Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004

    Having troube getting over 4ghz.

    Im having a heck of a time getting stable over 4.0ghz with a e8400/p5q-deluxe and a Thermalright ultra 120(non-extreme). My load temps are about 8C different between cores but the hot core never goes over 54C. Im running 1.3125V on the cpu. Ram is 1:1 with fsb which is 445x9. Any ideas how i can get over the 4ghz barrier?
    Asus P5Q-D
    E8400@4.0ghz
    4gb ddr2-800
    400gb WD HD
    500gb Seagate
    2xVisiontek HD4850 @ 690/1123- 19k 3DMK06
    Corsair hx620 psu
    20x DVD-RW
    2x yate loons 120mm high speed
    2x tricool 120mm
    tricool 140mm
    Antec 300 Case

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Washington State
    Being a noob myself I'd say you need to bump up the vcore, but nothing over 1.45.

    Hopefully someone will chime in with more exact ideas.

  3. #3
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Heatware Profile
    Raise the Northbridge a bit. Do you have a C0 or E0 chip? If C0, you may need a bit more voltage. If E0, probably just need some more NB voltage.

    Also be sure to have your VDimm @ the correct volts (the board will auto it to 1.8v).
    Asus P8P67
    Intel i7-2600k @ 4.9ghz
    GSkill Ripjaws 8gb 1600mhz c8
    EVGA GTX780 ACX 1228//1650
    OCZ Agility 2 240gb, Corsair Force 3 180gb, (2)WD 1tb Black
    HAF 932w/ Corsair HX750
    Heat

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    What is a good voltage to set NB at. I have it at 1.4 right now...The reason for this thread is that I took a break from intel to try phenom...and well...that didnt work out so well lol. But I couldnt ever find a set voltage limit, i heard MANY different things for the e8400 and i dont want to fry my chip in 3 months.
    Asus P5Q-D
    E8400@4.0ghz
    4gb ddr2-800
    400gb WD HD
    500gb Seagate
    2xVisiontek HD4850 @ 690/1123- 19k 3DMK06
    Corsair hx620 psu
    20x DVD-RW
    2x yate loons 120mm high speed
    2x tricool 120mm
    tricool 140mm
    Antec 300 Case

  5. #5
    Member prime81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    NB Volts should be 1.35ish on the p5q

    i7 2700K@4.8ghz w 1.36v(offset +.045)
    Corsair XMS 3 2 x 4gb 2000mhz CAS 9
    Corsair H100
    Sapphire HD7970 3gb
    OCZ Agility 3 240gb
    Antec 1200 Case
    SB recon3D/Sennheiser HD595s
    Zalman 850HP Powa!

    -Folding for Team32-

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    so that would be the max i should have to use?
    Asus P5Q-D
    E8400@4.0ghz
    4gb ddr2-800
    400gb WD HD
    500gb Seagate
    2xVisiontek HD4850 @ 690/1123- 19k 3DMK06
    Corsair hx620 psu
    20x DVD-RW
    2x yate loons 120mm high speed
    2x tricool 120mm
    tricool 140mm
    Antec 300 Case

  7. #7
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Heatware Profile
    I said something in another thread about lowering it, didtn realize when I posted earlier you are already at 1.4v NB.

    Thats a bit high, so its probably not the NB causing you issues. Do you have a C0 or E0 chip? I lowered my voltages and dropped my overclock a bit. It took me .05 extra just to hit 100 mhz more (512x8 @ 1.38, running 445x9 @ 1.33 now) with my C0 chip. 512 FSB I was using 1.34v for the NB, 445 FSB im using 1.3.

    Maximum voltage Intel specifies is 1.368 I believe for these chips. Beyond that it degrades, however little proof is out there showing that 1.4-1.45v SERIOUSLY degrades the chip. Above 1.45v is generally trouble.

    Did you set the Ram voltage? That may be part of the problem if its defaulting to 1.8v. Just up the Vcore on that and go for it. I havent gotten stable past 4.25 ghz and it took me over 1.4v to get there, so I dont run it 24/7.
    Asus P8P67
    Intel i7-2600k @ 4.9ghz
    GSkill Ripjaws 8gb 1600mhz c8
    EVGA GTX780 ACX 1228//1650
    OCZ Agility 2 240gb, Corsair Force 3 180gb, (2)WD 1tb Black
    HAF 932w/ Corsair HX750
    Heat

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    rams at 2.1v which i know it will do at least 950 at that voltage which im running at 930 something right now as i just got it to do 4.2ghz, but it took 1.375 to do it. Im gonna have to reseat my hsf because i got one core getting a bit toasty running sp2004.
    Asus P5Q-D
    E8400@4.0ghz
    4gb ddr2-800
    400gb WD HD
    500gb Seagate
    2xVisiontek HD4850 @ 690/1123- 19k 3DMK06
    Corsair hx620 psu
    20x DVD-RW
    2x yate loons 120mm high speed
    2x tricool 120mm
    tricool 140mm
    Antec 300 Case

  9. #9
    Load temps being 8C different between cores is bad temp readings...what are you using to check temps? Try RealTemp or CoreTemp for more accuracy.

  10. #10
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by don'tknow View Post
    Load temps being 8C different between cores is bad temp readings
    Not necessarily, I've had CPU's read quite different temperatures.

    OP: This is the second P5Q-Deluxe that I've owned. Both were able to do 580fsb with everything on stock volts (except the CPU; everything on air). Try this, drop your multi to 6 and raise the FSB; is it stable? If so, you need more vCore to run it faster than 4ghz.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    thanks thideras, that really clears a lot of things up for me. Lol i had no idea what to do on this board, there are too many things set to auto.

    EDIT: Did what you said thideras, and i could get to 480 or so before my ram tryed to poop out, so now it looks like i need a ram upgrade.
    Last edited by LMFRY; 10-10-08 at 09:07 AM.
    Asus P5Q-D
    E8400@4.0ghz
    4gb ddr2-800
    400gb WD HD
    500gb Seagate
    2xVisiontek HD4850 @ 690/1123- 19k 3DMK06
    Corsair hx620 psu
    20x DVD-RW
    2x yate loons 120mm high speed
    2x tricool 120mm
    tricool 140mm
    Antec 300 Case

  12. #12
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by LMFRY View Post
    thanks thideras, that really clears a lot of things up for me. Lol i had no idea what to do on this board, there are too many things set to auto.

    EDIT: Did what you said thideras, and i could get to 480 or so before my ram tryed to poop out, so now it looks like i need a ram upgrade.
    There you go!

    What ram do you have, just curious?
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    im running 2x2gb ocz upgrade edition. Any suggestions on some good ram? I def want to get more than 4ghz out of it cause my 3dmark06 went up about 1500 points going from 4 to 4.2ghz. LOL i want to break 20k, right now at 19335.
    Asus P5Q-D
    E8400@4.0ghz
    4gb ddr2-800
    400gb WD HD
    500gb Seagate
    2xVisiontek HD4850 @ 690/1123- 19k 3DMK06
    Corsair hx620 psu
    20x DVD-RW
    2x yate loons 120mm high speed
    2x tricool 120mm
    tricool 140mm
    Antec 300 Case

  14. #14
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by LMFRY View Post
    im running 2x2gb ocz upgrade edition. Any suggestions on some good ram? I def want to get more than 4ghz out of it cause my 3dmark06 went up about 1500 points going from 4 to 4.2ghz. LOL i want to break 20k, right now at 19335.
    I have owned 4 sets (2 sets now) of the Gskill 1000mhz 2x2gb kit. Can't say anything bad about them
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    I may have to pick some of that up. How high will they run?
    Asus P5Q-D
    E8400@4.0ghz
    4gb ddr2-800
    400gb WD HD
    500gb Seagate
    2xVisiontek HD4850 @ 690/1123- 19k 3DMK06
    Corsair hx620 psu
    20x DVD-RW
    2x yate loons 120mm high speed
    2x tricool 120mm
    tricool 140mm
    Antec 300 Case

  16. #16
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by LMFRY View Post
    I may have to pick some of that up. How high will they run?
    Never really ran them over stock, but they should do 1066 fairly easy. That would mean you are limited to 533 fsb
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Will definately have to try it. I had g.skill on my last c2d system and it was really good stuff.
    Asus P5Q-D
    E8400@4.0ghz
    4gb ddr2-800
    400gb WD HD
    500gb Seagate
    2xVisiontek HD4850 @ 690/1123- 19k 3DMK06
    Corsair hx620 psu
    20x DVD-RW
    2x yate loons 120mm high speed
    2x tricool 120mm
    tricool 140mm
    Antec 300 Case

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •