Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Memory and i7

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    943

    Memory and i7

    I have 4 x 2 Gskill 7-7-7-18 1.9V 1600 MHz memory.

    When I run it at 1333 MHz, iirc it uses a lot less VDimm. Since the max Vdimm on the new CPU is 1.87V, would I be able to run that memory at say 1333 MHz or would I have to get new memory?

    I wouldn't put in all 4 sticks, just 3 at least for the time being.

    What do you guys think?

  2. #2
    Member White_Pawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    3,466
    you wil actually get better performance going dual channel, so throw all 4 sticks in.

    No you don't need new memory. Read up on the OC guide on XS. They tell you that you need to maintain a "vdimm to uncore" ratio. i believe it is 1.5 to 1. Check with brollocks.
    - - M a i n R i g - -
    E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
    ^Tuniq Tower 120^
    Gigabyte P35-S3L
    powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
    OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
    2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
    Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    943
    If this is the case, then I may go ahead upgrade. I've got 8 sticks of DDR 3 1600 MHz ram. 4 - Gskill and 4 - Kingston Hyper X

  4. #4
    Member White_Pawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    3,466
    Quote Originally Posted by Lukee View Post
    If this is the case, then I may go ahead upgrade. I've got 8 sticks of DDR 3 1600 MHz ram. 4 - Gskill and 4 - Kingston Hyper X
    use 6 sticks then. That way you get maximium amount of ram and tri-channel.
    - - M a i n R i g - -
    E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
    ^Tuniq Tower 120^
    Gigabyte P35-S3L
    powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
    OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
    2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
    Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    943
    Tempting, very tempting.. I may do it if I can find a good cooling solution.

    I have 2 4870x2 GPUs. One in each machine, I could use them both and just use a 9800Gx2 for my 2nd PC which is mainly for my son to play and do his HW.

  6. #6
    Member White_Pawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    3,466
    make a monster pc, your son will be fine with "just" a 9800GX2. LOL

    just for reference, a P6T takes maximium 12gigs of ram. The gigabyte takes the full 24gigs. However, the P6T has 2 more cpu phases i believe.
    - - M a i n R i g - -
    E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
    ^Tuniq Tower 120^
    Gigabyte P35-S3L
    powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
    OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
    2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
    Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    943
    What would those 2 CPU phases do for me?

    I would want a board where the GPUs would run 16x/16x/x

    That way I maximize the card's potential.

    I wonder how much I can get for my old stuff.

    Asus P5Q3 Deluxe WiFi x 2
    E8400 C0 lapped
    E8600 lapped
    (I think that I'll keep the Q9550 or should I keep the E8600?)

    A 9800 GX2 will only run on an Nvidia board right? I also have an EVGA 790i Ultra SLI MB which I can use if the GX2 won't run on an intel MB.

  8. #8
    Member White_Pawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    3,466
    the 9800GX2 will run on any mobo. You can only SLI on a sli mobo.

    Both the P6T-deluxe and the gigabyte 58 extreme will support full 16x/16x crossfire.
    - - M a i n R i g - -
    E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
    ^Tuniq Tower 120^
    Gigabyte P35-S3L
    powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
    OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
    2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
    Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    943
    for the Gx2, you need to enable SLI in order to get the benefits of the 2 cards, so will this still run on an intel board?

  10. #10
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    the GX2 is a single card if your tring to enable SLI then that means your tring to run 2 GX2's. the GX2 is auto SLI'd which is why people would want to get that card to have NV sli on a intel board.

    you can run any single card in a intel board that includes the GX2 because it is one card. It plugs into one physical PCIE slot not 2 slots, that woudl be sli of course.

    the extra 2phases wouldnt make a difference one you have a board that has 8 phases. im not sure which gigaboard white is refering to but the ones i have seen have 6phase pwm for the cpu. this will hinder ocing when tring to reach the max clocks though. i would go with 8 phase because the cpu voltage supply system would be less stressed.

    running tri-channel ram on i7 has no RW benfits to US. while it offers more raw ram bandwidth it does if you look at brolloks numbers. show a hit in latency and system performance. you will notice that superpi 32m shows a slight gain from the extra ram bandwidth but wprime 1024m takes a hit. with wprimes 32m run showing the same numbers. i would just use the 4x2gig kit and keep it in dual channle mode. it will also not stress the IMC as much as tri-channel. which may help in getting a more stable oc with less voltage to core and uncore. while i dont have i7 to test that theroy on, i hope brolloks might when he is fininshed with his review.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  11. #11
    Badbonji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    3,524
    Aren't the X58 mobo's 16 phase (+2) for p6T
    i7 3770K 4.5GHz 1.2V | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | 16GB TeamGroup Elite 1600MHz | GIGABYTE G1.Sniper M3 | GTX 980 | M4 256GB + 150GB Raptor | Corsair HX+ 850W | Antec 1200
    i7 965 | 8GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz | GIGABYTE Extreme X58 | HD5450 | M4 64GB + 7TB | OCZ 500W
    MacBook Pro 15" | i7 2.3GHz | 8GB 1600MHz

  12. #12
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    Quote Originally Posted by Badbonji View Post
    Aren't the X58 mobo's 16 phase (+2) for p6T
    every board is different, let me get some links...
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ame=LGA%201366
    take the MSI X58 plat for instance, it only has 5 phase. the intel board has the same number of phases as well..



    *edit*
    also if you count the number of chokes near the cpu, TOP/SIDE of the cpu socket. i count 12 for the gigabyte X58 extreme and the UD5. only difference i see between the 2 is that the extreme has barbs on the NB or whats left for wcing.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128361
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128362
    now the P6T has a 16phase pwm
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131346

    both boards already have over 8phase which for a quad is more then enough. at this point between the two your just splitting hairs... what is interesting is that the lower cost boards like the Foxconn/intel/msi all have under 8phase. i would have hoped they came at least with 8phase for the entry boards since we see a $40 spread to the higher end boards with over 8phases. if i had to pick between the 2 for under $300 i would go with the gigabyte X58-UD5, if you look at the board it has the same layout to the T as the extreme but cheaper and no wcing barb for the NB. right now it looks like the best sub $300 X58, but i think the foxconn is going to give it a run for the oc/$ area.
    Last edited by Evilsizer; 11-20-08 at 05:40 PM.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •