• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can 4.0GHz with a q6600 be achieved?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Caillech

Registered
So I've been trying for a long time now to see how far I can push my q6600. so far I've ran somewhat steady at 3.7 (I'm pretty new to overclocking).

My question though, has anybody reached a steady 4.0 or can that be done? If not I am pretty sure I can reach 3.8 safely with my setup im just not really experienced and not very good at getting the voltage and all that fun stuff correct. I'm running an asus formula rampage with a watercooled q6600.

Overall here i'm just trying to up my overclocking skills with this processor by learning from your experience so i can reach max stable performance. Thanks!

I was able to get to windows and get HW monitor, and cpuz open just in time for it to crash, after that it failed to post on all other attempts. im just running at a stock 2.4 right now until I can figure out how to stabilize at at least 3.8

hmm..

what cpu multiplier are u using..what voltage and what is the ram set to in the bios

Some of the earlier GO's could do 4.0 daily stable. Those are Golden chips, but really your chances of getting a new oneto 4.0 with out extreme cooling is pretty slim. You may be able to do a suicide run, but that's about it.

Some of the earlier GO's could do 4.0 daily stable. Those are Golden chips, but really your chances of getting a new oneto 4.0 with out extreme cooling is pretty slim. You may be able to do a suicide run, but that's about it.

My chip is somewhat older GO model. I don't necessary have to settle for 4.0 or even 3.8 I'm just looking for numbers to achieve the highest overclock this processor is capable of with a high end cooler.