Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley

    Using a radiator to stop condensation

    Hi guys,
    If I cooled the water temperature down to 4 Celcius and put a triple radiator inside the case with three 120 mm fans, would I need to worry about condensation?

    My thoughts are that the radiator would cool down the inner temperature of the case to 6-7 C and thus prevent condensation. Additionally, I would put a dehumidifier into the case. Has anyone tried out something like this??
    Last edited by freak11; 08-05-08 at 01:32 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator #666
    WarriorII's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Moderating
    You might spend a bit doing a search for "Water Chillers".

    There should be a lot of information you can draw from there.


    WII
    To Honor Those who went before their time.
    God Bless them all
    Fight the Fight worth Fighting
    FOLD for Team 32
    IS THERE A CURE AMONG US?

    Black Belt Overclocker MyHeatware under WarriorII

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley
    Quote Originally Posted by WarriorII View Post
    You might spend a bit doing a search for "Water Chillers".

    There should be a lot of information you can draw from there.


    WII
    did it but nobody suggested what i did.

  4. #4
    That would actually cause every square inch of your case to become wet, not a good idea. Either insulate your tubes with neoprene, or make the case airtight and fill it with something like nitrogen.
    Mobo: XFX 680i LT
    CPU: Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.8 ghz
    Cooling: Apogee GT + MCW60
    RAM: OCZ SLI Ready 6400 @ 1000mhz 2 x 1gb
    Vid: 2x EVGA 8800GTS 512 (g92) @ 812/1035/2020
    Case: NZXT Lexa Black
    PSU: Ultra Xfinity 600W
    3dMark06:18356 marks

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley
    Quote Originally Posted by Diddyu View Post
    That would actually cause every square inch of your case to become wet, not a good idea. Either insulate your tubes with neoprene, or make the case airtight and fill it with something like nitrogen.

    hmm that sounds very interesting. Are u sure that Nitrogen will stop condensation? Has anyone tried this out?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=64405

    On this thread someone used a complete airtight case and he never worried about condensation. That must be a cool thing to do. He didnt fill it with nitrogen thought. He just closed the case and started to cool it down. A radiator inside cooled down the inner temp to -2C. you could use a danger den acrylic case, seal it and do the same thing.

    I also found this one http://echografika.com/joomla/index....d=48&Itemid=27

    A vacuum box keeping the inside totally dry.
    Last edited by freak11; 08-05-08 at 09:44 AM.

  7. #7
    Senior Benchmark Addict
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    That setup is badass I gotta admit.

    However insulating only takes a half hour at worst. I'd consider that to be the easier route by far.
    El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway

  8. #8
    Member NoL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Also, that person can't open his setup until it reaches ambient or it'll all ice up.
    Nitrogen will work, because it doesnt contain water to condensate and ice up, but creating a sealed box is a nightmare.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley
    Quote Originally Posted by NoL View Post
    Also, that person can't open his setup until it reaches ambient or it'll all ice up.
    Nitrogen will work, because it doesnt contain water to condensate and ice up, but creating a sealed box is a nightmare.
    but dont u still have to seal ur box when u put nitrogen in it?? it may mix with the air and reach equilibrium at some point...

  10. #10
    Member NoL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    If you have a cylinder, you can keep it up and hold the pressure in there at 1psi or so.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley
    Quote Originally Posted by NoL View Post
    If you have a cylinder, you can keep it up and hold the pressure in there at 1psi or so.
    hi nol,
    athmospheric pressure is about 14psi. DO i need to reduce that pressure to 1 psi in order to keep the nitrogen in the cylinder? how does that work??

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sillicon Valley
    Quote Originally Posted by NoL View Post
    If you have a cylinder, you can keep it up and hold the pressure in there at 1psi or so.
    does the gas have to be nitrogen? are there any other forms of gas that one can use such as argon?

  13. #13
    any pure gas will work, even dry air will work.

    You should still attempt to seal the case as much as possible. Adding a pure gas into the box only ensures that humid air doesn't bleed in. If you happen to have a tank of O2 (prolly not something you'd want to keep around the house), Nitrogen, Argon, Helium, etc, you set it up to bleed a tiny amount of gas into the case, it'll keep the inside of the case pure and moisture-free. If you have a large tank, you can probably last about 3-5 weeks on a constant slow bleed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •