Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Now 6GHz or Bust!
    4GHZ_or_bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,443

    short term, upgrade CPU worth it?

    I currently have 5000+, non BE version and I can top out at a hair over 3GHz overclocked.

    My long term plan for new computer is at least a year away and it will have new mobo, new CPU, and DDR3 RAM, and probably a newer video card as well. But I wanted to get a little extra kick out of my current rig.

    Is it worth it to get AMD 6400+ and clock it up to 3.4 or 3.5 GHz? If I do get it, I can sell my 5000+ for about $40-$50 on eBay so the final cost would be $50 to $60 for the 6400+

    Or should I stick the money elsewhere? My RAM is already close to max at 3GB for Windows XP 32 bits and no need to go higher. I have over 400GB of free disk space so no new hard drive this year. I have no plan to get Blu-Ray drive anytime soon, will get it only when the original Star Wars is out on blu-ray (not the modern CGI enhanced crap version Lucas keeps pushing out) A phase change cooler would add some wow factor but it'd also add a lot to electric bill, my PC doesn't go out of the house, and I live in a farming community so I get very few visitor that do know a thing or 2 about computers.

    A trip to seafood restaurant for a nice steaming lobster would be nice but that only lasts a few hours before I am hungry while the $50 investment gets me an extra 400 to 500MHz out of my current rig.
    space for rent

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    361
    My opinion, no, it's not worth it.

    If I could make my X2 4000 do 3GHz, I'd be so happy.
    (Never tried going that far, don't want to risk corrupting my BIOS).

  3. #3
    Member Niku-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Deadford OR
    Posts
    4,176
    i think you should get a really cheepo processor and try and oc your more and the use the cheepo processor if you fry the current one.

    you know so atleast you'll have a computer
    Phenom II "X6 1605T" @ 3.00Ghz
    Sythe Yasa 6 Pipe Cooler
    Biostar TA890FXE
    16Gig G.SKILL Ripjaws 9-9-9-25 2T 667Mhz
    MSI R7870 TwinFrozr 2GD5/OC
    Seagate 320Gig 7200.11
    Seagate 1024Gig 7200.14
    OCZ Stealth X Stream 600
    LG LightScribe DVD Burner

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    769
    I would just stick it out, and invest the extra money in your next setup. Your current setup seems pretty decent.

    Aren't the Phenom X4's compatible with that board?

  5. #5
    AlabamaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    A Labyrinth
    Posts
    6,176
    The only CPU I might get now is one of the new K10 duals for cheap that others have done 3G+. The benifit is in the larger cache.
    The next runner up is one of the DC 45nm if they get release before you are ready to build the new rig.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  6. #6
    Member Alastayr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Leipzig, Germany
    Posts
    164
    Quote Originally Posted by 4GHZ_or_bust View Post
    will get it only when the original Star Wars is out on blu-ray (not the modern CGI enhanced crap version Lucas keeps pushing out)
    Don't get your hopes up. They've denied plans about Blu-Ray versions 1.5 years ago and I haven't heard of anything ever since.
    As George the Hack has stated, he destroyed the Master Reels of the Original Trilogy (I can't find the link...) sometime after the 1997 rerelease.
    All that is supposedly left of the OT are the crappy, cropped stereo Laserdisc-Transfers that got released a while ago on DVD.

    Maybe you should try a Kobe-Steak? If they're as good as they are claimed to be, they should be worth it. And the US import ban has been lifted in 2005(or -6?), so you should be able to get the genuine product, not just "Kobe-Style".

  7. #7
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    I'd spend a little for 2x 2Gb RAM sticks, which may let you raise the OC a few more MHz. The DFI should handle a higher clock so I'm guessing the RAM is limiting you some ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •