Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 65
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    WD6400AAKS vs WD6401AALS

    I just switched from WD640AAKS x2 RAID 0 to WD6401AALS x2 RAID 0, and here are the results - AAKS vs AALS

    System specs on which I ran HD Tach 3.0.4.0 long bench 32mb test un HD Tune 2.54 default test. I run all benches using the same exact OS image

    MOBO: Asus P5K-E WIFI-AP (v.1006 bios)
    CPU: C2D E8200 (Q744A860) @4,00ghz (1,353v vcore) cooled by TT BT
    RAM: 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 @1200Mhz (PC2-6400, D9GMH)
    HDD: WD6400AAKS x 2 (RAID 0) / WD6401AALS x 2 (RAID 0)
    VGA: ASUS RADEON HD4870 (1GB) cooled by TRAD2
    SOUND: Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Xtreme Music
    PSU: Zalman ZM850-HP


    WD6400AAKS x 2 RAID 0 HD Tune 2.54



    VS

    WD6401AALS x 2 RAID 0 HD Tune 2.54



    WD6400AAKS x 2 RAID 0 HD Tach 3.0.4.0



    VS

    WD6401AALS x 2 RAID 0 HD Tach 3.0.4.0


    GENERAL REMARKS:

    Unrar(ing) large archives takes even less time. Boot time with AAKS after fresh OS install (using image created with acronis true image) was around 12,5 sec., with AALS boot time after fresh OS install (using the same image as previously) was @10,3sec. Boot time was measured with Bootvis - Trace - Next boot + drivers delays. I clearly noticed that with AALS the hdd starts spinning much earlier in the boot process than AAKS.


    StableTrac™ - The motor shaft is secured at both ends to reduce system-induced vibration and stabilize platters for accurate tracking, during read and write operations.

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Probably StableTrac is the reason why AALS is so god damn quite!!!

    Furthermore I noticed that read speed stayed unaffected, eventhough I was installing stuff at the same time and copying data from external hdd. Not sure whether its due to the bigger cache or to the new invented dual processor technology..
    Attached Images Attached Images        

  2. #2
    Thanks for the benchmarks! What I find most useful was this:

    Unrar(ing) large archives takes even less time. Boot time with AAKS after fresh OS install (using image created with acronis true image) was around 12,5 sec., with AALS boot time after fresh OS install (using the same image as previously) was @10,3sec. Boot time was measured with Bootvis - Trace - Next boot + drivers delays. I clearly noticed that with AALS the hdd starts spinning much earlier in the boot process than AAKS.
    AALS's 32mb cache and StableTrac has indeed improve performance slightly.

  3. #3
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Somewhere on Long Island
    RAID 0 all of those drives and watch your numbers come close to 500MB/s

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Results from the same setup while using the matrix raid (allocated 150gb from each hdd to one 300gb partition):

    2 x WD6401AALS in MATRIX RAID 0 (300gb) HD Tune 2.54


    2 x WD6401AALS in MATRIX RAID 0 (300gb) HD Tach 3.0.4.0
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Hiya guys. Was reading these 'ere forums and in particular this thread, and it persuaded me to buy a couple of the AALs and pop em in RAID as I was looking for something quick to load up apps.

    I would imagine my specs are a little different to most of you so I thought I'd post up what my results are with my specific specs, in case they might make a bit of an interesting read (glance).

    Sys specs are (yes I need to upgrade, waiting for the i7/amd war/price drop):

    Opteron 165 @ 4400x2 speed
    2x 1Gig DDR266 (250Mhz)
    Motherboard: 939Dual-SATA2
    WD6401AALS x 2 (RAID 0)
    8800GTS 320Mb

    And both drives are connected to SATA1, Onboard Raid Control.


    HD Tune 2.55 results:
    Transfer Rates:
    Min 111.3
    Max 145.7
    Av 135.6

    Access Time 11.6
    Burst Rate 93.6Mbs
    CPU usage 20.9%


    Ran the tests a couple of times, seems to be consistent. I know speeds are limited by both SATA1 and my cpu/ram speeds, but I have a few Qs though;

    1) Why's the burst rate so dramatically different from others on here? I mean 4000mbs vs 94?

    2) In JJ's last post, he seems to get significantly higher Min Transfer Rate. So am I right in saying that if I partition off the drive, I can expect higher min Transfer Rates in general? Sorry if that's a stupid question or anything.

    3) I assume my CPU usage of 21% vs the general 5% of others in this thread is purely down to me having a slower pc, and not any sorta tweaks or changing anything in the BIOS I mighta missed?

    4) And lastly, in HD Tune: Info - I see this:
    - "Standard ATA/ATAPI-8 - SATA II" --(I do have 1 SATAII port, tho I'm using both SATA1 ports)
    - "Suppported UDMA Mode 6 (Ultra ATA/133)
    - "Active UDMA Mode 6 (Ultra ATA/133)


    Does anyone see anything wrong there at all?

    Cheers,
    - A

  6. #6
    Member hitokiri_808's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hawaii
    Wow those access times in Matrix Raid 0 is amazing.

    I got 2 WD10EACSs sitting on my desk that's gonna go matrix in a few days. Won't have the same transfer or access times as those 640s though.

    @Para, His burst rates are high because he got write caching and advanced performance enabled on the drive in vista or write back caching enabled in intel matrix raid. Keeping it enabled is a debated topic. If you loose power you might get data corruption etc. As for your transfer being a little lower, its probably the raid controller and/or stripe size.
    Last edited by hitokiri_808; 11-30-08 at 09:34 AM.

    Abit AB9-Pro | Q6600 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | 8GB Kingston Value RAM | ATI 6870 | Seasonic M12 700W | 2x WD3000GLFS RAID 0 | 2x WD10EACS RAID 1
    Intel DG965SS | E6400 | 2x 1GB Crucial DDR2 1066 | 8x WD10EACS RAID 5 on Perc 5i | Win Server 2008
    My Heatware

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Thank you for this. Ive been waiting for this comparison.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Sorry for being a bit stupid on this matter, but your first test was RAID0 2x640 = 1280GB , so then how does the "Results from the same setup while using the matrix raid (allocated 150gb from each hdd to one 300gb partition)" work? What total space does that give you? Not familiar with using Matrix Raid.

    I thought I would want some SSD drives, but for price, I rather get two of these WD6401AALS drives or maybe two WD7501AALS since the price is only like $5 more.

    dja2k
    CASE: FRACTAL DESIGN Arc Midi High Performance Case PSU: CORSAIR Gold AX 850W MB: ASUS Z68 Maximus IV Gene-Z
    FANS: 7 x 140mm YATE LOON D14SM-12 w/ Scythe Kaze Q8 8 Channel Controller CPU: INTEL Core i5-2500K @ 4.6GHz
    HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO + 2 x 120mm YATE LOON D12SL-12 (Push\Pull) + ARCTIC COOLING MX-4 Thermal Compound
    RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) PC3-12800 @ DDR3-1600 GPU: HIS IceQ Boost Clock Radeon HD 7950 3GB @ 925/1250 Mhz
    HDD: 2 x SAMSUNG 840 PRO 128GB SDD + 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower EXT: 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower (HighPoint Dual eSATA Dock)
    DVD:
    LITEON DVDR & LITEON BD-R INPUT: LOGITECH K800 Black Illuminated Keyboard + LOGITECH Performance Mouse MX
    DISPLAY: ASUS ProArt 24" P-IPS (DP) \ PANASONIC 65" Plasma (HDMI) SOUND: OnBoard + LOGITECH G51 5.1 Speakers
    OS: WINDOWS 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center TEMPS: CPU (RealTemp @ 39C idle - 79C max), GPU (GPU-Z @ 31C idle - 65C max)

  9. #9
    Magical Leopluridon Senior MadMan007's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    in a magical field
    Heatware Profile
    There's one interesting thing when comparing the 640GB Blue vs Black drive spec .pdf's on the WD site. The whole Blue line has a bit error rate of 1 in 10^15, the 500GB and 640GB Black are stated as 1 in 10^14 while the 750GB and 1TB Black are 1 in 10^15. Meaningful difference? I don't know, but it's strange that the Black line has different bit error rates.
    There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

    "This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"

  10. #10
    Member hitokiri_808's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hawaii
    Quote Originally Posted by dja2k View Post
    I thought I would want some SSD drives, but for price, I rather get two of these WD6401AALS drives or maybe two WD7501AALS since the price is only like $5 more.
    dja2k
    I'm pretty sure those 750s are 3 platter drives, whereas the 640s are 2. Thats what makes the 640s preform better. My 2x 1TB greens are 4 platter and give me ~160MB average read and 10.4ms seek time. Thats with the first 200GB in a matrix stripe.

    Abit AB9-Pro | Q6600 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | 8GB Kingston Value RAM | ATI 6870 | Seasonic M12 700W | 2x WD3000GLFS RAID 0 | 2x WD10EACS RAID 1
    Intel DG965SS | E6400 | 2x 1GB Crucial DDR2 1066 | 8x WD10EACS RAID 5 on Perc 5i | Win Server 2008
    My Heatware

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Quote Originally Posted by hitokiri_808 View Post
    I'm pretty sure those 750s are 3 platter drives, whereas the 640s are 2. Thats what makes the 640s preform better. My 2x 1TB greens are 4 platter and give me ~160MB average read and 10.4ms seek time. Thats with the first 200GB in a matrix stripe.
    Thanks for that info. I think I am going with two WD Carviar Black 640's then. Hopefully I will see a dramatic improvement over my 90 MB\s max that I get with my current RAID0 setup.

    dja2k
    CASE: FRACTAL DESIGN Arc Midi High Performance Case PSU: CORSAIR Gold AX 850W MB: ASUS Z68 Maximus IV Gene-Z
    FANS: 7 x 140mm YATE LOON D14SM-12 w/ Scythe Kaze Q8 8 Channel Controller CPU: INTEL Core i5-2500K @ 4.6GHz
    HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO + 2 x 120mm YATE LOON D12SL-12 (Push\Pull) + ARCTIC COOLING MX-4 Thermal Compound
    RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) PC3-12800 @ DDR3-1600 GPU: HIS IceQ Boost Clock Radeon HD 7950 3GB @ 925/1250 Mhz
    HDD: 2 x SAMSUNG 840 PRO 128GB SDD + 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower EXT: 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower (HighPoint Dual eSATA Dock)
    DVD:
    LITEON DVDR & LITEON BD-R INPUT: LOGITECH K800 Black Illuminated Keyboard + LOGITECH Performance Mouse MX
    DISPLAY: ASUS ProArt 24" P-IPS (DP) \ PANASONIC 65" Plasma (HDMI) SOUND: OnBoard + LOGITECH G51 5.1 Speakers
    OS: WINDOWS 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center TEMPS: CPU (RealTemp @ 39C idle - 79C max), GPU (GPU-Z @ 31C idle - 65C max)

  12. #12
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island
    I have 4 of the 250 gig seagate 410AS (Single platter) drives in Matrix RAID 0. I get 468MB/s continuous, which is great for my game load times. Too bad I'm a sole XP user, otherwise four 640 gig drives would be a sweet setup. Formatted capacity would be 2.385TB, which is just over the 2TB single volume limit.

    http://www.ocforums.com/showpost.php...5&postcount=44
    Last edited by Joeteck; 12-02-08 at 08:11 AM.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    I gotta ask this, in your personal honest opinion, since I didn't upgrade my drives earlier which I have the money now - would I benefit and see dramatic improvement over my current RAID0 config by buying two of those WD Carviar Black 640's to replace my current old RAID0 config?

    dja2k
    CASE: FRACTAL DESIGN Arc Midi High Performance Case PSU: CORSAIR Gold AX 850W MB: ASUS Z68 Maximus IV Gene-Z
    FANS: 7 x 140mm YATE LOON D14SM-12 w/ Scythe Kaze Q8 8 Channel Controller CPU: INTEL Core i5-2500K @ 4.6GHz
    HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO + 2 x 120mm YATE LOON D12SL-12 (Push\Pull) + ARCTIC COOLING MX-4 Thermal Compound
    RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) PC3-12800 @ DDR3-1600 GPU: HIS IceQ Boost Clock Radeon HD 7950 3GB @ 925/1250 Mhz
    HDD: 2 x SAMSUNG 840 PRO 128GB SDD + 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower EXT: 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower (HighPoint Dual eSATA Dock)
    DVD:
    LITEON DVDR & LITEON BD-R INPUT: LOGITECH K800 Black Illuminated Keyboard + LOGITECH Performance Mouse MX
    DISPLAY: ASUS ProArt 24" P-IPS (DP) \ PANASONIC 65" Plasma (HDMI) SOUND: OnBoard + LOGITECH G51 5.1 Speakers
    OS: WINDOWS 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center TEMPS: CPU (RealTemp @ 39C idle - 79C max), GPU (GPU-Z @ 31C idle - 65C max)

  14. #14
    Senior Member tuskenraider's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chicago area
    Quote Originally Posted by dja2k View Post
    I gotta ask this, in your personal honest opinion, since I didn't upgrade my drives earlier which I have the money now - would I benefit and see dramatic improvement over my current RAID0 config by buying two of those WD Carviar Black 640's to replace my current old RAID0 config?

    dja2k
    It'll be a noticeable improvement. Throughput will double.
    Thermaltake V9 BlacX ][ XFX PRO650W ][ Gigabyte X58A-UD3R ][ i7 950@4.2ghz (21x200)
    Corsair A70 ][ Corsair XMS DDR3-1600 3x2GB ][ Gigabyte GTX660 Ti ][ 90GB OCZ Vertex 2
    2TB Hitachi 7K3000 ][ Asus 24B1ST DVD-RW ][ Asus Zonar STX ][ Tannoy 501a
    heat

  15. #15
    Anyone have non-RAID 0AAKS vs. 1AALS benches?

  16. #16
    Good question. Judging by the benchmarks above, I'm very sure the 2AAKS will beat the single AALS by a significant margin.

  17. #17
    Member Rich'[ard]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Melb, AUS
    does Vista have Raid capabilities implemented into the OS? or is a RAID controller needed?
    яιн.
    Processor 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.2v
    Heatsink Noctua NH-D14
    Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper-M3
    Memory 8GB Vengeance C9
    Storage Samsung 830 120GB + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
    Graphics Powercolor 7950 PCS+
    Power Corsair HX650
    Case Corsair 300R
    Windows w7 64bit
    Goodies Logitech z5400 5.1............G15|G3
    HP Folio 13 Ultrabook

  18. #18
    Member hitokiri_808's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hawaii
    Vista does RAID 0 and 1 with dynamic disks, but you can't make a RAID 0 array your boot partition. Also you can't bench the array with hdtach or hd tune. Gotta use Sisoft Sandra file system benchmark.

    Abit AB9-Pro | Q6600 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | 8GB Kingston Value RAM | ATI 6870 | Seasonic M12 700W | 2x WD3000GLFS RAID 0 | 2x WD10EACS RAID 1
    Intel DG965SS | E6400 | 2x 1GB Crucial DDR2 1066 | 8x WD10EACS RAID 5 on Perc 5i | Win Server 2008
    My Heatware

  19. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Hey again, came across a little info that some might find interesting if they come by:

    A NewEgg review of a single ALLS drive:




    Lightning in a Bottle

    Pros: Quiet
    Cool
    Lightning Fast

    This drive is FASTER than my old WD Raptor WD1500ADFD and has the benchmark numbers from HD Tune 3.10 to prove it.

    Vista Ultimate x64 SP1 (fresh install with all updates and drivers)
    Intel D975XBX2 w/Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
    FYI: this drive will format out to 596GB of usable space under NTFS

    Minimum Transfer Rate
    WD6401AALS: 59.4 MB/s
    WD1500ADFD: 53.8 MB/s

    Maximum Transfer Rate
    WD6401AALS: 118.4 MB/s
    WD1500ADFD: 83.9 MB/s

    Average Transfer Rate
    WD6401AALS: 98.0 MB/s
    WD1500ADFD: 73.3 MB/s

    Burst Transfer Rate
    WD6401AALS: 125.4 MB/s
    WD1500ADFD: 103.4 MB/s

    From the end of my BIOS POST screen until I'm at my desktop with a functioning network connection is just over 40 seconds.
    EXCELLENT!

    Newegg now seems to be shipping this OEM drive wrapped in bubble wrap, so thank you Newegg for listening to your customers on how OEM drives should be shipped!

    Cons: None

    Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a very fast hard drive and don't have the budget for a Western Digital Velociraptor or a good SSD, then this drive is your only other rational choice.
    This drive is much easier to live with than my previous second generation Raptor (quieter, cooler, and 4x the space) and feels just as fast, if not slightly faster.

    This drive is a steal at this price point, so why not buy two?



    Reviewed by "Jimmy"

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Anyone know if you can have 3 of these WD6401AALS in the same system, but only use 2 in RAID0 and the 3rd for storage? Will the ICH10R let you configure this?

    Also so anyone know if these WD6401AALS have a 3 or 5 year warranty?

    dja2k
    CASE: FRACTAL DESIGN Arc Midi High Performance Case PSU: CORSAIR Gold AX 850W MB: ASUS Z68 Maximus IV Gene-Z
    FANS: 7 x 140mm YATE LOON D14SM-12 w/ Scythe Kaze Q8 8 Channel Controller CPU: INTEL Core i5-2500K @ 4.6GHz
    HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO + 2 x 120mm YATE LOON D12SL-12 (Push\Pull) + ARCTIC COOLING MX-4 Thermal Compound
    RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) PC3-12800 @ DDR3-1600 GPU: HIS IceQ Boost Clock Radeon HD 7950 3GB @ 925/1250 Mhz
    HDD: 2 x SAMSUNG 840 PRO 128GB SDD + 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower EXT: 2 x WD Red 3TB Intellipower (HighPoint Dual eSATA Dock)
    DVD:
    LITEON DVDR & LITEON BD-R INPUT: LOGITECH K800 Black Illuminated Keyboard + LOGITECH Performance Mouse MX
    DISPLAY: ASUS ProArt 24" P-IPS (DP) \ PANASONIC 65" Plasma (HDMI) SOUND: OnBoard + LOGITECH G51 5.1 Speakers
    OS: WINDOWS 8.1 Pro x64 with Media Center TEMPS: CPU (RealTemp @ 39C idle - 79C max), GPU (GPU-Z @ 31C idle - 65C max)

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •