Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered Doogiehowser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Prussia
    Posts
    99

    Upgrading 4870 512 to 1gb questions

    I currently have a 1.5 month old HIS 4870 512 and a 24" monitor w/1900x1200 res. I would like to get the 1gb version for better gameplay at 1900x1200. I know that i could run CF with the 512 and 1gb version just fine. My question is if i wanted to sell/trade my 512mb version, what would be the best means of doing this? And what brand name 4870 1gb should i go with? Id much rather sell or trade since i can gather the remaining money pretty easily w/o stressing my budget. Any suggestions would be fantastic. Thank you ahead of time.
    Rig: q9550 @ 3.825ghz 1.26v, P5E Deluxe w/ 0410 RF Bios, Corsair Dominator pc8500 @ 1081mhz, TRUE, XFX 4890 (RIP sapphire 4870), Auzen Forte + JVC HA-RX900 cans, WD 6400AAKS SE16, Corsair TX750w, Antec 900, Win 7 RC 64bit

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    327
    I suggest you wait until you find a game other than crysis that gives you trouble at that res. By then, prices will have come down. The 1gb card does offer a little better performance at high res, but we're only talking a few frames a second, like 1 or 2, at 19x12. It's probably a waste of money and time to switch out cards. I'd just wait a bit, and add a second 4870 for CF when you can budget it.
    i7 920 @4.5ghz -----------------------Q6600@3.6ghz
    x58 sli le-------------------------------Tpower i45
    6gb ocz plat 1600 cas7 ----------------4gb pc2 6400
    2X 4870s (800\1100)-------------------8800gt
    Antec Signature Series 850W---------Toughpower 650W

  3. #3
    Member th3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    600
    The 1gb card does offer a little better performance at high res, but we're only talking a few frames a second, like 1 or 2, at 19x12.
    Its not only about framerates, the 1GB will be smoother, or as OP said, "better gameplay".

    One example in this link, found it somewhere in this forum:
    http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/articl...VudGh1c2lhc3Q=

    the 1GB video card did actually help us in another way, a way which we cannot exactly show you here, only try to explain to you.
    ....
    with the 1GB 4870 these pauses didn’t occur at all, there were smoother transitions through the Stalker world as we would walk or run through it. When we entered new areas, new buildings, or new tasks loaded it was seamless, just the way we’d expect it to be, and thus in that way it helps the gameplay experience positively. It should also be noted the GTX 260 was also smoother in this way, because it too has a large memory capacity.

  4. #4
    Member vixro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    2,788
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by mattgmann View Post
    I suggest you wait until you find a game other than crysis that gives you trouble at that res. By then, prices will have come down. The 1gb card does offer a little better performance at high res, but we're only talking a few frames a second, like 1 or 2, at 19x12. It's probably a waste of money and time to switch out cards. I'd just wait a bit, and add a second 4870 for CF when you can budget it.
    Closer to 10+ in some games.

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-at...024mb-review/8

    But in MOST games, the difference is hardly noticable. It can be made up just overclocking the 512MB version. The 1GB version is a really crappy overclocker so I say stick with what you have and just OC it.


    As for the smoothness argument, that's always been subjective to the user.
    Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
    G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
    ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
    Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
    Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
    - Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
    Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
    heatware

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    433
    Quote Originally Posted by vixro View Post
    The 1GB version is a really crappy overclocker.
    Not really...just the memory OCs poorly unless you volt mod...the core does just fine. The core speed has much more influence on performance than the memory so it isn't a big deal. For $30 difference get the extra memory if you are buying a 4870. +1 on keeping the 512 mb version and OCing it if you already have one.
    3770K@4.4ghz/ASUS P8Z77 V PRO/CM 212 PLUS/16GB CORSAIR VENEGENCE 1600/SAPPHIRE HD7950(x2)@1150/1500/SAMSUNG 840 120GB/SAMSUNG 1TB/CORSAIR 700W/CM 310/ 27" AND 19" LCDs/WIN7 PRO
    Q6600@3.4ghz/GA-P35-DS3L/TT120/2x2gb G.Skill PC6400/ EVGA 285 GTX 1gb/150gb Raptor/PCP&P 610 Silencer/Antec 900/19" LCD/WIN 7 pro and XP Pro 32
    Q9450@3.6ghz/GA-EP45-DS3R/Artic Freezer Pro 7/2x2gb Kinston HyperX PC8500/WD CV Black 500gb/MSI 250GTS 512mb/SB Audigy SE/Lian Li/ Hyper 580w/Acer X191X 19"w/XP Pro 32

    "Sometimes I wonder if the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it." ~ Mark Twain

  6. #6
    Member vixro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    2,788
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Craxbax View Post
    Not really...just the memory OCs poorly unless you volt mod...the core does just fine. The core speed has much more influence on performance than the memory so it isn't a big deal. For $30 difference get the extra memory if you are buying a 4870. +1 on keeping the 512 mb version and OCing it if you already have one.
    I can't get more than 800 out of my core.
    Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
    G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
    ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
    Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
    Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
    - Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
    Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
    heatware

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    433
    That sucks! Just a few thoughts...have you remounted your cooler with new TIM such as AS... or even replaced it with an after market one? Also try leaving the memory at stock and just OC the core. The stock cooler may not be cooling the VRM adequately. You could also put some heatsinks on VRM? Obviously that would entail installing a new cooler. OF course maybe your chip is limited...all are not created equal.
    3770K@4.4ghz/ASUS P8Z77 V PRO/CM 212 PLUS/16GB CORSAIR VENEGENCE 1600/SAPPHIRE HD7950(x2)@1150/1500/SAMSUNG 840 120GB/SAMSUNG 1TB/CORSAIR 700W/CM 310/ 27" AND 19" LCDs/WIN7 PRO
    Q6600@3.4ghz/GA-P35-DS3L/TT120/2x2gb G.Skill PC6400/ EVGA 285 GTX 1gb/150gb Raptor/PCP&P 610 Silencer/Antec 900/19" LCD/WIN 7 pro and XP Pro 32
    Q9450@3.6ghz/GA-EP45-DS3R/Artic Freezer Pro 7/2x2gb Kinston HyperX PC8500/WD CV Black 500gb/MSI 250GTS 512mb/SB Audigy SE/Lian Li/ Hyper 580w/Acer X191X 19"w/XP Pro 32

    "Sometimes I wonder if the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it." ~ Mark Twain

  8. #8
    Member vixro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    2,788
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Craxbax View Post
    That sucks! Just a few thoughts...have you remounted your cooler with new TIM such as AS... or even replaced it with an after market one? Also try leaving the memory at stock and just OC the core. The stock cooler may not be cooling the VRM adequately. You could also put some heatsinks on VRM? Obviously that would entail installing a new cooler. OF course maybe your chip is limited...all are not created equal.
    yes yes yes yes. My card just sucks [for OCing].

    That being said, it runs pretty f'in stellar at stock and I don't dread the upgrade at all. I was just saying if you already had a 4870 512MB the upgrade didn't make sense to me.
    Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
    G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
    ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
    Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
    Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
    - Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
    Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
    heatware

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    433
    Agreed. My guess is your GPU needs more volts to go higher. If you are happy then fooling with the bios or volt modding doesn't make much sense. The thread on that subject was pretty impressive on what the 4800 series is cable of.

    I just now received my replacement Powercolor HD 4870 PCS+ 1gb so we will see how it goes. The last one wouldn't even boot into XP 32. Hope this one works as advertised.
    3770K@4.4ghz/ASUS P8Z77 V PRO/CM 212 PLUS/16GB CORSAIR VENEGENCE 1600/SAPPHIRE HD7950(x2)@1150/1500/SAMSUNG 840 120GB/SAMSUNG 1TB/CORSAIR 700W/CM 310/ 27" AND 19" LCDs/WIN7 PRO
    Q6600@3.4ghz/GA-P35-DS3L/TT120/2x2gb G.Skill PC6400/ EVGA 285 GTX 1gb/150gb Raptor/PCP&P 610 Silencer/Antec 900/19" LCD/WIN 7 pro and XP Pro 32
    Q9450@3.6ghz/GA-EP45-DS3R/Artic Freezer Pro 7/2x2gb Kinston HyperX PC8500/WD CV Black 500gb/MSI 250GTS 512mb/SB Audigy SE/Lian Li/ Hyper 580w/Acer X191X 19"w/XP Pro 32

    "Sometimes I wonder if the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it." ~ Mark Twain

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •