Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    "poor" performance with ssd?

    hi
    just recived 2x16gb mtron ssd and proceeded to set them up in raid0 on my 780i mb, but the results seems wierd compared to all the reviews ive seen.



    wavy line instead of a straight one and not close to 240mb/sek as i should be getting?
    tried updating the bios and didnt help so iam wondering if the raid controller on the mb could be a bottleneck or something?(although i read that nvidias controllers are good?)

  2. #2
    Registered dhc0329's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    58
    Software on board raid may not be appropriate for SSD. I know Intel matrix has an issue with SSD.

  3. #3
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    Quote Originally Posted by dhc0329 View Post
    Software on board raid may not be appropriate for SSD. I know Intel matrix has an issue with SSD.
    ICH9R's are known for probs with ssd's .... not matrix raid seems as how that spans from ICH6R - the latest ICH10R

    as per the picture its way to small to make ends of it.... run the long benchmark in hdtach for better results.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  4. #4
    Member TazExtreme3's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Portage, Michigan
    Posts
    616
    I'd hardly call that "poor performance". Random access 0.1ms 200+ MB/s Burst. The wavy line is because you need may to update the firmware on the drives. Here's a review on a single 16GB MTRON @ Anandtech to compare. And a quote from boards.ie of your possible problem with the wavy line.

    Well luckily and to my surprise, I couldn't be more wrong. I've always heard about using identical Raptors of the same firmware for optimal results, but I never imagined it would be the same story with the other drives, in my case with the Mtrons.
    I rebooted to my bootable USB pendrive, ran the small flash utility I downloaded from the Mtron support page and I saw that my first Mtron's firmware was 16 R1 and my second's was 17 R1. So I flashed the "old" one and 30 seconds later I am back in the OS, running the same benchmarks on my RAID0 array. At this point I need to say that flashing the Mtron's firmware did not affect the data or the RAID array itself.
    Well guess what? No I won't tell you, I think it's just time to post the screenshots
    Last edited by TazExtreme3; 06-24-08 at 09:34 PM.
    -Greg-

    Asus G73JW: i7 740QM -- 8GB RAM -- OCZ Agility 2 80GB SSD -- 500GB HDD -- Nvidia GeForce GTX 460M
    HTPC: Gigabyte H55N-USB3 -- i3 540 -- G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 1600 Ripjaws -- 500GB Hitachi -- 4TB Western Digital Green -- Sapphire 5770 Vapor X -- Corsair H50 -- SilverStone SUGO SG06
    My Heatware

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by TazExtreme3 View Post
    I'd hardly call that "poor performance". Random access 0.1ms 200+ MB/s Burst. The wavy line is because you need may to update the firmware on the drives. Here's a review on a single 16GB MTRON @ Anandtech to compare. And a quote from boards.ie of your possible problem with the wavy line.
    thus the " ", i just expected a similar graph to all the reviews, will def try the firmware upgrade! thanks!

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3
    my disks already had the newest firmware so it seems its something else, not idea what.

  7. #7
    Member Maverick0984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,390
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Try using HD Tune, and upping the block size bit?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •