Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile

    nVidia Card Issues

    I'm unable to take screenshots, but I can take xfire video of it... but here is my best way to describe the bug I'm experiencing:

    There are several things that for whatever reason jump around or don't display right on my computer. Both the 9800GTX+ (which I RMA'd) and now the GTX260 core 216 that I own now do this. During the opening scene of GRAW, when you're parachuting down, if you look around you can find several patches, square in shape that flicker. This wouldn't bother me if it was just this one game but it occurs in many different games. If you guys know what might be going bad I can try fixing it or replacing it.

    Here is a link to the video... pay attention to the windows, for example. They flicker, also there's a few boxes of just ground that do this as well.

    http://www.xfire.com/video/66941/

    You may have to fullscreen it to see what I'm talking about. I tried to make the video as small as I could so it'd be easier for you guys to check out.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile
    http://www.xfire.com/video/e629/


    Another video somebody else entirely uploaded that has the same bugs, granted...
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile
    I think this is a common bug with geforce 8, 9, and GTX200 series cards. Something nVidia is doing in the drivers is probably causing this.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  4. #4
    Roisen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Folding in Ames, IA
    Can someone with an ATI card see if they have the same problem?

    I have seen it before too with my nVidia cards. To me it looks like textures overlapping textures, and the bottom layer occasionally flashes through.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Roisen View Post
    Can someone with an ATI card see if they have the same problem?

    I have seen it before too with my nVidia cards. To me it looks like textures overlapping textures, and the bottom layer occasionally flashes through.
    That's exaclty what it is, actually.

    I think the word is decals.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile
    Bump.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  7. #7
    Badbonji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Maybe this is too make nvidia cards perform better than ATi by rendering less textures?

    Just kidding, try underclocking just to test if its the card, changing drivers, reinstall game etc. I had this problem with a newer driver on my evga 8800gts sli setup.
    i7 3770K 4.5GHz 1.2V | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | 16GB TeamGroup Elite 1600MHz | GIGABYTE G1.Sniper M3 | GTX 980 | M4 256GB + 150GB Raptor | Corsair HX+ 850W | Antec 1200
    i7 965 | 8GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz | GIGABYTE Extreme X58 | EVGA GTX 680 SC| M4 64GB + 7TB | OCZ 500W
    MacBook Pro 15" | i7 2.3GHz | 8GB 1600MHz

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Badbonji View Post
    Maybe this is too make nvidia cards perform better than ATi by rendering less textures?

    Just kidding, try underclocking just to test if its the card, changing drivers, reinstall game etc. I had this problem with a newer driver on my evga 8800gts sli setup.
    Seriously? lol

    If my card does it, an 8800GT does it, and a 9800GTX+ does it, what makes you think it's an issue with the clock rates. I've already tried this. What I'm trying to do is find somebody who doesn't have this issue. It appears in every game, including crysis. It's an issue with either the card DESIGN, or the drivers.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  9. #9
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Heatware Profile
    Have you tried running at stock CPU/GPU settings?
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Crucial MX100 512GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache
    MSI GTX 970 4GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - Crucial MX100 256GB, 2xWD Green 1TB
    Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
    Have you tried running at stock CPU/GPU settings?
    Yes. If this issue is on more than one PC, another by somebody else I don't even know... than I doubt it's my individual configuration.

    Games I've seen the issue in:

    Bioshock
    Crysis: Warhead
    Mirror's Edge
    Fallout 3
    Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter

    This is too wide a spread across the industry to be an issue with one designer or the same development bug, it's something to do with nVidia.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  11. #11
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Aynjell View Post
    Yes. If this issue is on more than one PC, another by somebody else I don't even know... than I doubt it's my individual configuration.

    Games I've seen the issue in:

    Bioshock
    Crysis: Warhead
    Mirror's Edge
    Fallout 3
    Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter

    This is too wide a spread across the industry to be an issue with one designer or the same development bug, it's something to do with nVidia.

    Yes you tried stock settings, or yes you are assuming that because someone else had a similar issue your OC must be stable?
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Crucial MX100 512GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache
    MSI GTX 970 4GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - Crucial MX100 256GB, 2xWD Green 1TB
    Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  12. #12
    I get occasional spots of black when playing Bioshock w/DX10

    other than that I don't have any of the symptoms you speak of. Could be a bad driver install? Have you tried uninstalling, and cleaning them out with Driver Sweeper?

    My GTX285's are running everything beautifully.. I haven't tried Bioshock with them to see if I still get the black box issues. That was on my 9800GTX sli setup
    /////Intel i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz || XSPC Raystorm
    Sapphire R9 290X @ 1175/1625 || EK Fullcover Waterblock
    ASUS TUF Sabertooth Z77 Mobo || XSPC AX360 Radiator
    24GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Memory|| XSPC AX240 Radiator
    /////////////Corsair hx1000w || MCP355 w/Heatkiller DDC Top
    2x256 GB SanDisk SataIII SSD || FrozenQ Fusion V Reservoir

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by iLoki View Post
    I get occasional spots of black when playing Bioshock w/DX10

    other than that I don't have any of the symptoms you speak of. Could be a bad driver install? Have you tried uninstalling, and cleaning them out with Driver Sweeper?

    My GTX285's are running everything beautifully.. I haven't tried Bioshock with them to see if I still get the black box issues. That was on my 9800GTX sli setup
    Then what settings have you tried. I can reproduce this issue on every single Geforce 9 and GTX series part I've been near. It's a driver setting that would probably need changing to resolve.

    If you guys want I can install the games all of them and show you the issues in each. Trust me, you CAN reproduce these issues. Or at least I could with your cards. I have a trained eye and I'm very anal. My friend with a 24" fPVA panel didn't see this stuff until I pointed it out.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  14. #14
    Member corruption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Are you using the drivers to force AA or AF in the game? I've had issues with some games in the past if I've tried to force settings using the drivers, rather than using the game's own gfx setting options.
    i5-4670K- Currently Stock
    Gigabyte GA-Z787X-D3H
    8GB PC3 12800 - CORSAIR Vengeance LP 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit
    HIS Radeon R9 270X IceQ X2 Turbo 2GB - Currently Stock
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB
    Western Digital 250GB SATA - Member of RAID 5
    2x Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATA - Member of RAID 5
    Cougar 760W?
    Water cooling - MCP600, Apogee GT, MCW60, Swiftech MicroRes, BIP3

    "Don't start a fight with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by corruption View Post
    Are you using the drivers to force AA or AF in the game? I've had issues with some games in the past if I've tried to force settings using the drivers, rather than using the game's own gfx setting options.
    I thought it might have been that, but I removed all my settings and reverted them to stock, still the issue persists.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  16. #16
    Member corruption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Quote Originally Posted by Aynjell View Post
    I thought it might have been that, but I removed all my settings and reverted them to stock, still the issue persists.
    Hmm....Have you tried disabling AA and AF optimizations in the driver control panel? Is vertical sync on or off?....it might be worth turning it on just to rule out texture tearing too.
    i5-4670K- Currently Stock
    Gigabyte GA-Z787X-D3H
    8GB PC3 12800 - CORSAIR Vengeance LP 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit
    HIS Radeon R9 270X IceQ X2 Turbo 2GB - Currently Stock
    OCZ Vertex 4 - 256GB
    Western Digital 250GB SATA - Member of RAID 5
    2x Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATA - Member of RAID 5
    Cougar 760W?
    Water cooling - MCP600, Apogee GT, MCW60, Swiftech MicroRes, BIP3

    "Don't start a fight with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by corruption View Post
    Hmm....Have you tried disabling AA and AF optimizations in the driver control panel? Is vertical sync on or off?....it might be worth turning it on just to rule out texture tearing too.
    I have all the settings to default in the nvidia control panel. Nothing I can change resolves the issue.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  18. #18
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Quote Originally Posted by Aynjell View Post
    Seriously? lol

    If my card does it, an 8800GT does it, and a 9800GTX+ does it, what makes you think it's an issue with the clock rates. I've already tried this. What I'm trying to do is find somebody who doesn't have this issue. It appears in every game, including crysis. It's an issue with either the card DESIGN, or the drivers.
    I have an 8800GT SLI setup and have never experienced this issue, are you using the latest WHQL drivers? the 181.20 drivers?

    I have crysis, crysis: warhead, ghost reckon advanced warfighter, havent had this problem

  19. #19
    I generally just leave the driver settings stock.. Except with the 185.20 leaked set, I played with the Ambient Occlusion settings on that one

    anyways, i do get some screen tearing in a lot of games, because I can barely stand to play with vsync on in most FPSs, slows my mouse down and causes a bit of lag in COD4, my main FPS at the moment.
    /////Intel i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz || XSPC Raystorm
    Sapphire R9 290X @ 1175/1625 || EK Fullcover Waterblock
    ASUS TUF Sabertooth Z77 Mobo || XSPC AX360 Radiator
    24GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Memory|| XSPC AX240 Radiator
    /////////////Corsair hx1000w || MCP355 w/Heatkiller DDC Top
    2x256 GB SanDisk SataIII SSD || FrozenQ Fusion V Reservoir

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by RSDXzec View Post
    I have an 8800GT SLI setup and have never experienced this issue, are you using the latest WHQL drivers? the 181.20 drivers?

    I have crysis, crysis: warhead, ghost reckon advanced warfighter, havent had this problem
    Strange. Oh well, perhaps it's a bit more isolated. Take a video of the starting sequence of graw then.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •