Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Member the_cultie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Irish living in California
    Posts
    1,613

    Building a high powered workstation

    I have been given the task of building a high powered workstation for a friend who does a lot of work with 3D Max, Maya, etc. At the moment he working with a Athlon 4800+ (939) and 4GB RAM. It was enough when I built it 3 years ago, (even bet the overpriced Boxxtech machines at his workplace at the time ) but now hes struggling for memory because he's working with such a high polygon count.

    So I'm just looking for some opinions on what to build. He's looking for a lot of processing power and at least 8GB RAM. So at the moment I'm thinking of a new quad opteron and a dual socket motherboard (will allow for a 2nd cpu in the future or now if the budget allows). So are the new Opterons a good choice or are the Xeons a better option? Also, any recommendations on a motherboard that has 2 PCI-Express slots as he needs 3+ DVI connectors, 2 widescreen LCD's and one of those lovely Wacom tablet displays.
    AMD FX-8350,, ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z 990FX,, 16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT (2x8GB),, Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 GHz OC 3GB ,, Corsair AX750,,
    Corsair H100i,, Corsair Force Series GS 180GB,, Pioneer Blu-ray Burner,, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO -- All stock, for now...


    Folding for Team32

    "Whoa whoa whoa, we don't discuss leaving systems stock here. You'd overclock it for a few reasons. It makes it faster and because you can." - thideras

    Folding User Stats

  2. #2
    Member Shiggity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,429
    If money is no concern wait for the dual socket Nehalem board to come out, which will be the upgrade for skull-trail in Q4.

    The processing power will be higher than anything seen before by far.
    CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
    Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
    Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
    GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
    HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
    PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W


  3. #3
    Member White_Pawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    3,466
    It sounds like he can't really wait and he needs the power now. In that case definitely go for the intel quad cores. 2 x Q9450 equivalents a nice mobo... you can go with skull trail here, or a cheaper board since you most likely aren't going to overclock.
    - - M a i n R i g - -
    E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
    ^Tuniq Tower 120^
    Gigabyte P35-S3L
    powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
    OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
    2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
    Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular

  4. #4
    Member the_cultie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Irish living in California
    Posts
    1,613
    Yeah, he does need it fairly quick alright. Are skulltrail mobos avilable yet? Was talking to him again and he would like to get more than 8GB of RAM so recomendations on motherboards would be welcome. Also what would Q9450 equivalents be, I've fallin slightly behind on the latest Intel releases Also, dont rule overclocking out, its quite possible that he will get me to overclock this rig when its built.
    AMD FX-8350,, ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z 990FX,, 16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT (2x8GB),, Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 GHz OC 3GB ,, Corsair AX750,,
    Corsair H100i,, Corsair Force Series GS 180GB,, Pioneer Blu-ray Burner,, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO -- All stock, for now...


    Folding for Team32

    "Whoa whoa whoa, we don't discuss leaving systems stock here. You'd overclock it for a few reasons. It makes it faster and because you can." - thideras

    Folding User Stats

  5. #5
    Member ou_phidelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rockingham, NC
    Posts
    3,402
    Prepare for sticker shock. Skulltrail Link

    You will need S771 chips, so no cheap Q6600's.

    Using the cheapest chips you are looking at ~$1120 plus memory. Doing a quick google search I came up with Crucial a $110 per 2GB stick, so another $440 for the FB-DIMM memory it takes.

  6. #6
    Member the_cultie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Irish living in California
    Posts
    1,613
    Not a bad price, when converted hes looking to spend $3750, but then hardware is a bit more expensive over here. Also, I can't get a skulltrail mobo over here , not yet anyway, Newegg wont ship to Ireland :'( I'll have another look round and see what is avilable to me. I'll be back looking for opinions on them. Also, do you have to use ECC registered ram with server boards and ships or can you some how disable ECC and use regular DDR2 RAM?
    AMD FX-8350,, ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z 990FX,, 16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT (2x8GB),, Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 GHz OC 3GB ,, Corsair AX750,,
    Corsair H100i,, Corsair Force Series GS 180GB,, Pioneer Blu-ray Burner,, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO -- All stock, for now...


    Folding for Team32

    "Whoa whoa whoa, we don't discuss leaving systems stock here. You'd overclock it for a few reasons. It makes it faster and because you can." - thideras

    Folding User Stats

  7. #7
    Epic Fail Guy JamesXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,648
    You need ECC FB-DIMM, very expensive.


    actually, only the ocing stuff is.

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=767545

    52 quid for 2GB.

    4x52 = 208 quid just for 8GB
    i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
    Thermalright Macho 120
    ASRock Z77 Pro4
    8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
    128GB Samsung 830 SSD
    EVGA GTX770 ACX
    EVGA Supernova 750G2
    Corsair 650D

  8. #8
    Member the_cultie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Irish living in California
    Posts
    1,613
    Nice price, thanks for the link, as far as I remember scan do ship to here too
    AMD FX-8350,, ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z 990FX,, 16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT (2x8GB),, Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 GHz OC 3GB ,, Corsair AX750,,
    Corsair H100i,, Corsair Force Series GS 180GB,, Pioneer Blu-ray Burner,, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO -- All stock, for now...


    Folding for Team32

    "Whoa whoa whoa, we don't discuss leaving systems stock here. You'd overclock it for a few reasons. It makes it faster and because you can." - thideras

    Folding User Stats

  9. #9
    Epic Fail Guy JamesXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,648
    Yeah, they've also lowered prices to IE.


    But I live 8 miles from scan, so I just pick stuff up from there
    i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
    Thermalright Macho 120
    ASRock Z77 Pro4
    8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
    128GB Samsung 830 SSD
    EVGA GTX770 ACX
    EVGA Supernova 750G2
    Corsair 650D

  10. #10

  11. #11
    Epic Fail Guy JamesXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,648
    Red, they are US prices, not UK prices.
    i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
    Thermalright Macho 120
    ASRock Z77 Pro4
    8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
    128GB Samsung 830 SSD
    EVGA GTX770 ACX
    EVGA Supernova 750G2
    Corsair 650D

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    109
    yea i was converting an left like $600 spare to make up for the price diffrence
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 - AMD x6 1055T @3.5GHz@1.275v - Seagate SATA3 1T & SATA2 500G - Asus ATI 5770 - Kingston hyperx 1600 8G (2x4G)@1333MHz 8-8-8-22-30 - Thermaltake Soprano RS100 full tower - Antec truepower tp-750W

  13. #13
    Member ou_phidelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rockingham, NC
    Posts
    3,402
    This is a workstation, not a gaming system.

    Does his software need high end graphics cards for processing power or is this just CPU power? What is the budget?

    If I am not mistaken those programs are multi-threaded very well and could use the power of dual sockets. I am also thinking he is going to need to look at workstation class GPU'a which are pricey as well.

    If he can hold out for a skulltrail board, that with two E5420's would be a pretty good combo without blowing a ton of cash unnecessarily. That with 8GB's of ram would ram about $1800US, plus graphics which can run north of 2K each depending on what he needs. It may seem like a lot to most people but if he is using to make his living it is money well spent for more productivity.

  14. #14
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    8,751
    Quote Originally Posted by the_cultie View Post
    Not a bad price, when converted hes looking to spend $3750, but then hardware is a bit more expensive over here. Also, I can't get a skulltrail mobo over here , not yet anyway, Newegg wont ship to Ireland :'( I'll have another look round and see what is avilable to me. I'll be back looking for opinions on them. Also, do you have to use ECC registered ram with server boards and ships or can you some how disable ECC and use regular DDR2 RAM?
    Scan has Skulltrail at http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=764124

    You could start with just 1 CPU and later upgrade if he wants more power. It is limited to 8GB RAM, though. There's a few other dual 771 boards on there, all seem to require those FB-DIMMs though. Some of them hold more than 8GB but seem to be more for servers than workstations..
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Crucial MX100 512GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache
    MSI GTX 970 4GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - Crucial MX100 256GB, 2xWD Green 1TB
    Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  15. #15
    Member the_cultie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Irish living in California
    Posts
    1,613
    Quote Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
    Scan has Skulltrail at http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=764124

    You could start with just 1 CPU and later upgrade if he wants more power. It is limited to 8GB RAM, though. There's a few other dual 771 boards on there, all seem to require those FB-DIMMs though. Some of them hold more than 8GB but seem to be more for servers than workstations..
    Don't know how I mised that Since my last post and not having found a skulltrail board (until now) or dual socket intel boards with 2 PCI-Express x16 slots I have sort of setteled on a board if we go for an AMD dual socket setup. I've picked the Asus KFN32-D SLI/SAS motherboard (Link) and 1 or 2 Opetron 2354 2.2GHZ quad core cpus. Now looking at RAM and graphics. More opinions welcome and now that I know I can get a skulltrail board I'll have a look at that option too.
    AMD FX-8350,, ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z 990FX,, 16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT (2x8GB),, Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 GHz OC 3GB ,, Corsair AX750,,
    Corsair H100i,, Corsair Force Series GS 180GB,, Pioneer Blu-ray Burner,, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO -- All stock, for now...


    Folding for Team32

    "Whoa whoa whoa, we don't discuss leaving systems stock here. You'd overclock it for a few reasons. It makes it faster and because you can." - thideras

    Folding User Stats

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    24
    I am completely happy (actually overjoyed) with the second rig in my signature. Yes it's FB-DIMM and it's more expensive, but the amount I saved on the processors by using E5410 and doing a slight OC is well worth the money. Also, it holds up to 24gb of RAM compared to the Skulltrail. It is also a lot of money, but is still cheaper than the Skulltrail at Scan.com.

    Obviously, you don't need the dual HD3870 vid cards, but I couldn't resist them on sale for $129 a piece at Best Buy last week. You can save a lot of money here by putting in a couple ATI HD2600 series cards. You're not going to need such a large PSU either, probably something with 700 or 750W. You can always go higher to be on the safe side and allow for additions to your system in the future.

    Here is a link to the mobo:

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=812092


    Waiting on stock from vendor. Might want to call and see what expected delivery date is.

    I hope this helps or at least gives a different option at a reasonable cost. Good luck with the build!

  17. #17
    Member the_cultie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Irish living in California
    Posts
    1,613
    That is a nice motherboard, even aesthetically it's nice for a server/workstation board. Thanks for that, another option for us
    AMD FX-8350,, ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z 990FX,, 16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT (2x8GB),, Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 GHz OC 3GB ,, Corsair AX750,,
    Corsair H100i,, Corsair Force Series GS 180GB,, Pioneer Blu-ray Burner,, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO -- All stock, for now...


    Folding for Team32

    "Whoa whoa whoa, we don't discuss leaving systems stock here. You'd overclock it for a few reasons. It makes it faster and because you can." - thideras

    Folding User Stats

  18. #18
    Member the_cultie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Irish living in California
    Posts
    1,613
    Well after much discussion with my friend he's deceided to go for the Asus board I linked above and two quad Opterons, he wants to be able to have as much ram as possible. He's going to get 8GB now and upgrade to 32GB near the end of the year. Were also putting a Quadro FX 3700 in it for his two main monitors and an 8800GT/GTS for the third monitor. We're thinking of two Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme's or Ultima-90's on the CPU's. However I was wondering, are the hole spacing on the Socket F boards the same as on the 939 boards? It would mean that the 939 bolt kit could be used.

    *EDIT*
    Found out that the 939 kit will work with Socket F.
    Last edited by the_cultie; 06-13-08 at 11:37 AM.
    AMD FX-8350,, ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z 990FX,, 16GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT (2x8GB),, Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 GHz OC 3GB ,, Corsair AX750,,
    Corsair H100i,, Corsair Force Series GS 180GB,, Pioneer Blu-ray Burner,, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO -- All stock, for now...


    Folding for Team32

    "Whoa whoa whoa, we don't discuss leaving systems stock here. You'd overclock it for a few reasons. It makes it faster and because you can." - thideras

    Folding User Stats

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •