Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 63
  1. #41
    SamSaveMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,186
    hahaha .... This is so unbelievable. Thanks to this forum, Evilsizer and Steven... I just did it again.
    Pinmod jump from 1066 to 1333FSB on an E7200 using a tiny piece of kitchen aluminum foil wrap.
    This motherboard was originally ship from HP model Pavillion m8100y cto. I had a Q6600 with it and I also knew that it is capable of going up to 1333FSB. With this mod, really helps it comes to life from a closet. CHEERS.

    Now, all I need are new RAMs PC6400 to go with this.

    ====

    Do I really need PC6400? Because it is 1;1 FSB;DRAM.
    Even if I get better PC6400, there is no memory ratio adjustment in the bios anyway...I probably stick with this then.




  2. #42
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    396
    great work sam! Who would have thought a small piece of kitchenware can give a boost like this, eh?
    - How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

    Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

    CPU: Intel E8500
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
    RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
    Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
    Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
    PSU: Corsair tx 650w

  3. #43
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    sam,
    you can stick with DDR2-677, but at that low a speed you really want cas 4 ram. it will make a difference in performance but if your not keen on spending more money no worries. it much faster then it was the other day!

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  4. #44
    SamSaveMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,186
    A little more than a year ago, looking for the right 800MHz rams that would be sharp at 1.8volts for this picky mobo was hard...due to no selective voltages adjustment.
    I've been using it in the E8400 system. Here again, back to where it belongs.
    Transcend AXE RAMS
    TX800QLJ-2GK x 2 kit = 4GB
    4-4-4-12 @ 1.8volts


  5. #45

  6. #46
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    396
    Sam, the second image is correct. To change a 1 to a 0, you have to connect it to a neighboring vss.

    - How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

    Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

    CPU: Intel E8500
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
    RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
    Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
    Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
    PSU: Corsair tx 650w

  7. #47
    SamSaveMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,186
    I made the mod 1333FSB jump and +0.1v above... It didn't boot
    .......ahhh... I realized that I made a loudsy mistake of reading wrong VID.

    The correct VID reading is: 1.1750
    I still don't understand how to go about comparing between VID doc and applying actual padmod.

    What is the next easier voltage mod that I can do?

    The jump to 1333FSB works fine...but it fails Orthos
    This is why I think Vcore voltage increase mod is neccessary.

    Can you explain more of what I am missing or what to look for Steven?
    Thanks

  8. #48
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    sam,
    the vid of the cpu can be gotten from Coretemp or realtemp, like this here


    what you need to do is connect Vid 5 to Vid 6, then place the tape over Vid 5 and Vid 4.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  9. #49
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    396
    Sam, can you post a screenshot of your coretemp reading? Basically, you're looking at differences between your VID and the 1/0's for the voltage jump you want. You are trying to change them to be the same as the voltage jump 1/0's. You can change 1 to 0 by connecting it to a nearby VSS and 0 to 1 by putting tape on that pad. You had the right idea in your previous post, you just misread the VID.





    - How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

    Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

    CPU: Intel E8500
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
    RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
    Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
    Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
    PSU: Corsair tx 650w

  10. #50
    SamSaveMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,186
    I don't know why Coretemp would report VID...as shown in above image on the first E7200 cpu as 1.225v which used with HP mobo

    But...on this second E7200 cpu... Coretemp shows differently as 1.1750v use with ECS G31 mobo

    I'll be back home later and post the coretemp

    ....... BTW, looking at Steven replied image...I understand which pins need to be modified.....but do not have a clear picture of how to determine the locations on the pad.
    How do you translate between the .pdf to pad mod locations Steven?

  11. #51
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    he is doing it cause in the PDF it is from a TOP down position vs just the bottom of the cpu. basicly by looking at the bottom of the cpu with the "indents" in the correct position to the PDF. the pins will then line up to which ones are which.

    intel cpus are multi-vid as by intels sspec finder the voltage range is 0.85V – 1.3625V.
    http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLAVN
    which is why cpu A will not have the same vid as cpu B.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  12. #52
    SamSaveMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,186
    Thanks for your rely Evilsizer.
    I understood about the reverse image.....except for which row or column to be applied.
    What do I look for?
    Sorry guys,

  13. #53
    SamSaveMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,186
    Thank you very much gentlemen.
    The pinmod +0.1v did really help stablize not to crash Orthos within the first 3 minutes as previously.

    When I tried at 1:1, I can see there are plenty of room to push much higher. But only able to push a little to 3.22GHz but no more...due to mobo's limitation.
    It would not pass 342 bus speed no matter how I tried it. 1;1 nor 5;6 FSB;DRAM

    Currently, still running Othos and seems to be good.




    Other thoughts: (part of combo deal) ECS G31T-M board is very limited.
    NO Vcore, NO NB voltage, NO VRam voltage adjustment.
    It only allows ram timing adjudment & OC cpu's frequenzcy.
    It provides just about 25% overclock ...not bad.

  14. #54
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    well i find it easier to follow the pin out lable the he partially posted. that way i count the table, how many to the side, then count how many down.
    in this PDF
    http://download.intel.com/design/pro...hts/316981.pdf
    on page 42 and 43, lables out every pad on the bottom of the cpu. im not sure if that answers it but that is what i follow to match up the correct pads.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  15. #55
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    396
    Great work, sam!

    To find what row column, you take mirror image of pdf chart and just count it on the cpu. Let me show you:

    - How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

    Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

    CPU: Intel E8500
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
    RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
    Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
    Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
    PSU: Corsair tx 650w

  16. #56
    SamSaveMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,186
    Thanks for taking time explaining Steven. But don't know why I'm still not getting through this...hic hic

    BTW, the other E7200 with high VID: 1.225 .... now I paired with ECS G33T-M2 mobo

    I got it booted up to 3.60GHz but unstable (fail ORTHOS with 5min). I had to drop it down to now 3.44GHz and still testing with ORTHOS....it looks good so far.
    This pairing yields higher OC than the other E7200 that has a low VID: 1.1750 with ECS G31 mobo.



    UPDATE: Stable for 11 hours @ 3.44 GHz. Pinmod +0.1v & 1333FSB jump pinmod
    http://i43.tinypic.com/2vdo7dv.jpg

    UPDATE: Here it is....... stable for 5 hours @ 3.54 GHz. Pinmod +0.15v & 1333FSB jump pinmod


  17. #57
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    sam,
    when you ran prime95 was it small/blend/large? you need more cpuv since you cant increase CPU VTT or CPU GTL in bios.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  18. #58
    SamSaveMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,186
    Evilsizer, I ran both small FFT 1;1 & 5;6 ratio setting, running any higher than 3.44GHz and I would fail Orthor & Prime95 within an hour.

    Should I use 1;1 ratio instead of 5;6 as final 3.44GHz ?

  19. #59
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Posts
    18,651
    with the fsb your at the 5:6 is going to be much better then 1:1. if you were at 400mhz that would be a different matter.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  20. #60
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    Hey guys,

    First time posting here and I'm not trying to hijack the thread or dig it up but its the closest I can find to what I'm looking for.

    Currently I have a Dell Vostro 200. I swapped in a 6300 Conroe and performed the following mod:



    It's currently showing the following:



    Now I'm curious if I did the following:



    If it would push it up to 3Ghz. I've read elsewhere with other CPU's (mainly the original e2160) that doing so would push it up to 3Ghz stable in windows.

    I'm a bit of a noob here but any help would be much appreciated.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •