Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sonoma, CA
    Posts
    68

    What is your HTPC set-up? Single client? Server? Monitor(s)? Keyboard? etc...

    So I'm curious, what is your set-up for HTPC use? Not necessarily what stats on the machine(s), but what is your overall set-up?


    Right now, I have a since client/server (has a 500gig HDD for OS and storage) next to a 32" LCD, no monitor, no keyboard, and just a microsoft remote. I use my laptop (where I do all of my surfing and work) to remote access into the HTPC to do whatever I have to). I have a server in my closet (wired connection to the router which the HTPC is hooked up to as well), it has no monitor/TV/keyboard or anything, I also just remote access into that and manage my legal downloading. My idea was to use the server to rip and convert DVD's with AutoGK, but as of now I haven't done that.

    I'd love to run a HD projector for either xbox 360 or when I'm watching a movie.


    What about ya'll? Whats worked out best?

  2. #2
    Member smokie mcpott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    2,529
    56" Samsung DLP
    no keyboard, no mouse, just use my Logitech Harmony 550 to control it. if something gets messed up, i vnc into it from my computer. my dvds are all stored on my 3.2TB + openfiler nas box and streamed via the network...unfortunately where my HTPC sits there is no way to get ethernet to it so i am using a very nice cisco wireless card (antenna has about an 8 foot cord on it so I can mount it high and its almost in range of sight to my access point.

  3. #3
    Folding/SETI/Rosetta Team Member benbaked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    4,480
    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=499215

    I mostly use my PS3 for watching disc-based movies, and a PC connected to my TV for watching downloadable-content. There is nothing special about the PC, other then it has a HDTV tuner that I don't use. With a Conroe-L at 3.2 GHz it is whisper quiet.
    Last edited by benbaked; 10-09-08 at 01:02 AM.
    HEATWARE (22-0) | Folding/SETI/Rosetta (crunching BOINC as the ben.World.order)

    ASUS Maximus Hero VI | i7-4770K | EVGA 680GTX FTW | G-Skill Trident X 2x8GB DDR3 | Crucial M500 480GB
    ASUS Maximus Formula SE | QX6700 | Gigabyte 4350 | OCZ Gold 2x4GB DDR2 | Intel X25-M 80GB
    PS4 | Wii U | Xbox 360 (Zephyr) w/ WD3200BEVT 320GB | PS3 CECHG01 w/ WD1600BEVT 160GB


    The Chronicles of OCF Rosetta

    StaTek is my hero.

    R.I.P. Adak, OldSkool, pscout

  4. #4
    Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior Wicked Klown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    5,506
    My HTPC sits in my computer room hooked to my 61" DLP and Rx-v463 via 30' DVI/HDMI and 30' Toslink cable. HTPC set up is a Q6600, 2gigs ram with a 500gig for movies and a 200disc DVD changer. I also use this for gaming so I have a MS Bluetooth Elite keyboard and mouse.
    Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

    HEAT

    "Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus

  5. #5
    Member Mu||et's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    103
    61" Samsung LED DLP with HTPC in sig which runs smooth and quiet. Click HTPC in sig for pic.

  6. #6
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Posts
    8,159
    Currently using a
    intel DX33TL or something mobo (mATX)
    E2180 stock
    2x2GB Gskill DDR8000 (goign to drop it too 667 4-4-4 ram when i get around to it)
    80GB OS drive with 320GB Storage drive and 80GB stargate SG-1 drive (full)
    HD2600 pro PCIe
    VistaU 32bit
    Cheap 20 dollar remote from newegg for VMC
    LC-20 HTPC case
    2x92 panaflo fans and 2x80 masscool fans for ventilation
    Antec TPII 550W

    Considering swapping it out with my quad core phenom system, and now that I am home my almost full 750GB hdd is going to be put in there as well.

    MY gaming PC has a BT Microsoft media desktop also, and it is awesome, I would love to use it on the HTPC, but with kids in the house there is no way it is going downstairs
    All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
    10 types of people understand binary.
    Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
    Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

  7. #7
    Just Another Retired Moderator Jon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Lawrenceville, GA
    Posts
    6,884
    Client/Server for me (5 clients).

  8. #8
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    HTPC in sig is hooked to the samsung 52inch LCD, and the yamaha RX-V661 reciever. It has a keyboard and mouse that are used on occasion, but overall it is controlled via an ATI remote wonder plus with mediaportal front end. The htpc has an ATI tv wonder tv tuner but i have yet to set it up.

    Music is stored on my main rig in a shared folder, as well as on my servers hd (none of the content is stored on the HTPC's hd atm) mainly my htpc is used as a dvd player and super good upscaler and music player when im not sitting at my main rig but am working upstairs. Pics of setup in the "52inches of crysis link below"
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  9. #9
    Member Sir Barton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Fort Pontchartrain du Dtroit
    Posts
    1,648
    No true HTPC here so to say. Just a couple of 1TB hard drives in my desktop rig that stream full DVD backups to a couple of softmodded Xboxes . One hooked to a 32" LCDTV and one to a 30" widescreen tube HDTV. The Xbox upconverts quite nicely to 720p/1080i.

    main system: Antec P180 | Asus P8Z68V-Pro | i5 2500k (stock) | 8GB HyperX 1600 | Sparkle 560Ti | 120GB HyperX (Wintendo) | 60GB Vertex (Debian)
    laptop: Dell Inspiron 11z | Pentium SU4100 | 4GB Crucial 667 | 30GB Vertex
    2nd system: Antec P180 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | E5200 (stock) | 4GB G. Skill 800 | eVGA 9500GT | 60GB Vertex (Mint Debian)
    server: Chenbro SR10769 | Supermicro X7DWE | 2x Xeon L5420 | 8GB Kingston FB 667 | 4x 500GB WD Black RAID 10 | 4x Hitachi 7K300.C | Debian 6
    media clients: 4x Apple TV 2 | 2x XIOS DS | 3x Squeezebox Duet

  10. #10
    Super Shark Moderator
    LandShark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
    Posts
    8,073
    Server/Client here. and is currently in the process of complete redo.

    a WHS box to serve as media server (and backup whole house PCs) in the basement.

    in living room, 52" Samsung DLP, a HTPC which also serve as PVR server (running BeyondTV), Harmony 880 remote.

    in bedroom, a 42" LCD, a thin barebone HTPC client, Harmony 520.

    in basement dedicated home theater, a Epson 1080UB projector onto a 100" screen, a thin HTPC client, but powerful enough to play backed up full quality Bluray movies, Harmony 1000 (which also remote control the HT lighting and PS3).

    EDIT: when I'm all done with the re-do of my house's media distribution/HTPCs, I might do a full write up for it.....

    all runs on MeediOS front end and BeyondTV as PVR.
    Last edited by LandShark; 10-27-08 at 08:19 PM.
    ~~~ Currently Inactive Mode ~~~

    Got SOLD? MOVE your own thread!


    Folding User Stats
    How many GHz of Intel + Nvidia folding power? Dunno! Lost count!

    | F@H Vista Sidebar gadget | F@H Yahoo Widget | F@H iGoogle gadget |

    | My Heatware | My New HTPC 3.0: Server/Client setup + Better energy efficiency |

  11. #11
    Mr.Guvernment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes
    Posts
    14,854
    HTPC hooked up to a Sony Bravia 37" , keyboard and mouse wired sitting on tv stand.

    ,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
    ,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
    ,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,



  12. #12
    Member stang8118's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Philly, PA
    Posts
    2,334
    Quote Originally Posted by LandShark View Post
    Server/Client here. and is currently in the process of complete redo.

    a WHS box to serve as media server (and backup whole house PCs) in the basement.

    in living room, 52" Samsung DLP, a HTPC which also serve as PVR server (running BeyondTV), Harmony 880 remote.

    in bedroom, a 42" LCD, a thin barebone HTPC client, Harmony 520.

    in basement dedicated home theater, a Epson 1080UB projector onto a 100" screen, a thin HTPC client, but powerful enough to play backed up full quality Bluray movies, Harmony 1000 (which also remote control the HT lighting and PS3).

    all runs on MeediOS front end and BeyondTV as PVR.
    Wow! What do you do for a living to afford all of that? lol
    Intel i5 4570 - Asus Z87C - G Skill 2x4gb
    Corsair 750w Modular - Antec 300 - ATI HD7850OC

    Retired 3dmark Captain
    Heatware 110-0-0

  13. #13
    Mr.Guvernment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes
    Posts
    14,854
    if he tells you, they will have to kill you

    ,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
    ,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
    ,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,



  14. #14
    Super Shark Moderator
    LandShark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
    Posts
    8,073
    Quote Originally Posted by stang8118 View Post
    Wow! What do you do for a living to afford all of that? lol
    moderating the forum.

    you forgot you all have to typed in your c/c info when you register the forum?? lol........
    ~~~ Currently Inactive Mode ~~~

    Got SOLD? MOVE your own thread!


    Folding User Stats
    How many GHz of Intel + Nvidia folding power? Dunno! Lost count!

    | F@H Vista Sidebar gadget | F@H Yahoo Widget | F@H iGoogle gadget |

    | My Heatware | My New HTPC 3.0: Server/Client setup + Better energy efficiency |

  15. #15
    Member Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Fussa Japan
    Posts
    1,302
    I think I missed the entire point of an HTPC.

    I'm running a Quad Core Q6600 with 3gigs of DDR2 and a 1TB media drive tucked under my counter as my server.

    I'm running TVersity and streaming the media to my XBox360, which plays the movies/media through my 720p projector.

    Am I doing it wrong?
    Athlon 2000+ @ 1.9 147/147
    ECS K7S5A
    256 MB TwinMOS DDR PC2100
    ATI Radeon 9000 128 MB (Saphire)
    40 Gig Western Digital
    Atapi CDRW
    Atapi DVD ROM 16x
    Stock HS and Fan
    Watercooled- Maze 3 Lucite,Dtek 200GPH Pump/Res, Black Ice Micro

    "So, please, flush any 100% across-the-board crap out of your heads and let's look at this anew.

    You Were Wrong, Wrong, Wrong; The Radeon Rules!"
    - Overclockers.com

  16. #16
    Member Sir Barton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Fort Pontchartrain du Dtroit
    Posts
    1,648
    Quote Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
    I think I missed the entire point of an HTPC.

    I'm running a Quad Core Q6600 with 3gigs of DDR2 and a 1TB media drive tucked under my counter as my server.

    I'm running TVersity and streaming the media to my XBox360, which plays the movies/media through my 720p projector.

    Am I doing it wrong?
    Youre all good Wraith. I do the same thing as you, but with classic Xboxes

    main system: Antec P180 | Asus P8Z68V-Pro | i5 2500k (stock) | 8GB HyperX 1600 | Sparkle 560Ti | 120GB HyperX (Wintendo) | 60GB Vertex (Debian)
    laptop: Dell Inspiron 11z | Pentium SU4100 | 4GB Crucial 667 | 30GB Vertex
    2nd system: Antec P180 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | E5200 (stock) | 4GB G. Skill 800 | eVGA 9500GT | 60GB Vertex (Mint Debian)
    server: Chenbro SR10769 | Supermicro X7DWE | 2x Xeon L5420 | 8GB Kingston FB 667 | 4x 500GB WD Black RAID 10 | 4x Hitachi 7K300.C | Debian 6
    media clients: 4x Apple TV 2 | 2x XIOS DS | 3x Squeezebox Duet

  17. #17
    Member Drew@PSU's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Running from the infected
    Posts
    582
    Mines running with BTV and a FireFly remote. It's hooked up to a Westinghouse 42" TV as the monitor, no keyboard, but a USB mouse is usually hooked up to it. If there is something that requires a keyboard, VNC saves the day. It also holds my media of various sorts and acts as a print server.
    .........CPU|Mobo|Vid|Mem|Monitor|PSU|HDD
    Main: 920 D0|Rampage II Extreme|XFX 5870|6GB Corsair|Random Widescreen|Corsair HX750|160GB X25 - 3.6 24/7 - 4.1 POST-able, needs work
    HTPC: X2 4400+|A8N-SLI|7800GT|2GB Value|Westy 1080p 42" :D|HX 520
    Laptop
    : Inspiron 13
    HEAT Project Infection Project Cataclysm
    Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country - JFK

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •