Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member cabose1227's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California 805 ftw
    Posts
    1,985

    Question Bios flash with external hard drive?

    I don't have a floppy drive and I need to flash a ip35-e bios, I have a external hard drive and I would like to know if that would work. also could it be done with a cd? thanks.
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    New Rig : D, thanks to all the people in the classifieds hooking it up with the good parts!
    Silverstone FT03 Titanium
    ASUS Maximus V Gene
    Intel i5 3570k @4.8 ghz/ s1283
    ATI HD 5970
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 2x8 1600
    Antec 650W 80 plus Platinum
    OCZ Vertex 4 120gb
    WD Re4 500gig
    WD Veloci Raptor 300gb
    HEAT : caboose1227

  2. #2
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    what you want to do is burn rom file to the cd then use the "alt-f2" when it starts to boot up. this will then load the built in flash util, now keep in mind this util is looking for a set name for the rom file. do the alt f2 method first to get the name of the file then burn the rom file to it. im not sure why i didnt see your thread earlier, hope this helps!
    Last edited by Evilsizer; 09-16-08 at 06:49 PM.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  3. #3
    Member cabose1227's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California 805 ftw
    Posts
    1,985
    Thanks, i will try that as soon as I sum up the courage.
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    New Rig : D, thanks to all the people in the classifieds hooking it up with the good parts!
    Silverstone FT03 Titanium
    ASUS Maximus V Gene
    Intel i5 3570k @4.8 ghz/ s1283
    ATI HD 5970
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 2x8 1600
    Antec 650W 80 plus Platinum
    OCZ Vertex 4 120gb
    WD Re4 500gig
    WD Veloci Raptor 300gb
    HEAT : caboose1227

  4. #4
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    its not that hard to do, i did it on the IP35-E board and did it when IP35-pro needed bios 16 for the 45nm dually.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  5. #5
    Member cabose1227's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California 805 ftw
    Posts
    1,985
    so whats rom file?
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    New Rig : D, thanks to all the people in the classifieds hooking it up with the good parts!
    Silverstone FT03 Titanium
    ASUS Maximus V Gene
    Intel i5 3570k @4.8 ghz/ s1283
    ATI HD 5970
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 2x8 1600
    Antec 650W 80 plus Platinum
    OCZ Vertex 4 120gb
    WD Re4 500gig
    WD Veloci Raptor 300gb
    HEAT : caboose1227

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    deeppow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    2,187
    Quote Originally Posted by cabose1227 View Post
    so whats rom file?
    It is the bios file, the extension on the file will be .rom so that the file will be something like filename.rom
    ASUS Maximus Hero VI , Intel i7 4770K @4.5Ghz
    -- GSkill DDR3 2400 (2*4Gb) 9-11-11-31
    --
    Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    --
    EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    --
    Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Sumsung 840Pro 512G
    --
    Corsair 1050 in Lian-Li PC-V1200
    --
    Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit

  7. #7
    Member cabose1227's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California 805 ftw
    Posts
    1,985
    Quote Originally Posted by deeppow View Post
    It is the bios file, the extension on the file will be .rom so that the file will be something like filename.rom
    Thank you, i think I will try this tonight.
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    New Rig : D, thanks to all the people in the classifieds hooking it up with the good parts!
    Silverstone FT03 Titanium
    ASUS Maximus V Gene
    Intel i5 3570k @4.8 ghz/ s1283
    ATI HD 5970
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 2x8 1600
    Antec 650W 80 plus Platinum
    OCZ Vertex 4 120gb
    WD Re4 500gig
    WD Veloci Raptor 300gb
    HEAT : caboose1227

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    50
    Just curous, but does the motheboard come with a winflashing utility? Dont most Asus, Abit, and such have winflashing utilities? Im not sure of Intel boards because I hardly ever use them.

  9. #9
    Member cabose1227's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California 805 ftw
    Posts
    1,985
    flashing in windows is not the best idea, a random bsod could kill the mobo.
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
    New Rig : D, thanks to all the people in the classifieds hooking it up with the good parts!
    Silverstone FT03 Titanium
    ASUS Maximus V Gene
    Intel i5 3570k @4.8 ghz/ s1283
    ATI HD 5970
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 2x8 1600
    Antec 650W 80 plus Platinum
    OCZ Vertex 4 120gb
    WD Re4 500gig
    WD Veloci Raptor 300gb
    HEAT : caboose1227

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    deeppow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    2,187
    Quote Originally Posted by cabose1227 View Post
    flashing in windows is not the best idea
    Ditto.

    Win flashes can go bad. I know, I had one. An RMA will cost ya 3-4 weeks.
    ASUS Maximus Hero VI , Intel i7 4770K @4.5Ghz
    -- GSkill DDR3 2400 (2*4Gb) 9-11-11-31
    --
    Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    --
    EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    --
    Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Sumsung 840Pro 512G
    --
    Corsair 1050 in Lian-Li PC-V1200
    --
    Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    50
    I know they are not the best idea. It's just a suggestion. The few I have done have worked out pretty well but didnt have the dos utility.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    deeppow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    2,187
    I had about half dozen good flash but then ..... You roll the dice you take your chances. It is an easy process, no doubt about that.

    The easiest safest way is to put the bios file on a thumb drive, boot into the bios, and then use the "Asus EZ Flash 2" utility. But you need a thumb drive.
    ASUS Maximus Hero VI , Intel i7 4770K @4.5Ghz
    -- GSkill DDR3 2400 (2*4Gb) 9-11-11-31
    --
    Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    --
    EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    --
    Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Sumsung 840Pro 512G
    --
    Corsair 1050 in Lian-Li PC-V1200
    --
    Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •