Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    82

    Heavy tearing and color bleed on Radeon 4850

    Hey guys. Any insight you can give into this would be wonderful.

    Bought two 4850's, installed them, and noticed some issues. Everything seems to blur ever so slightly while moving (more so than another computer with a much lesser card), edges are distorted and shake when I move in games, and if I shift left or right while next to certain light/dark sources, I see a vertical intermitent line across my screen flash just to the side of where the source was.

    I am using an ASUS P5Q motherboard, 8500 dual core, and 4 GB of OCZ ram. All my drivers are up to date, I am using V sync (which helped immensly but did not resolve the problem,) and have tried both cards seperately and in crossfire. In all cases the blur and distortion remains. Changing to narrow tent/ wide tent has also had no effect (or a negative one).

    Is there any other possible solution, other than the cards simply not working on my system? I'm at the point where I might "rent" an Nvidia card from best buy to check if it works properly. It is a crying shame if I have to use the nvidia card, since crossfire was the whole reasons I went with my ASUS board instead of an Nvidia sli capable one. Thanks for the help, and pardon the spelling errors- haven't had time to install office yet!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    361
    Have you turned on vertical sync? Without it, images are prone to tearing.

    Klag

  3. #3
    Member Gwiggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    402
    Quote Originally Posted by bz2klag View Post
    Have you turned on vertical sync? Without it, images are prone to tearing.

    Klag
    He says that he has V-Sync turned on and this still happens
    -=-Gaming Rig-=-
    Rampage III Extreme -- EK Full Mobo Waterblock
    i7 960 @ 4.2Ghz -- EK Supreme HF
    Corsair Dominator GT 2000Mhz 8-8-8-24
    2x GTX 460 768mb @ 925core, 2200mem -- EK Waterblocks
    XSPC RX360 + RX240 rad

    My Heat Ware

  4. #4
    Member ObiWong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Markham, ON
    Posts
    203
    have you tried uninstalling your drivers completely and using CC Cleaner to make sure everything is gone and installing them again?
    are you overclocking? make sure you set the pcie frequency to 100MHz in your BIOS
    P5K-E | E8400 @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-U12P | 4GB Corsair Dominators
    BFG GTX280 OC | ViewSonic 22" Widescreen
    X-Fi Xtreme Gamer | Logitech X-230
    OCZ Vertex 60GB | WD Black 640GB x2
    Corsair TX750W | NZXT Lexa Classic
    Logitech G15 (rev2) | Razer Diamondback 3G

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    82
    I'll give doing a driver clean a shot, since I have installed a number of versions.

    I am not overclocking at all at the moment. Should I still change my PCIE frequencies? The only other things I can think of might be my RAM ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227280 ) which I simply put in the appropriate slot and have done nothing else with since it seemed to be working alright.

  6. #6
    Member ObiWong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Markham, ON
    Posts
    203
    Quote Originally Posted by Arklite View Post
    I'll give doing a driver clean a shot, since I have installed a number of versions.

    I am not overclocking at all at the moment. Should I still change my PCIE frequencies? The only other things I can think of might be my RAM ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227280 ) which I simply put in the appropriate slot and have done nothing else with since it seemed to be working alright.
    no, if you haven't touched your BIOS it's probably sitting at 100MHz
    woudln't hurt to check but clean install your drivers first to see if that helps before worrying about anything like that

    if clean install drivers doesn't work looks like it might be a problem with your mobo
    but you won't really know that for sure until you can test with another vid card
    P5K-E | E8400 @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-U12P | 4GB Corsair Dominators
    BFG GTX280 OC | ViewSonic 22" Widescreen
    X-Fi Xtreme Gamer | Logitech X-230
    OCZ Vertex 60GB | WD Black 640GB x2
    Corsair TX750W | NZXT Lexa Classic
    Logitech G15 (rev2) | Razer Diamondback 3G

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    82
    Well, after testing both cards after a fresh driver wipe and a 9800GTX to boot...

    I still have the same problem.

    So the question is then, if it isn't the videocard, what is it? How should I go about testing what the culprit is? Thanks for the help guys.

  8. #8
    xtkxhom3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    San Antonio,TX
    Posts
    3,463
    why are you using a 9800 to boot?

    all you have to do is uninstall ccc restart in safemode and use driver sweeper for vista or driver cleaner for xp

    then boot back normally and install ccc
    [2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
    [MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
    [x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
    [x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

    Laptop Service Manuals

    Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!

  9. #9
    Great Scot! Member sandyduff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!
    Posts
    2,706
    hes using a 9800gtx to see if it was the 4850's at fault... and since the problem hasn't gone away... something else in the system is faulty...
    i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
    MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
    8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
    MSI 7990 Liquid Cooled
    850w Akasa Venom
    1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
    Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

    "we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by sandyduff View Post
    hes using a 9800gtx to see if it was the 4850's at fault... and since the problem hasn't gone away... something else in the system is faulty...
    Exactly. Using the term "in addition to" might have been less confusing. Just ran a memtest and found no exception- the plot thickens. It is a new system with very little installed on it as of yet- would formatting my hard drives and reinstalling windows be a worthwhile action?

  11. #11
    Great Scot! Member sandyduff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!
    Posts
    2,706
    can't do any harm... might as well do simple things like that to see if it helps... if not, you might have to start swapping out components to pin point the problem...
    i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
    MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
    8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
    MSI 7990 Liquid Cooled
    850w Akasa Venom
    1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
    Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

    "we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    82
    After a fresh install, the issue still persists with only having installed the minimum to get things done (display adaptors and direct x, basically.) Since it does not seem to be video card related, I'll bring this on over to general hardware. Thanks for the help!

  13. #13
    Member Shell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CYYZ Pearson
    Posts
    2,141
    Tearing AND Color Bleed... have you tried different monitors?

    It's extraordinarily rare to have the graphics card have bother those symptoms... but I have had LCD and CRTs have that problem when it had trouble making sense of a video signal.

    What monitor?

    Also, try a different cable, if DVI, try VGA.
    FX-6300@4.5GHz, 7770, 2x4GB DDR3-1600 CL8, PCP&C 400w, 2x1TB
    i5-4690K@4.5GHz, 7850, 2x4GB DDR3-2400 CL10, Seasonic G-550, 2x1TB

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    82
    Tearing and color bleed was about the best way I could describe it. Basically, when I move left or right in an FPS game or some such, a blur occurs in the direction I moved it. So let us say I am looking at a red tapestry. When I move left, a red (or sometimes just black) blur or afterimage in the left direction out from the object can be seen. And everything is sorta blurry in general while moving.

    I am really stumped as to what is wrong. I only have about a week left to return my goodies to newegg for an exchange, so pressure is getting a little high. Ill see if anyone in general hardware has a solution, if not Ill have to decide whether to send some select items back from return/exchange and hope for the best, or send em back and suck up the loss from restocking.

    Edit: Holy crap. I had switched monitors around a bit and thought while I was fixing some other issues, and thought the one I was using was fine. I switched to a dinky dell 15 inch and used a different plug, and the issue appears to have vanished. I'll have my buddy take a peek and it tomorrow to verify, but I believe you might have just saved me the aggravation of taking apart my computer for the 3492th time to figure out what the problem is.
    Last edited by Arklite; 10-19-08 at 05:12 AM.

  15. #15
    Member jayfella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    a long dark tunnel.
    Posts
    911
    hang on. doesnt the p5q use the p45 chipset, and as a result, only use x8 mode in crossfire?
    CPU: Sandy Bridge 2600k @ Stock for now.
    MEM: 4x4 GB Corsair Vengance
    MOBO: Asus P8 P67 Rev3
    GPU: 2 x HD5870 1GB in Crossfire
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex3 SSD
    PSU: Antec Signature Series 850W

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    82
    Whether or not it makes a world of difference I cannot say, but at a minimum x16 appears as an option while in crossfire.

  17. #17
    Member jayfella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    a long dark tunnel.
    Posts
    911
    the x48 is the chipset that has x16 mode while in crossfire. The p45 goes in to x8 mode while in crossfire.

    Im glad you have sorted your problem, and that it is the monitor, but your cards will not be running at their full potential if i am correct..
    CPU: Sandy Bridge 2600k @ Stock for now.
    MEM: 4x4 GB Corsair Vengance
    MOBO: Asus P8 P67 Rev3
    GPU: 2 x HD5870 1GB in Crossfire
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex3 SSD
    PSU: Antec Signature Series 850W

  18. #18
    Member EmAn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ft. Hood Texas
    Posts
    2,507
    Quote Originally Posted by jayfella View Post
    hang on. doesnt the p5q use the p45 chipset, and as a result, only use x8 mode in crossfire?
    Quote Originally Posted by Arklite View Post
    Whether or not it makes a world of difference I cannot say, but at a minimum x16 appears as an option while in crossfire.
    A member here did a great review on the difference between x8-x8 and x8-x16 and x16-x16 and found out it does not really make a bit of difference with the 4850's. I myself have two 4850's and an Asus P5Q-Pro, so my setup is similar to yours. I was going to say try and switch monitors as that may be your issue, but you have tested it and it fixed the problem. What you were seeing we refer to as Ghosting.
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Asus P5Q-PRO E8400 4050mhz
    Tuniq Tower 120 Crossfire Diamond HD4850's 512mb a piece
    2x2 GB OCZ DDR2 1066 Platinum OCZ GameXStream 600W

    SPC in the US ARMY working on AH-64D Appache Longbow Attack Helicopters
    Yes I work on a $47,000,000 computer that has two jet engines attached to it A LOT of spinning parts and of course... Rockets, GUNS, and Missiles

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    82
    Yep, made some final checks and it was indeed the monitor the entire time. My frusteration at having wasted so many hours is dwarfed by the relief of having everything work right, so overall I'm a happy camper.

    Thanks a ton for all your help. With this done, I have successfully built my first computer. Woohoo!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •