Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    60

    Gaming in Server 2008 64-bit

    I'm running Server 2008 64-bit on my box. I followed the win2008 workstation guides to get a few things working, and holy crap I just love it. No Aero, no bull, no junk running in the background. All video games I care about (Oblivion, Crysis, Bioshock, HL, SimCity Destinations, WiC) -- all run fun.

    So, my question to you is, do you think Server 2008 64-bit is the ultimate gaming OS today?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,989
    Is this it? Is it a new OS and do you get better frames than vista? I would love to maybe try it out.
    NZXT Tempest Case
    Intel DP67BG Mobo with Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7ghz
    12GB DDR3 1333
    128 Crucial M4 SSD
    750gb Samsung Spinpoint Sata Hard Drive
    750gb Western Digital Sata Hard Drive
    2x 2TB Samsung F3 Hard Drives
    2x R9 290 In Crossfire
    27" 2560x1440 Shimian Monitor plus 2x 21.5" AOC e2243fw 1080p
    Logitech G15 Keyboard
    Logitech G5 Mouse
    HEAT

  3. #3
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    864
    What's its captivity?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    127
    i havent DL-ed it yet to play around ( technet, not a hack or anything)

    i have been playing around with various server OS's for my media server at home, and so far have just used home server and server2k3.

    i really like home server. it has alot of nice features, but i guess if i used 2k3, i could get teh same features, just the headache of actually configuring it all.

    i dont think i could ever run a server OS on my main rig.

    how is driver support so far??

    able to use XP or win2k drivers for GPUs, raid and what not?
    ***************HEATWARE***************
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Main Rig~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    ~DFI LP UT P45-T2RS~Intel Q6600 - SLACR Stepping~2X Visiontek ATI 4870 in CF~TT 1KW PSU~OCZ Reaper PC2 6400 4x1gig~Danger Den TDX, BIP, DD12V-D5~

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    60
    It's the same as Vista SP1, just much, much faster for a variety of reasons. I see no reason not to run it, so long as you have a way to get it.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,989
    I might try a dual boot with it if theres an increase of fps in games
    NZXT Tempest Case
    Intel DP67BG Mobo with Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7ghz
    12GB DDR3 1333
    128 Crucial M4 SSD
    750gb Samsung Spinpoint Sata Hard Drive
    750gb Western Digital Sata Hard Drive
    2x 2TB Samsung F3 Hard Drives
    2x R9 290 In Crossfire
    27" 2560x1440 Shimian Monitor plus 2x 21.5" AOC e2243fw 1080p
    Logitech G15 Keyboard
    Logitech G5 Mouse
    HEAT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •