Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30
  1. #1
    Member jokers_greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario
    Posts
    2,564

    Using a second power supply WITHOUT connecting to mobo

    I need to do a test run of my WC loop, without using the power supply in my computer. I have a 400W kicking around, and I thought to myself, why not use that? I don't know how to get it running without connecting it to the motherboard. The stickies have links that are about connecting two power supplies to one motherboard.
    Primary
    3570k @4.6 turbo, P8Z77-V PRO ,
    6970 , Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB 1600
    Vertex 4 120GB, 1x 250GB Seagate
    LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4167B
    ,
    HX 850W , NZXT Switch 810

    My OLD WC Project Log
    My Heat

  2. #2
    Team 32 Folding Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Crack the Skye
    Posts
    3,564
    Quote Originally Posted by jokers_greg View Post
    I need to do a test run of my WC loop, without using the power supply in my computer. I have a 400W kicking around, and I thought to myself, why not use that? I don't know how to get it running without connecting it to the motherboard. The stickies have links that are about connecting two power supplies to one motherboard.
    Easy peasy! Jumper together the Green and Black on the 20/4 Pin connection. This can easily be done with a paper clip or any other kind of conductive wire.
    Project Quick Bench
    i7 920 - P6T Deluxe V2 - 6gb XMS3 1600 - 2x GTX 460 1GB in SLI - Corsair AX 850
    HRT Music Streamer Pro > Rockhopper Beta 22 > HiFiMAN HE-500 / Sennheiser HD650
    Heatware

  3. #3
    Member Hitbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Winter Park, FL
    Posts
    328
    Quote Originally Posted by WonderingSoul View Post
    This can easily be done with a paper clip or any other kind of conductive wire.
    Wont that kill him dead?
    Windows 7 64-bit
    EVGA 750i FTW.......Silverstone KL02B-W
    E8400 @ 4.0 (9*450)....4x1GB DDR1066
    Sapphire 4870.......500GB + 200GB HDD

    Add Newegg search to your Firefox!

  4. #4
    Team 32 Folding Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Crack the Skye
    Posts
    3,564
    Quote Originally Posted by Hitbox View Post
    Wont that kill him dead?
    If you do it with the power on....
    Project Quick Bench
    i7 920 - P6T Deluxe V2 - 6gb XMS3 1600 - 2x GTX 460 1GB in SLI - Corsair AX 850
    HRT Music Streamer Pro > Rockhopper Beta 22 > HiFiMAN HE-500 / Sennheiser HD650
    Heatware

  5. #5
    Member Hitbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Winter Park, FL
    Posts
    328
    Well the point is to try and get the power on. PSU's don't just turn on when you plug them in, obviously.

    OP (and now I) want to know how to turn on the PSU without hooking it up to a motherboard, correct?
    Windows 7 64-bit
    EVGA 750i FTW.......Silverstone KL02B-W
    E8400 @ 4.0 (9*450)....4x1GB DDR1066
    Sapphire 4870.......500GB + 200GB HDD

    Add Newegg search to your Firefox!

  6. #6
    Team 32 Folding Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Crack the Skye
    Posts
    3,564
    Quote Originally Posted by Hitbox View Post
    Well the point is to try and get the power on. PSU's don't just turn on when you plug them in, obviously.

    OP (and now I) want to know how to turn on the PSU without hooking it up to a motherboard, correct?
    You jumper the PSU then use the back power switch to on/off the power... Following me?
    Project Quick Bench
    i7 920 - P6T Deluxe V2 - 6gb XMS3 1600 - 2x GTX 460 1GB in SLI - Corsair AX 850
    HRT Music Streamer Pro > Rockhopper Beta 22 > HiFiMAN HE-500 / Sennheiser HD650
    Heatware

  7. #7
    Member Hitbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Winter Park, FL
    Posts
    328
    I get that, but you did say while it was on...

    Quote Originally Posted by WonderingSoul View Post
    If you do it with the power on....
    And to turn a computer on/off, the two mobo pins make a contact, but they don't stay contacted or else it does nothing (ie, holding the power button for 10 minutes).

    Does that same concept not apply to the PSU?
    Windows 7 64-bit
    EVGA 750i FTW.......Silverstone KL02B-W
    E8400 @ 4.0 (9*450)....4x1GB DDR1066
    Sapphire 4870.......500GB + 200GB HDD

    Add Newegg search to your Firefox!

  8. #8
    Team 32 Folding Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Crack the Skye
    Posts
    3,564
    Quote Originally Posted by Hitbox View Post
    I get that, but you did say while it was on...



    And to turn a computer on/off, the two mobo pins make a contact, but they don't stay contacted or else it does nothing (ie, holding the power button for 10 minutes).

    Does that same concept not apply to the PSU?
    I did not say do it while the power was on.

    It's not like that. A computer power switch is a "jumper" to engage the power on and stay on.

    I don't see why this is so hard to understand here... Jumper the unit together via Green to Black, and control the unit on and off with the back power switch.
    Project Quick Bench
    i7 920 - P6T Deluxe V2 - 6gb XMS3 1600 - 2x GTX 460 1GB in SLI - Corsair AX 850
    HRT Music Streamer Pro > Rockhopper Beta 22 > HiFiMAN HE-500 / Sennheiser HD650
    Heatware

  9. #9
    Member Hitbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Winter Park, FL
    Posts
    328
    What if it doesn't have a rear switch?
    Windows 7 64-bit
    EVGA 750i FTW.......Silverstone KL02B-W
    E8400 @ 4.0 (9*450)....4x1GB DDR1066
    Sapphire 4870.......500GB + 200GB HDD

    Add Newegg search to your Firefox!

  10. #10
    Member iamcanadian7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    341
    Then you most likely have an older P/S, using the plug from the wall will act the same as a switch. Plug it in for "on" and unplug it for "off".

  11. #11
    Member Roofles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brew City
    Posts
    1,279
    Quote Originally Posted by Hitbox View Post
    Wont that kill him dead?
    No it won't. The explanation you want is this: The Green Wire is a signal wire, not a power supply wire. The switch on the case is called a momentary switch, all it does is connect this wire to ground. This tells the PSU to turn ON. So all he is doing is replacing the switch on the case with a paperclip. Shorting the +12V rail would be a bad idea, as it will probably fry a paperclip, but it won't kill you.
    Q6600 - 3.42 (380x9) 1.48V : IP35 Pro : 2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC
    New GTX275 OC to come : HP w2207
    X-Fi Platinum (Op Amp modded) : Audio Technica A500's
    Tuniq Tower 120 : Antec P182
    Running: Windows 7 RC and Fedora 10 (PREEMPT_RT)

    "If science is the dispassionate pursuit of objective truth, then it stands to reason that mad science is the completely irrational pursuit of a nutty project that the rest of the world will never completely understand." -Popular Mechanics

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,385
    Quote Originally Posted by WonderingSoul View Post
    I did not say do it while the power was on.

    It's not like that. A computer power switch is a "jumper" to engage the power on and stay on.

    I don't see why this is so hard to understand here... Jumper the unit together via Green to Black, and control the unit on and off with the back power switch.
    I don't mean to be offensive, but your explanation isn't that clear previously. Perhaps that's my because I'm young.

    Let me rephrase and you tell me if I'm wrong.

    When the green and black pins are connected, it will stay on. Therefore, insert the jumper and use the back switch to turn it off/on.

    I basically rephrased "You jumper the PSU then use the back power switch to on/off the power... Following me?" but I added the jumper part.

  13. #13
    Member
    chop_wood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    329
    heheh.. i love to use the paperclip (even if i have a psu tester handy), and then pretend im getting electricuted infront of an unsuspecting client.
    I7 4770k @4.5| Asrock Z87 Extreme6 | Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x4gb @1866 |
    120GB Samsung 840 EVO| 4TB Seagate Int+Bkp | 760AX Corsair Platinum
    EK Supreme HF Nickel | XSPC Acetal D5 Dual BayRes | Laing D5 | MCR-480qp
    Lian Li PC2000v | V-moda Crossfade LP | LG 39LB5800 39" TV | Windows 8.1 | BFL Single @ 60GH/S

    HEATWARE

  14. #14
    Member jokers_greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario
    Posts
    2,564
    why is everyone so confused. From what I've read, (in one wonderingsoul post)+common sense, is that you need to follow these steps:

    1)make sure the PSU you're trying to use is unplugged
    2)connect the black and green pins on the atx connector with a wire
    3)turn on the PSU or plug in the power cord (if you have no switch)

    what is everyone asking about? lol
    Primary
    3570k @4.6 turbo, P8Z77-V PRO ,
    6970 , Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB 1600
    Vertex 4 120GB, 1x 250GB Seagate
    LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4167B
    ,
    HX 850W , NZXT Switch 810

    My OLD WC Project Log
    My Heat

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,385
    That is way clearer than any of the above post...

  16. #16
    Likes Popcorn petteyg359's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,679
    AFAIK, and from experience, you won't electrocute yourself by holding a paperclip to the green/black to turn it on. I've done this several times, with several power supplies, with my bare hand and a paperclip, and never been electrocuted. The green wire does not supply power, and the black wire is just a ground. If you're afraid of being electrocuted still, then just hold the paperclip with a clothespin or something. All you need is a momentary contact (while the power supply is plugged in and switched on) to start it. Stick the paperclip back in for 5 seconds or so and it will turn off. Just make very sure to only hit green and black or you're likely to fry something.
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
    Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
    Folding User Stats

  17. #17
    Member Hitbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Winter Park, FL
    Posts
    328
    Quote Originally Posted by petteyg359 View Post
    All you need is a momentary contact (while the power supply is plugged in and switched on) to start it. Stick the paperclip back in for 5 seconds or so and it will turn off.
    THATS what I was looking for! So keeping the paper clip in it will be like holding the power button down! OKAY! So it's no different then touching a screw driver to the motherboard connectors! Thanks Petty, that clears it up for me.
    Windows 7 64-bit
    EVGA 750i FTW.......Silverstone KL02B-W
    E8400 @ 4.0 (9*450)....4x1GB DDR1066
    Sapphire 4870.......500GB + 200GB HDD

    Add Newegg search to your Firefox!

  18. #18
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,371
    You have to leave the "short" in to keep the PSU on, it isn't a momentary switch...

    If you short green to ground, the PSU will turn on. If you remove that short, it will turn off. This is NOT like the motherboard power switch.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    los angeles, ca
    Posts
    307
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    You have to leave the "short" in to keep the PSU on, it isn't a momentary switch...

    If you short green to ground, the PSU will turn on. If you remove that short, it will turn off. This is NOT like the motherboard power switch.
    that's exactly right. and here's a picture of how to jumper the connectors:

    http://www.hardocp.com/image.html?im...lfMl81X2wuanBn

    and believe me, there is no way to electrocute yourself while doing this. The PSU can be plugged in, the back power switch can be on, it doesn't matter. the connectors are sensors and do not carry any electric load.
    Opteron 170 2.8ghz 1.49v (280x10) ---------> Xeon x3220 (G0) 3.83ghz 1.55v (425x9)
    OCZ 520W SLI Powerstream ------------------> Corsair TX 750W
    DFI NF4 UT SLI-DR with FX60 Test Bios ------> Asus P5K-Deluxe/WiFi-AP
    Geil PLatinum Series PC4000 512x2 MB -----> G.skill DDR2-1066 2GBx4 (8 gigs baby)
    2.5-4-3-7 with 9/10 divider --------------------> 5-5-5-15 with 8:10 divider
    eVGA 7800 GT (490 gpu/1250 mem) ---------> Sapphire 4870x2 (777/980)
    4x80 GB Hitachi Deathstar SATA Raid --------> 2x750GB Hitachi Deskstar Raid 0
    Koolance Exos Water Cooling System -------> Koolance Exos2 Water Cooling System

  20. #20
    Member zer0nix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    399
    forgive me if this is off topic but how the hell do you 'fry' a paper clip? what happens? does it melt or break in two -or does something far more mysterious happen?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •