Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Somewhere on Long Island

    GTX280 power supply requirements??

    I can't seem to find the power supply requirements??

    Can anyone shed some light on this?

  2. #2
    Registered Chobucto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Google didn't find any. But instead I took the info off of Guru3d's review http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...review-test/11

    It states:PC in Idle = 184 Watt
    PC 100% usage (wattage gaming Peak) = 363 Watt

    A GeForce GTX 280 requires you to have a 550 Watt power supply unit at minimum if you use it in a high-end system. That power supply needs to have (in total accumulated) at least 40 Amps available on the 12 volts rails.
    1055t - 880GM USB3 - 9800GTX+ - TX750

  3. #3
    Member mx-6*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Quote Originally Posted by Chobucto View Post
    It states:PC in Idle = 184 Watt
    PC 100% usage (wattage gaming Peak) = 363 Watt

    A GeForce GTX 280 requires you to have a 550 Watt power supply unit at minimum if you use it in a high-end system. That power supply needs to have (in total accumulated) at least 40 Amps available on the 12 volts rails.
    Right but their test showed that the entire system used 363 Watts, not just the Video card. That's actually not too much and I am sure that my Corsair 620 would be fine running a GTX280 and probably even 2 of them considering that PSU really puts out close to 800 Watts.

  4. #4
    Member -Blue-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Spain
    the card itself uses about 240W at full load
    Case: Mozart TX
    CPU: i7 920 @ 3.8 (200x19)
    MB: P6T-Deluxe V2
    RAM: 3 x 2 Gb Corsair Dominator 1600
    GPU: Asus ENG GTX 280
    Cooling:TRUE
    PSU: NOX Pulsar 750W


  5. #5
    Wants Old Title Back
    Didn't Get It
    Conumdrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Author Profile
    What about amps? Thats what matters. A good 620 Watt PSU should be fine.

    Amps and a stable 12V off that rail under load is what matters.i
    I want my old title back.
    Old beast is torn down.
    Will update later.

    900 watt (1500VA) UPS
    27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H

  6. #6
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Somewhere on Long Island
    I have a 750 Watter with a single 60 Amp rail.. I'm good to go.... But from what I've read, the GTX 280 only uses 25 watts in windows. It throttles down.. and from the look of GPU-Z, it does...

  7. #7
    Member -Blue-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Spain
    nothing less than 40 amps i've read so far
    Case: Mozart TX
    CPU: i7 920 @ 3.8 (200x19)
    MB: P6T-Deluxe V2
    RAM: 3 x 2 Gb Corsair Dominator 1600
    GPU: Asus ENG GTX 280
    Cooling:TRUE
    PSU: NOX Pulsar 750W


  8. #8
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Coast USA
    Even though it says a 550 watt PSU is the minimum, be a bit leary if this is what you have. I'll give an example. I got the 280 a few days ago. I had an Antec 550 watt Neo HE power supply. I figured that would be enough as it ran my previous 8800 GTX just fine. Well it was not the case with the 280. When playing games, after a short period (usually 5-10 minutes or so), the vid card would simply drop out of the system. Monitor would go into standby and vid card fan would stop spinning completely (and no, the card was not overheating). Everything else would continue running except the vid card. I could reboot and the vid card would come back online and everything would be fine until I tried to play a game again. I knew it had to be either the PSU or the vid card was bad. I then bought a Corsair TX750w PSU. Hooked it up and haven't had this problem since. So word of warning, all PSU's and wattages are not necessarily equal. Make sure you do indeed have enough juice for this puppy. I would say forget the minimum and give yourself some cushion. These comments are from a real world experience.

    BTW, the reason I chose the Corsair was it had a single 60 amp 12v rail. This made me very happy as I no longer had to think about which rail was hooked up to what and I'm pretty impressed with it.
    Last edited by Mike89; 07-26-08 at 12:07 PM.
    I7 3770K @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 (2x8) Gigs Corsair DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23", X-Fi Extreme Gamer Pro, Crucial M500 120 GB SSD, WD 2 TB Black HDD, WD 1TB Black HDD, WD 2 TB Black HDD (eSata), 2 DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64

  9. #9
    theELVISCERATOR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Michiana
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    zero pwr issues here with my Corsair 650TX
    Intel 4790k @ 4.6hz on air
    Corsair Vengence Pro 2400mhz 2x8GB
    MSI Z97 GAMER 7 bios 1.6

    EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1342/3628 SLI
    Boot /Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
    Storage/ 2x 640GB WDAAK Raid 0
    Antec 1200/Corsair 750 HX / Win 8.1 64bit
    Yamakasi 30" IPS 2560x1600



  10. #10
    Member JonSimonzi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Providence, RI
    I have an OCZ 600w with 72amp spread out across 4x 12v rails. My only concern is that it only has the 2x 6 pin connectors, not a 6 pin and 8 pin that the GTX280 requires.
    Gigabyte Sniper M3 - i7 2700K - Corsair H80
    Asus GTX780 DCII - Dell U2712HM & Dell U2212HM
    16GB G.Skill Sniper - 256GB Crucial M4 - 3TB Hitachi 7K3000
    Silverstone ST65F-G - Silverstone SG10
    Heatware

  11. #11
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Coast USA
    You can get a simple 6 pin to 8 pin adapter. The extra two pins are just grounds.
    I7 3770K @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 (2x8) Gigs Corsair DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23", X-Fi Extreme Gamer Pro, Crucial M500 120 GB SSD, WD 2 TB Black HDD, WD 1TB Black HDD, WD 2 TB Black HDD (eSata), 2 DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64

  12. #12
    Member JonSimonzi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Providence, RI
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike89 View Post
    You can get a simple 6 pin to 8 pin adapter. The extra two pins are just grounds.
    Well the EVGA one I'm looking at comes with an 8 pin converter that converts 2x 6 pins to an 8, then a 6 pin converter that converts 2x standar molex connectors into a 6 pin. That's at least what the picture looks like...
    Gigabyte Sniper M3 - i7 2700K - Corsair H80
    Asus GTX780 DCII - Dell U2712HM & Dell U2212HM
    16GB G.Skill Sniper - 256GB Crucial M4 - 3TB Hitachi 7K3000
    Silverstone ST65F-G - Silverstone SG10
    Heatware

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Hi guys long time reader, first post

    Iv had my gigabyte gtx280 for 3 weeks and killed 2 power supply's
    1st one was my old Atrix 650w rated @ 37amp (dead in 1 week)
    2nd was a cheap titan 850w rated @ 40amp (dead in less than 2 weeks)

    both have dead mosfets and died with out warning, im guessing the card was drawing to much power from the psu and cooked the mosfets ????

    So Choose your power supply carefully

  14. #14
    Member Surfrider77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Abroad...
    To the OP: I have the PCP&C 750w Silencer and it runs it just fine. I am going to throw in a spare 8800GTS 512M card I have lying around for the Physics add-in. I am sure it will run both with ease.

    The EVGA 280GTX card I purchased came with a 2x6pin to 8pin adapter.
    Corsair 600T
    ASUS Z77 V-Pro
    Intel 3770K 4.5GHz - 1.20vCore
    16GB G.Skill @ 2400MHz
    Two EVGA 670 in SLI
    - P14.6k 3DM'11 -
    180GB Intel 520 SSD
    Corsair AX850 Power Supply
    5x2TB RAID5 Storage - Synology DS1010+ NAS

  15. #15
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by thsmoker View Post
    Hi guys long time reader, first post

    Iv had my gigabyte gtx280 for 3 weeks and killed 2 power supply's
    1st one was my old Atrix 650w rated @ 37amp (dead in 1 week)
    2nd was a cheap titan 850w rated @ 40amp (dead in less than 2 weeks)

    both have dead mosfets and died with out warning, im guessing the card was drawing to much power from the psu and cooked the mosfets ????

    So Choose your power supply carefully
    As a long time reader you should know better than to use a '650 watt' PSU with only 37 amps on the 12v - that's only 444 watts, and the '850' with a 40 amp 12v rail is only 480 watts

    Hopefully they didn't take anything else out with them!

    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Crucial MX100 512GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache
    MSI GTX 970 4GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - Crucial MX100 256GB, 2xWD Green 1TB
    Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Heatware Profile
    PC&C 510SLI. running 2 weeks. so far no problems.
    ___________________________________________
    2560x1600

  17. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
    As a long time reader you should know better than to use a '650 watt' PSU with only 37 amps on the 12v - that's only 444 watts, and the '850' with a 40 amp 12v rail is only 480 watts

    Hopefully they didn't take anything else out with them!

    Yeah i knew the 650w would'nt keep up i thought it would of lasted a bit longer though, as for the 850w i got ripped off as it was, doomed from the start, but thats another story

  18. #18
    Member RedSkull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    neither here nor there
    http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

    this little free calculator is cool, i was surprised how much oc'ing my quad core upped my wattage.

    not sure if those stock system usage numbers posted are valid for most of us

    Abit IP35-E, Q6600@3.6, 4GB Crucial PC2-6400 , EVGA GTX 480sc (810/1610/2030) Auzen X-Fi Prelude
    Raptor 150, WD 500GBx2, Asus DRW1814, Corsair HX620W
    Sony FW900 :) Samsung 206BW :(

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •