Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    6 blocks from AMD HQ

    Online power supply calculator

    I was browsing the OCZ forums and found a link to this online power supply calculator. I thought it might help answer some of the many "do I have enough power??" questions that pop up here.

    Mods, feel free to sticky this. Or not.

  2. #2
    antec has one as well
    they are not that accurate.

  3. #3
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by chucko58 View Post
    I was browsing the OCZ forums and found a link to this online power supply calculator. I thought it might help answer some of the many "do I have enough power??" questions that pop up here.

    Mods, feel free to sticky this. Or not.
    They probably won't sticky it since there's ~60 threads mentioning the thing One of them really should be, though..
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Crucial MX100 512GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache
    MSI GTX 970 4GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - Crucial MX100 256GB, 2xWD Green 1TB
    Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  4. #4
    eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5 is vary accurate it should be a sticky
    LINK http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp


    Also here is some more endorsements.

    Antec Power Supply Calculator
    LINK http://www.antec.outervision.com/

    Thermaltake Power Supply Calculator
    LINK http://www.thermaltake.outervision.com/

  5. #5
    Member GTengineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5 is vary accurate it should be a sticky
    Has there been any actual testing to confirm this? If true then great.

    But otherwise "sticking" a power calculator to reduce the number of "how much power is needed" threads is along the lines of closing all Universities because we now have Wikipedia.....

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    6 blocks from AMD HQ
    D'oh!! I should have known I wouldn't be the first to mention this.

    Of course it's only good for a ballpark figure, but unless you can get accurate power usage figures out of the GPU makers, it's probably as close as you're going to get.

  7. #7
    Member burebista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Quote Originally Posted by chucko58 View Post
    [...] but unless you can get accurate power usage figures out of the GPU makers[...]
    You can get them here.

  8. #8

    Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins

    Premium Member #12
    RollingThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by burebista View Post
    You can get them here.
    And some here:

    http://www.jonnyguru.com//forums/showthread.php?t=3137
    Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
    DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
    WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
    ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
    Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
    2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
    Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
    Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
    Vista 64.............................XP Pro
    Experience teaches only the teachable.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by chucko58 View Post
    D'oh!! I should have known I wouldn't be the first to mention this.

    Of course it's only good for a ballpark figure, but unless you can get accurate power usage figures out of the GPU makers, it's probably as close as you're going to get.
    I've been doing some research on the eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5 and have found on the net that they are not basing video card power on manufacture specs it's actual real component testing, i've sent them a email to confirm this i hope they respond.

    Quote:
    Video Card wattages have been reviewed and will be listed based on real life 3D load tests (Not the maximum power consumption reported by manufacturers).

    LINK:http://forums.cnet.com/5208-4_102-0....hreadID=154331

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •