Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Likes Popcorn petteyg359's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,679

    Help with attaching fan to Ultra 120 Extreme

    FedEx delivered my new fans today. Got 4 low speed Yate Loons for case fans and a Scythe Kama 120mm (here) to stick on the Ultra 120. I've already cut the poles out of the middle of the fan so the clips would fit.

    I can't figure out how to place the clips to hold the fan to the heatsink, though

    Pics of heatsink are at here. Since the top of the heatpipes are layed out the same on each side (rather than opposite to make it symmetrical), I can fit one clip in on one side, but the clip on the other side doesn't match and I can't figure out how to make it fit properly so it holds the fan on on the other side. Anybody with same HS explain how you attach the fan on both sides?

    EDIT:
    Now thinking I may be stupid... I was attempting to use the holes next to each heatpipe. I should be looking for a hole in the middle of each side on the edge of the heatsink I think...
    Last edited by petteyg359; 06-12-08 at 03:53 PM.
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
    Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
    Folding User Stats

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,351
    If they are the Yate Loon's with the closed corners, it won't work. If they are open, here you go:





    The best way to do it is with 4 zipties . This is what I have since I have the closed corner YL low speed fans.

    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. #3
    Member Jayws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    C:\
    Posts
    864
    I'm curious, I just got my U-120E the other day and I'm wondering about the mounting. My mount is 90 degrees different from Thideras's picture above. Do the heat pipes still work as effectively in that position or should I rotate my heat sink?
    Heat
    Asus P8P67
    Intel i5 2500k @ 4.0GHz
    30c Idle / 50c Full Load w/ TRUE U120
    8GB DDR3-1866 -- 9-10-9-27-1T
    MSI GTX 460 1GB
    2TB Total HD / Antec 902 / Corsair 550VX

  4. #4
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,351
    Quote Originally Posted by Jayws View Post
    I'm curious, I just got my U-120E the other day and I'm wondering about the mounting. My mount is 90 degrees different from Thideras's picture above. Do the heat pipes still work as effectively in that position or should I rotate my heat sink?
    Yes, they will because they have wicks in them.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  5. #5
    Member Jayws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    C:\
    Posts
    864
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Yes, they will because they have wicks in them.
    Yes direction doesn't matter? I don't see how a wick would make a difference, I always thought that there was a fluid inside with a low boiling point that heats up and evaporates to a cooler spot where it then re-condenses into a liquid. If my interpretation is correct, how would a wick facilitate this?
    Heat
    Asus P8P67
    Intel i5 2500k @ 4.0GHz
    30c Idle / 50c Full Load w/ TRUE U120
    8GB DDR3-1866 -- 9-10-9-27-1T
    MSI GTX 460 1GB
    2TB Total HD / Antec 902 / Corsair 550VX

  6. #6
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,351
    Quote Originally Posted by Jayws View Post
    Yes direction doesn't matter? I don't see how a wick would make a difference, I always thought that there was a fluid inside with a low boiling point that heats up and evaporates to a cooler spot where it then re-condenses into a liquid. If my interpretation is correct, how would a wick facilitate this?
    It moves the condensed fluid to the "warm" side of the tube
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  7. #7
    Anubis_386's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    England - Where VAT hurts my pocket :(
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Jayws View Post
    Yes direction doesn't matter? I don't see how a wick would make a difference, I always thought that there was a fluid inside with a low boiling point that heats up and evaporates to a cooler spot where it then re-condenses into a liquid. If my interpretation is correct, how would a wick facilitate this?
    Well there's actually a load of tiny cooling pixies living in there and then carry the heat up to the top .. ..
    || i3-2120 :( || H77 Mobo || GTX 670 2GB @ 1200 || 16GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz || OCZ Vertex 4 128GB (OS) || 3TB Storage Drive || Samsung 245B 24" LCD || Logitech Z-5400 5.1 Digital Speakers || Razer Imperator Mouse & Microsoft Sidewinder X4 Keyboard ||

  8. #8
    Likes Popcorn petteyg359's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,679
    Alright, I put the clips in the right place this time

    Scythe 120mm fan on Ultra 120 Extreme with the corner posts removed (after a bandsaw cut on either side, pliers popped 'em right out):



    My system now, with the Scythe and three low-speed Yate Loons (2 front, 1 back). Hard drive noise of uploading the pics is louder than fans, now



    Yes, I know the pictures are huge. That's why I host them on my unmetered bandwidth webhost
    Yes, I know I have a huge mess of cables down near the bottom front. It's an Antec 900, though, not much I can do about it.

    Maybe the hi-res pic of the clip will help others who have tried (like me) to put to wire clip into the holes on top by each heatpipe.

    Now folding at 98% CPU usage with CoreTemp showing ~47C to Tj max.
    Last edited by petteyg359; 06-12-08 at 06:51 PM.
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
    Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
    Folding User Stats

  9. #9
    Northern Senior
    baditude_df's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Calgary, AB. CAN.
    Posts
    3,556
    There's lots you can do about the cable mess. I know, I've pretty much done it all with this case. The modular PSU's in this case cause much more cable mess than is needed IMO. There's way too many cables coming out of way too many places to properly route. If you use a conventional PSU and bundle the cables, then make one 2" hole in the back plate you can route the whole mess to the back nice and neat. Then make some smaller holes near the edge of the mobo to route in the power and data cables as needed and you can make a VERY neat case:
    http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/5...0268di0ub3.jpg
    Even with WC, there is not alot of mess:
    http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/9421/img0372ku7.jpg
    The mess:
    http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/7928/img0354au5.jpg

    ~$30 for a good hole saw. Assuming you have a drill.
    | Asus Gryphon Z97 | i7-4770k @ 3.70GHz |NH-U14S| ICD7 |Intel530 120G SSD
    | Saphire HD6870 1GB | Fractal Designs NewtonR3 600w|
    | Win7Ux64 | 16G Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 @ 7-8-8-24 & 1.5v

  10. #10
    Likes Popcorn petteyg359's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,679
    But does the side panel fit over all that?
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
    Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
    Folding User Stats

  11. #11
    Member Jayws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    C:\
    Posts
    864
    I did a fairly nice job routing cables behind the mobo tray in my 900 and I didn't even have to mod the case. There is room back there, you just need to finagle some stuff and maybe use a bit of tape
    Heat
    Asus P8P67
    Intel i5 2500k @ 4.0GHz
    30c Idle / 50c Full Load w/ TRUE U120
    8GB DDR3-1866 -- 9-10-9-27-1T
    MSI GTX 460 1GB
    2TB Total HD / Antec 902 / Corsair 550VX

  12. #12
    Northern Senior
    baditude_df's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Calgary, AB. CAN.
    Posts
    3,556
    Quote Originally Posted by petteyg359 View Post
    But does the side panel fit over all that?
    Of course it does, it's taped and tied flat against the backplane.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jayws View Post
    I did a fairly nice job routing cables behind the mobo tray in my 900 and I didn't even have to mod the case. There is room back there, you just need to finagle some stuff and maybe use a bit of tape
    Yes, that's fairly easy IF you got a 900 with the holes pre cut. The original ones did not.
    Last edited by baditude_df; 06-12-08 at 08:22 PM.
    | Asus Gryphon Z97 | i7-4770k @ 3.70GHz |NH-U14S| ICD7 |Intel530 120G SSD
    | Saphire HD6870 1GB | Fractal Designs NewtonR3 600w|
    | Win7Ux64 | 16G Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 @ 7-8-8-24 & 1.5v

  13. #13
    Likes Popcorn petteyg359's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,679
    No fair, the new ones come pre-holed?!

    One more thing. The Scythe fan is running at <400RPM at boot. This results in a BIOS warning every boot that I have to press F1 to continue on, due to low fan speed. Any way I can permanently disable the warning?
    Last edited by petteyg359; 06-12-08 at 11:47 PM.
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
    Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
    Folding User Stats

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Little Rock, AR
    Posts
    977
    Quote Originally Posted by petteyg359 View Post
    No fair, the new ones come pre-holed?!

    One more thing. The Scythe fan is running at <400RPM at boot. This results in a BIOS warning every boot that I have to press F1 to continue on, due to low fan speed. Any way I can permanently disable the warning?
    There should be a setting in the bios to stop this message. Either lower the warning RPM or turn off the warning messages all together.

    Axis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •