Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26
  1. #1
    Member jimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada

    Remove CDFS partition

    Does anyone know how to remove a CDFS partition on a hard drive?
    I was given a Clickfree hard drive that I won't use and would love to format it.
    Clickfree is the name of the product. Bascially you plug in the drive it boots up and starts to backup all important data. It has 2 partitions; a FAT32 and a CDFS. I can format the FAT32 partition, but the CDFS partition copies the files to the FAT32 partition automatically everytime I plug it in.
    I've tried Partition Magic, Windows disk managment, U3 removal tool and FDISK but they don't work. Here is the Clickfree site for info. http://www.goclickfree.com/
    Any ideas?
    MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
    CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
    RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
    Video Card - Sapphire 6870
    Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
    Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    PSU - Corsair 850AX
    Case - CM Stacker

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    DBAN will take care of it
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. #3
    Member jimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    DBAN will take care of it
    Thanks I'll give it a try!
    MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
    CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
    RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
    Video Card - Sapphire 6870
    Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
    Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    PSU - Corsair 850AX
    Case - CM Stacker

  4. #4
    Member jimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Well I tried DBAN and it doesn't work. It doesnt support USB drives. Does anyone else know of a way to remove a CDFS partition?
    MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
    CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
    RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
    Video Card - Sapphire 6870
    Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
    Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    PSU - Corsair 850AX
    Case - CM Stacker

  5. #5
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Can you remove the drive from the casing and do it that way? Is it actually part of the drive or part of the controller?
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  6. #6
    Member jimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Can you remove the drive from the casing and do it that way? Is it actually part of the drive or part of the controller?
    I don't know. I don't even know how to open this thing......
    MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
    CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
    RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
    Video Card - Sapphire 6870
    Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
    Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    PSU - Corsair 850AX
    Case - CM Stacker

  7. #7
    Member hitokiri_808's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hawaii
    How large is the CDFS partition?

    Abit AB9-Pro | Q6600 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | 8GB Kingston Value RAM | ATI 6870 | Seasonic M12 700W | 2x WD3000GLFS RAID 0 | 2x WD10EACS RAID 1
    Intel DG965SS | E6400 | 2x 1GB Crucial DDR2 1066 | 8x WD10EACS RAID 5 on Perc 5i | Win Server 2008
    My Heatware

  8. #8
    Member jimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by hitokiri_808 View Post
    How large is the CDFS partition?
    It's only 23mb.

  9. #9
    Member jimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Anyone?
    MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
    CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
    RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
    Video Card - Sapphire 6870
    Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
    Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    PSU - Corsair 850AX
    Case - CM Stacker

  10. #10
    Member hitokiri_808's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hawaii
    Sounds like it might be a part of the firmware ROM. Only thing I can think of is take it apart and see what the HD does by itself.

    Abit AB9-Pro | Q6600 | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | 8GB Kingston Value RAM | ATI 6870 | Seasonic M12 700W | 2x WD3000GLFS RAID 0 | 2x WD10EACS RAID 1
    Intel DG965SS | E6400 | 2x 1GB Crucial DDR2 1066 | 8x WD10EACS RAID 5 on Perc 5i | Win Server 2008
    My Heatware

  11. #11
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    From Linux?

    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdx bs=512 count=1
    Where sdx = the mount point of the drive.

    Be ABSOLUTELY certain that it's not you OS drive or anything else important. This will wipe out the entire MBR so make sure there's nothing you want to keep on the USB disk.

    Make a new partition however you wish, it should use all the available space.
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  12. #12
    Member jimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by hitokiri_808 View Post
    Sounds like it might be a part of the firmware ROM. Only thing I can think of is take it apart and see what the HD does by itself.
    I took it apart and plugged it straight into a sata port on my computer but the drive won't even boot. The BIOS doesn't even see it.
    MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
    CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
    RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
    Video Card - Sapphire 6870
    Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
    Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    PSU - Corsair 850AX
    Case - CM Stacker

  13. #13
    Member jimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by moz_21 View Post
    From Linux?

    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdx bs=512 count=1
    Where sdx = the mount point of the drive.

    Be ABSOLUTELY certain that it's not you OS drive or anything else important. This will wipe out the entire MBR so make sure there's nothing you want to keep on the USB disk.

    Make a new partition however you wish, it should use all the available space.
    I tried what you said but the end result was the same. Thanks anyways!
    MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
    CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
    RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
    Video Card - Sapphire 6870
    Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
    Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    PSU - Corsair 850AX
    Case - CM Stacker

  14. #14
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdx
    Where sdx = the mount point of the drive.

    This will zero out the entire drive so it will take awhile. I had to do this to get the RAID info off of a couple drives to work on a different controller.
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  15. #15
    Member jimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by moz_21 View Post
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdx
    Where sdx = the mount point of the drive.

    This will zero out the entire drive so it will take awhile. I had to do this to get the RAID info off of a couple drives to work on a different controller.
    Same thing. It formats the one partition, but not the CDFS partition. I guess it can't be removed. Thanks for everyones help!
    MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
    CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
    RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
    Video Card - Sapphire 6870
    Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
    Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    PSU - Corsair 850AX
    Case - CM Stacker

  16. #16
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Weird. I guess I feel a hdd is a hdd, so it should be able to be removed. Maybe you could contact the manufacturer?
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  17. #17
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by moz_21 View Post
    Weird. I guess I feel a hdd is a hdd, so it should be able to be removed.
    Unless it is part of the controller in the external hard drive. Some flash drives are like that.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  18. #18
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Unless it is part of the controller in the external hard drive. Some flash drives are like that.
    That should have been bypassed when it was plugged directly into the mobo SATA port.
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  19. #19
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by moz_21 View Post
    That should have been bypassed when it was plugged directly into the mobo SATA port.
    From what he said, he can't get it to even recognize it. Unless I'm reading this wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by jimmers View Post
    I took it apart and plugged it straight into a sata port on my computer but the drive won't even boot. The BIOS doesn't even see it.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  20. #20
    Member jimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    From what he said, he can't get it to even recognize it. Unless I'm reading this wrong?
    With the drive by itself (out of the case), it doesn't get recognized by my PC.
    MOBO - Asus P5Q Deluxe
    CPU - Intel Q6600 @ 3.4ghz with Thermalright 120 Extreme/Scythe S-Flex fan
    RAM - 4gigs OCZ DDR2 Reaper 1066
    Video Card - Sapphire 6870
    Hard Drives - 3x Western Digital 1TB, OCZ Vertex II 120
    Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
    PSU - Corsair 850AX
    Case - CM Stacker

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •