Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Member Dapman02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Overland Park, KS
    Posts
    2,259

    Internal USB thumb Drive

    Alright, here's one for you guys. I want to plug a usb thumb drive internally so I can back up my games and not have to worry about losing them because of a reformat (which seems to happen about once a month ). Is there a way to do this cleanly
    Desktop: Return of Deneb
    Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
    Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
    GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
    Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
    Case: CM Storm Enforcer
    RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
    HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
    OS: Windows 7 64-bit
    Christian Overclocker

  2. #2
    Member EmAn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ft. Hood Texas
    Posts
    2,507
    You might be able to if you have a USB Pci card
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Asus P5Q-PRO E8400 4050mhz
    Tuniq Tower 120 Crossfire Diamond HD4850's 512mb a piece
    2x2 GB OCZ DDR2 1066 Platinum OCZ GameXStream 600W

    SPC in the US ARMY working on AH-64D Appache Longbow Attack Helicopters
    Yes I work on a $47,000,000 computer that has two jet engines attached to it A LOT of spinning parts and of course... Rockets, GUNS, and Missiles

  3. #3
    Member Dapman02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Overland Park, KS
    Posts
    2,259
    What I was hoping to do is plug it into the USB port on my motherboard if possible.
    Desktop: Return of Deneb
    Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
    Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
    GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
    Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
    Case: CM Storm Enforcer
    RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
    HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
    OS: Windows 7 64-bit
    Christian Overclocker

  4. #4
    Member VinnyTAMU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    BCS, Texas
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by Dapman02 View Post
    What I was hoping to do is plug it into the USB port on my motherboard if possible.
    Take a look at this: LINK

  5. #5
    Member CGR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lower NY
    Posts
    5,641
    WHy waste the money? Just plug it into one of your rear usb ports. You can either leave it plugged in or unplug it when your done backing up.
    Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
    DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
    G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
    HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
    WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
    OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI


  6. #6
    Member VinnyTAMU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    BCS, Texas
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by CGR View Post
    WHy waste the money? Just plug it into one of your rear usb ports. You can either leave it plugged in or unplug it when your done backing up.
    Or you could buy a cheap 3ft male to female usb cord and run it into your case via an open case slot.

  7. #7
    Member CGR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lower NY
    Posts
    5,641
    Quote Originally Posted by VinnyTAMU View Post
    Or you could buy a cheap 3ft male to female usb cord and run it into your case via an open case slot.
    Again, why do that? Unless all the usb ports are currently used, front and back.
    Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
    DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
    G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
    HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
    WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
    OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI


  8. #8
    Member VinnyTAMU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    BCS, Texas
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by CGR View Post
    Again, why do that? Unless all the usb ports are currently used, front and back.
    He probably doesn't want anything (more than currently sticks out) sticking out the back of his case.

  9. #9
    gangaskan's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Lorain, ohio
    Posts
    3,135
    why not just buy a 2nd hard drive? wouldn't that be just as easy?
    Main Rig: [Silverstone TJ06 painted hammer black] [Intel E6550 3.2 ghz 1.35v ] [4 gigs Gskil] [Asus P5k Premium Wifi/ap] [Soundblaster Audiguy ZS platinum] [ATI 3560 pro] [enhiem 1250 pump, Swiftech Storm, primoflex tubing, mcres micro, maze 4 gpu block][ Windows Vista x64 Ultimate sp1]
    HTPC: [LianLI V300B] [Opty 165 1.88 ghz] [Thermalright XP90] [2 gb OCZ Platinum DDR400] [Soundblaster X-FI Xtreme Music] [8600GT Stock] [Windows Vista Home Premium sp1]
    Server: [Rocketfish Tower] [c2d E6600][Scythe Ninja Jr] [4 gigs Gskil ddr2 800][ATI X850XT ] [Windows Vista B]
    Network: Cisco 851W uptime: forever
    Heatware

  10. #10
    Member Dapman02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Overland Park, KS
    Posts
    2,259
    And you all call yourselve's modder's why do we do half of what we do to our computers.
    I just want to start a project, also I want this to be as secure as possible, and seeing as windows won't install on a flash drive, than there isn't as big of a chance that I'll over write it.
    Also, usb drives on the outside, can still fall off and be lost/broken.
    Desktop: Return of Deneb
    Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
    Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
    GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
    Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
    Case: CM Storm Enforcer
    RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
    HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
    OS: Windows 7 64-bit
    Christian Overclocker

  11. #11
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by VinnyTAMU View Post
    Take a look at this: LINK
    OMG!!! i visit that site often and didnt know they had that. i was tring to find something like that. that way i could get the wireless nic and transmitter for the mouse in the case instead of on the back usb ports. here i was starting to think i would need to make my own since i found nothing. man o man! thanks for the link Vinny!

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  12. #12
    Member Dapman02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Overland Park, KS
    Posts
    2,259
    Quote Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
    OMG!!! i visit that site often and didnt know they had that. i was tring to find something like that. that way i could get the wireless nic and transmitter for the mouse in the case instead of on the back usb ports. here i was starting to think i would need to make my own since i found nothing. man o man! thanks for the link Vinny!
    0_o
    That sound's awsome, I might have to do that too
    Desktop: Return of Deneb
    Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
    Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
    GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
    Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
    Case: CM Storm Enforcer
    RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
    HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
    OS: Windows 7 64-bit
    Christian Overclocker

  13. #13
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    Heatware Profile
    yea dap i was thinking about that,a while back, when i started to ponder a "Atom" farm for seti. using the internal USB headers to house the Wireless nic and the Thumb drive that would have linux on it. that way i didnt have to worry about thing on the back getting broken.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  14. #14
    theELVISCERATOR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Michiana
    Posts
    3,222
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
    OMG!!! i visit that site often and didnt know they had that. i was tring to find something like that. that way i could get the wireless nic and transmitter for the mouse in the case instead of on the back usb ports. here i was starting to think i would need to make my own since i found nothing. man o man! thanks for the link Vinny!
    If you have a steel case I don't know how well it will transmit through steel however..

    ever drive under a bridge and have the radio cut out?
    Intel 2600k @4.5ghz Megahalem/Corsair SP120 Pull
    Gskill Sniper 8gb DDR3-2133cas8 @ 1866
    MSI P67A-GD65 BIOS 2.4
    EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1342/3628 SLI
    Xfi Fatality Pro Sound
    Boot /Adata SX900 256gb SSD
    Storage/ 2x 640GB WDAAK Raid 0
    Antec 1200/Corsair 750 TX PSU / Win7 Pro 64bit
    Yamakasi 30" IPS 2560x1600



  15. #15
    Member Dapman02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Overland Park, KS
    Posts
    2,259
    Quote Originally Posted by theELVISCERATOR View Post
    If you have a steel case I don't know how well it will transmit through steel however..

    ever drive under a bridge and have the radio cut out?
    A bridge is just a lil' bigger than my case
    Desktop: Return of Deneb
    Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
    Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
    GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
    Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
    Case: CM Storm Enforcer
    RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
    HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
    OS: Windows 7 64-bit
    Christian Overclocker

  16. #16
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    Heatware Profile
    well there is way more steel in a bridge then the case. im using some cheap case with some thin steel so it shouldnt be to bad.. either way my usb wireless nic is attached to a long USB cable so i can get good signal.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  17. #17

    Member
    jiggamanjb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    MI, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by VinnyTAMU View Post
    Take a look at this: LINK
    Man, that think is slick! I didn't know they made those either!

    FYI, I think you can get a USB 2.0 PCI card on ebay for about that price also.
    MAIN: Biostar H61MGC / i3 - 2120 Sandy / Team Elite 8GB DDR3 1333 / 300GB V-Raptor / OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
    SAPPHIRE AMD Radeon HD 6870 / Case: Modded CM 690 / Logitech Z-640 5.1 w/ Onboard Audio / Westy 22in Widescreen / Emprex 22" Widescreen for static viewing

    HTPC/SERVER/ETC: Biostar H77MU3 / Core i3-3220T / CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 / PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 400W 80 PLUS Bronze
    G.SKILL Phoenix Pro 60GB SSD ( OS ) + WD 20EARS 2TB 64MB Cache ( Video, Music, Pictures ) + 500GB Hitachi ( TV recordings ) / Custom Rosewill CHALLENGER
    (2) AVerMedia AVerTVHD Duet - PCTV Tuner / HP Media Remote / Antennacraft Colorstar C490

    Everything you need to know about Power Supplies and buying a new one ___ Heatware ___Retired Case: Modded Full Tower

  18. #18
    Member ou_phidelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rockingham, NC
    Posts
    3,402
    Quote Originally Posted by VinnyTAMU View Post
    Take a look at this: LINK
    I may have to try one of those with my bluetooth dongle.

  19. #19
    Member corruption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Posts
    422
    Just be sure that if you reformat, you do NOT format the USB stick. It is very easy to do if you're not paying attention and are trying to figure out why the unformatted partitions won't merge. lol
    i5-4670K- Currently Stock
    Gigabyte GA-Z787X-D3H
    8GB PC3 12800 - CORSAIR Vengeance LP 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit
    HIS Radeon R9 270X IceQ X2 Turbo 2GB - Currently Stock
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB
    Western Digital 250GB SATA - Member of RAID 5
    2x Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATA - Member of RAID 5
    Cougar 760W?
    Water cooling - MCP600, Apogee GT, MCW60, Swiftech MicroRes, BIP3

    "Don't start a fight with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

  20. #20
    theELVISCERATOR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Michiana
    Posts
    3,222
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    speaking of formatting usb thumbrives, I have a tool from HP I used to make a bootable USB driver for flashing my bios...worked quite well actually...

    Is it just windows you are not supposed to use to format a usb drive?
    Intel 2600k @4.5ghz Megahalem/Corsair SP120 Pull
    Gskill Sniper 8gb DDR3-2133cas8 @ 1866
    MSI P67A-GD65 BIOS 2.4
    EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1342/3628 SLI
    Xfi Fatality Pro Sound
    Boot /Adata SX900 256gb SSD
    Storage/ 2x 640GB WDAAK Raid 0
    Antec 1200/Corsair 750 TX PSU / Win7 Pro 64bit
    Yamakasi 30" IPS 2560x1600



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •