Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008

    q6600, temps and volts question

    i've manage to get my q6600 @3ghz with a vcore of +.1 in bios which aknowing my VID is 1.32 that sets me at 1.42.. most of the other settings are auto except cpu GTL 65 and FSB term 25. I've gotten the q6600 at 3.2 but not stable and i've hit voltages of 1.48 and NB 1.47 SB 1.6 still cpu gtl 65and fsb term 25. Today i ran a stress test in everest and my temps hit 68 or so which i dont like.. my question is can the heat cause the stress test to fail, or stop? What do you suggest as far as voltages go that i should use for a stable 3.2, my QRD FSB is 1421 which gets it at 3197 so almost 3200mhz. I could post some bios shots if needed to see my voltage setting options.. Im running my ram linked and the bios sets a weird divider and runs the ddr800 at around 790 so i dont think my ram is the problem(im able to boot, get to windows, run stress tests and even some benchys).. Before i ran the ram unlinked set at 800 but never really was able to get to 3.2ghz
    Thanks for your help. I know there are a lot of different q6600 and msi p7n overclocking threafs out there, i've read them all and as you all may know everyones pc will overlcock differently.. so no one elses settings i've tried work

  2. #2
    Member gottcha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    wisconsin
    The more info you tell everyone the better they can help.
    MY HEAT
    I7 4770K @1.2 @4.5
    ASUS A Z97
    H2O swiftech 220 kit with Raystorm XSPC Block
    Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 16gig
    EVGA GTX780 3 gig memory
    Seasonic 660watt -No mods to this
    Samsung 840 pro 256 gig ssd
    Armor case with 250mm side fan
    Win7 Ultimate 64 bit

  3. #3
    Great Scot! Member sandyduff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!
    68 degrees is fine for the hardy 65nm quads... as long as load temps dont go above 80 for extended periods of time you will be fine, Tjmax for your chip is 100 so general rule is to keep 20 degrees below it....

    in help for your other questions... can you post a cpu-z screenie?
    i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
    MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
    8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
    MSI 7990 Liquid Cooled
    850w Akasa Venom
    1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
    Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

    "we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    i will do so tonight when i get home.. im running Vista HP 32 bit.. mobo is in the sig along with my other hardware.. Multpi 9*355.25(1421QDR FSB) My vcore is set to +0.178 and my VID is 1.32 so im running in cpuz 1.48vcore and drops to 1.44 under load. With 68F ambient temps under full load the temps average 62c for the cpu. My ram (ddr800)i have it linked and it has been running at around 790 with the volts on auto which sets them right at 1.9 which is what they're rated at. I can only link the ram and the bios sets the devider or unlink and i set the ram speed.. but i was able to hit the 3.2 linked.
    anything else you may need to know please let me know, i really appreicate your help.

  5. #5

    Member
    freeagent's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg!
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    i have an older g0 q6600, i routinely feed it 1.48 and up, for over a year now, 24/7 365, they can take it
    Intel Xeon x5690 E.S. @ 4209mhz, 1.32v/4800mhz, 1.55v
    Corsair H100/2x 38x120 Panaflo @ 60%
    Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200/3608/3608
    3x2GB STT Chrome @ 1600mhz 6-6-6-20 1T, 1.65v
    Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1100 1.1v
    Intel 520/WD Black
    Auzentech Prelude
    Thermaltake SP850M
    Fractal Design Define R4

  6. #6
    Member inkfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Quote Originally Posted by sandyduff View Post
    68 degrees is fine for the hardy 65nm quads... as long as load temps dont go above 80 for extended periods of time you will be fine, Tjmax for your chip is 100 so general rule is to keep 20 degrees below it....

    in help for your other questions... can you post a cpu-z screenie?
    80C is way too high. The thermal spec. on the Q6600 G0 is 71C. So you want to keep load temps below that.

    | Dell Studio17 Laptop |

    | T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |

  7. #7

    Member
    freeagent's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg!
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    what happens when you actually hit the thermal threshold? mine bluescreens usually in between 70-75c. im not sure if its from the heat, or from the voltage (1.6v cpu ovp kicks in @ 1.65v), or the speed. (usually around 3950mhz )
    Intel Xeon x5690 E.S. @ 4209mhz, 1.32v/4800mhz, 1.55v
    Corsair H100/2x 38x120 Panaflo @ 60%
    Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200/3608/3608
    3x2GB STT Chrome @ 1600mhz 6-6-6-20 1T, 1.65v
    Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1100 1.1v
    Intel 520/WD Black
    Auzentech Prelude
    Thermaltake SP850M
    Fractal Design Define R4

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    well heres a link to the cpuz validation it booted and i've been around windows but is not really stable, cpuz voltage reads 1.47v
    How do i know when to bump the vcore or the NB voltage or for that matter the SB.. i have NB at 1.5 and the SB 1.55

  9. #9
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Is it possible for the thermal threshold to drop to only 55C MAX if overvolting?

    I heard that you can crash at just a TINY BIT higher than 131 F, at least with earlier chips that are being overvolted.
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    well after several crashes and no stability in everest i set it back to 3ghz where i get a good hour plus (i stopped the test)stability in everest.. and my temps are peaking 58c. I dont know if vista runs hotter but man i use to run 3.2 at around 62c average and today i could barely get that at 3.15ghz or even a bit lower.
    Last edited by yomny; 12-11-08 at 11:18 PM.

  11. #11
    Have you changed any other voltage or settings?
    Antec 900 - EVGA 780i (pencil mod) - Q6600 G0 @3.9 @ 1.496v
    2 x 1gig Gskill F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ - OCZXTC memory cooler
    2 x EVGA 8800GTS 512(G92) Sli - pcpower and cooling 860 wat turbo cool
    raptor X 150 gig - sound blaster fatality extreme gamer
    Dtec V2 with quad insert - MCP655 - Thermochill 120.2 - 1/2 barbs with 7/16 Tygon hose
    3Dmark06 20201

  12. #12
    Member inkfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Quote Originally Posted by freeagent View Post
    what happens when you actually hit the thermal threshold? mine bluescreens usually in between 70-75c. im not sure if its from the heat, or from the voltage (1.6v cpu ovp kicks in @ 1.65v), or the speed. (usually around 3950mhz )
    The CPU wont actually turn off at 71C. I'm sure the shutdown point is much higher. I know the P4s didn't shut automatically shut off till the 100C range. (had that happen with a 3.0E on accident)

    It sounds like the reason you get blue screens is due to instability, not temps. I never had a problem running that kind of voltage through my quad for benching purposes. I stayed at 3.8Ghz with 1.5v with temps just below 70C for 24/7. Unless you go sub-zero I'd say you've reached your limit.

    Quote Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
    Is it possible for the thermal threshold to drop to only 55C MAX if overvolting?

    I heard that you can crash at just a TINY BIT higher than 131 F, at least with earlier chips that are being overvolted.
    The thermal spec. is posted by Intel.
    http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLACR

    55C under load is perfectly fine. The only reason system would crash at that point is due to instability. More voltage usually corrects that problem.

    Quote Originally Posted by yomny View Post
    well after several crashes and no stability in everest i set it back to 3ghz where i get a good hour plus (i stopped the test)stability in everest.. and my temps are peaking 58c. I dont know if vista runs hotter but man i use to run 3.2 at around 62c average and today i could barely get that at 3.15ghz or even a bit lower.
    Have you tried using CoreTemp to measure temps and Prime95 for stability testing?

    | Dell Studio17 Laptop |

    | T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    i have tried many, the NB from 1.3-1.6, the SB from 1.35-1.6, the Vcore anywhere from +.1 to .23 which set me at 1.5v and well the cpu gtl at 65 and fsb term at 25.. What im noticing is that i cant get anything above 3.0 wiithout gettin the vcore above 1.48 and well the temps seem to get on the high 60's so im going to have to look either into another mobo which is more stable at lower voltages or a water cooling kit.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Well it seems that my cpu needs a demand for voltage in order to over clock and my current zalman 9700 with antec 900 is not sufficient.. so i will have to improve on the cooling.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •