 Florida
    Posts
    1,477
    Have you tried looking around in the monitors settings? I know there can be some weird half screen type settings.
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
    4.00 GB Mushkin
    Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H (Socket M2)
    ATI Radeon HD 4800

  5. #5
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    There may also be a program that is changing the settings for the card, disable everything on start up
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    I tried disabling all start up options but still no good. I put up a pic of what I see after windows starts.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  7. #7
    Member dogbert_2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    289
    bad monitor.

    use any other monitor or tv to test.
    Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800, Tuniq Tower 120
    Asus P5W-DH
    G.Skill 4x1GB DDR2 800 (HZ)
    Asus 4870 1GB
    2xRaid0 Western Digital Raptor 150GB
    Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
    Antec P180B, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
    Dell Ultrasharp 30" Widescreen LCD
    Logitech G15+G7

  8. #8
    Member Warren G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    475
    does this happen in bios? if so then bad monitor, otherwise check your drivers?
    MSI P67a-G43
    i5-2500k @ 4ghz | Heatkiller 3.0
    8GB Samsung DDR3 2100
    Corsair Force 3 180GB SSD
    XFX 290 Unlocked | EK Waterblock + Backplate
    Corsair HX850W - Corsair 650D
    Black Ice II Stealth 240 | XSPC Res | MCP655

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    after further testing what I experience is the monitor works normally till i get to vista. After about 30 seconds into vista the left side begins to fade out(picture posted above). After about 15 minutes the left side becomes bright and the monitor seems to be normal. I swapped out video cards and this problem seems to always be present. I tried turning off all startup programs to see if those were causing it and it was a no go. I am running 175.16 drivers off nvidia's website. Any other suggestions before I contact samsung for support?

  10. #10
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    Can you try it on another computer? If it does it still, its the monitor.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  11. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    i tried my old 20" dell monitor and everything appears to work fine. I also tried my friends 27" Viewsonic and it works fine. The issue is only with my 30", I was wondering if it had to do w/ the dual link dvi on the video card. Is there a way to check to make sure its enabled?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •