• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Do I have a virus? Well, I have something...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Foxie3a

Normal Member
This first post has sort of become a log of getting rid of this virus. In fact, I've already written a few updates before there is even a second post. When I eventually figure this out, I hope it comes up in search engines for other people and it helps them.

This one is sort of interesting. If you're interesting in helping, or seeing something unique, you may want to read my post. I don't know how I got it, but I have been infected with something, that's the most I know. I've spent a good part of the day trying to figure it out. I'm not a pro at this stuff, but I very rarely get any sort of virus. I never run any firewalls or AV, I do a scan once a month or so, and it's always clean.

The Problem: Popups. Firefox mostly(default browser), but sometimes IE too(I use both). There are a ton of connections being made, despite not actually getting a popup for everything. The popups are for weird sites I've never heard of, it appears to be an advertising virus. Sometimes I just see a Firefox window open for a split second, but never fully loads. Sometimes it just unhighlights the current window that's open. Something is definitely there doing something, but I have yet to identify it!