Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough

    Biostar TPower I45 and Q6600 overclock settings

    Hi, not been on here for a while but the last time you guys were stars in helping to overclock my Q6600 to 3.5ghz.

    Anyway got hold of a Biostar TPower I45 mobo. Been trying to overclock it but the highest i can get is 2.6ghz!!!

    When the overclock goes wrong, postcode E1 shows on the board and the only way to get it posting again is to clear the cmos via the jumper.

    So has anyone got one of these and any settings that i need to change to get it to post.

    Also cpu-z says the fsb:dram is set at 2.3 ratio, what do i need to change in the bios to get a 1:1 ratio as i think thats where the post is failing.

    Smurf

  2. #2
    Member Automiketic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    somewhere killing zombies
    Heatware Profile
    its most likely not the ratio. what setting have you tried to change so far. be easier to take it from there.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    Hi i have been personal massaging a guy and he has told me how to get a 1:1 ratio, so that is set, but at this time i have not tried any o/c.

    Not sure what settings i have tried really, will start writing them down lol.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    Right got it running at 3.0ghz with a multiplier of 9x and a fsb of 336mhz.

    So thats a start, have tried for 3.2ghz, but fails to load into windows, but posts ok, more juice i think.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    The BIOS set the DRAM frequency correctly, being a 2:3 (266/800) ratio at an FSB of 266 MHz, assuming you have PC2-6400 for an effective 800 MHz at default clock. With a 1:1 divider (333/667) at an FSB of 266 MHz, your RAM is running under spec. at a frequency of only 532 MHz. Your previous FSB of 290 MHz for an effective clock of 2.6 GHz, and while using the same 2:3 divider, put your RAM at a frequency of 870 MHz. I can only assume that SPD timings for your RAM are 4-4-4-12 (without knowing which RAM you have, the default Vdimm, or how much), and at a DRAM frequency of 870 MHz either the timings and / or Vdimm applied was incorrect.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    hi i have Geil Black dragon pc6400 800mhz 2x2gig sticks with 5-5-5-15 timings.
    Last edited by Smurfboy; 01-26-09 at 01:31 PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Jedi Master
    Premium Member #9

    ghost_recon88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    What is your NB voltage? VTT voltage? And GTL refs set at?
    The will to live will always outweigh the ability to die

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    Hi, i will be able to post more results and settings friday guys, computer has gone for a test drive round me old mans, as it is his pc i built.

    Will get back to you then peeps. or earlier if he has problems lol.

    Tx for the help so far.

    Smurf

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    Hi again guys, right.

    Have managed to get it into windows at 3.4ghz. Trouble is when i run Prime95 after about 20 seconds, it BSOD.

    So its not stable obviously. Here are some settings its at, at the moment. Maybe someone can tell me what i can change to get it Prime stable.

    CPU frequency setting = 378 x 9.0
    FSB(Bsel) to northbridge latch = FSB 1333
    Dram Frequency = DDR2 756mhz
    DDR Enhanced mode = Auto
    Dram timings = 5-5-5-18
    CPU Voltage = 1.520 v
    NB/SB voltage = 1.192 v
    DDR2 Voltage = 2.032 v
    FSB Voltage = 1.280 v
    DDR voltage = AUTO
    Chipset voltage = AUTO
    MCH GTL Ref Voltage = AUTO
    CPU PLL Voltage = 1.5 v

    I dont want to up the cpu voltage anymore as 1.5v is as far as i would push a Q6600 on air really. There must be another i can change to stabelise it.

    Smurf

  10. #10
    Senior Jedi Master
    Premium Member #9

    ghost_recon88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    You need to increase your NB voltage to around 1.3v.
    The will to live will always outweigh the ability to die

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    so that would mean adding to the chipset voltage i think as there isnt an actual setting which says NB voltage, am i right??

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    Tried upping th chipset voltage by 0.100v but no change still blue screens in prime95.

    Also tried ajdusting the mch gtl voltage from auto to 0.61*VTT, also blue screens in prime95 grrrrr.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Which OS are you running, and what's the exact error in the BSOD?

    Edit: Post all of the latest Prime stable BIOS settings, using this template for the I45 (disregard the settings in the template, and replace w/ your own)...

    Code:
    [BIOS SETUP] O.N.E
    Over-Clocking Navigator [Manual OverClock]
    Intel(R) SpeedStep(tm) : Disabled
    Ratio CMOS Setting : 6 (change higher for benching subzero obviously)
    CPU Frequency Setting : 570(boot)
    Over Clock Retry Count : 2
    FSB Compensation: Enabled
    FSB(Bsel) To NorthBridge Latch : 1333
    DRAM Frequency : DDR2-1140
    DDR2 Enhance Mode : Disabled
    
    DRAM Timing Configuration
    DDR2 RCOMP Configuration : 2
    Static tREAD Value : AUTO
    Configure DRAM Timing by SPD : Enabled 
    [EDIT] this will give you CAS5 clocks and PL10 past 600MHz FSB
    for PL9 past 600MHz FSB you need to manually set CAS4 timings
    
    Clock Gen Configuration
    PCIE Frequency Setting : 100
    CPU Clock Skew Control : 200ps
    (G)MCH Clock Skew Control : 100ps
    CPU Clock Driving Control : Auto
    
    Voltage Configuration
    CPU Voltage : SET WHAT IS REQUIRED FOR STABILITY AT MHZ YOU ARE BENCHING ON
    DDR Voltage : +0.600v (use more depending on RAM)
    Chipset Voltage : +0.600v
    FSB Voltage : +0.40v
    CPU Core1 GTL Ref Voltage : 0.63*VTT
    CPU Core2 GTL Ref Voltage : 0.67*VTT
    MCH GTL Ref Voltage : Auto
    CPU PLL Voltage : 1.5v

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    hi, it is running Vista Ultimate 64bit.

    The error is 0x0000007f

    if this helps..

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    In post #4 you mentioned not being able to get into Windows at 3.2GHz, then in post #9 you said you could boot into Windows at 3.4GHz, but Prime would fail at that clock. Did you ever get the system Prime stable at 3.2GHz, and if you did then fill out the template I posted above w/ all of the settings you used for that clock?

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    [BIOS SETUP] O.N.E
    Over-Clocking Navigator [Manual OverClock]
    Intel(R) SpeedStep(tm) : Disabled
    Ratio CMOS Setting : x9.0
    CPU Frequency Setting : 378(boot)
    Over Clock Retry Count : 3
    FSB Compensation: Disabled
    FSB(Bsel) To NorthBridge Latch : 1333
    DRAM Frequency : DDR2-756mhz
    DDR2 Enhance Mode : Auto

    DRAM Timing Configuration
    DDR2 RCOMP Configuration : Auto
    Static tREAD Value : AUTO
    Configure DRAM Timing by SPD : Disabled
    [EDIT] this will give you CAS5 clocks and PL10 past 600MHz FSB
    for PL9 past 600MHz FSB you need to manually set CAS4 timings

    Clock Gen Configuration
    PCIE Frequency Setting : 100
    CPU Clock Skew Control : Auto
    (G)MCH Clock Skew Control : Auto
    CPU Clock Driving Control : Auto

    Voltage Configuration
    CPU Voltage : SET WHAT IS REQUIRED FOR STABILITY AT MHZ YOU ARE BENCHING ON
    DDR Voltage : +0.250 v
    Chipset Voltage : Auto
    FSB Voltage : +0.0.100 v
    CPU Core1 GTL Ref Voltage : 0.63*VTT
    CPU Core2 GTL Ref Voltage : 0.67*VTT
    MCH GTL Ref Voltage : Auto
    CPU PLL Voltage : 1.5v

    Ok have changed your bios settings to mirror mine as they are set to with me booting at 3.4 but bsod in prime95.

    Hope this helps

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    I never did the prime95 test at 3.2ghz.

    Also is there a version of prime95 thats 64bit compatible, maybe thats the problem, i'm running version 25.5

  18. #18

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Peterborough
    Have tried the 64bit version and it stlll BSOD but not as quick lol. I have also adjusted the skews for the timing s to see if that helps but to no avail.

    Skews are set as follows:

    pci e freqyuuency setting 100
    cpu clock skew control 300fps
    (g)mch clock skew control 200ps
    cpu clock driving control Auto

  20. #20
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    I need to see the last Prime stable settings (for example at 3.2GHz), not the non-stable settings as they exist now at 3.4GHz.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •