Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Blank Monitor

  1. #1
    Registered slugshot_90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    48

    Blank Monitor

    for som reason the monitor on my pc stays blank when i power it on, it was running fine today and then i opened it up and put a new cpu in it and then when i went to turn it back on the pc powers up. the mouse turns on but the monitor stays blank and the keyboard does not turn on, usually the monitor goes from a orange light to a green, but it just stays orange, i tried replugging everything and even going back to the old cpu. but still nothing, anyone know how to fix this, it happened to me a long time ago and i really dont remember how i got to work

  2. #2
    Member SeasonalEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,594
    Try clearing the BIOS with jumpers on the board and see where that gets you.

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  3. #3
    don256us's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bridgman, MI
    Posts
    2,214
    I had the exact same thing happen to me today. When I pulled my vid card, I found that one of the solid caps were blown. RMA town for me.

    You need feed back from your motherboard. Get a speaker plugged in so you can hear the beep code.
    Core i7-920 @ 3.66 | EVGA X58 SLI | 2x 256 GB Samsung 830 SSD RAID 0 | 1.5 TB WD Green | 24GB DDR3 1600 CAS 8 |GTX 660Ti GTX 770Folding
    Core i7-920 | Win Vista |Zalman 7000 Cu | DDR3 1333 (6 GB) | 640 GB SATA | 2 x R9 280x | Under construction for folding.
    AMD Athlon II x3 440 @ x4 B40 | Win SBS 2008 | 120 GB | DDR3 1600 (4 GB) | 2 x DVD-DL |GTX 460 1 GB Folding.


    Folding User Stats
    My Heatware
    Fold for team 32.

  4. #4
    Registered slugshot_90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by SeasonalEclipse View Post
    Try clearing the BIOS with jumpers on the board and see where that gets you.
    what do you mean by this,and also i tried to turn it on and plug speakers hin to hear the beep but there was no sound, i tried headphones also and still no sound. if it helps at all, when i turn the monitor on the light goes green for like 2 sec then it makes a click noise and it goes orange and thats it

  5. #5
    Member bda1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,129
    Find the manual to your motherboard and look for the CMOS reset jumper. It is a little jumper that you have to pull off of two pins and put them onto the next pin set over for about 10 seconds. You then put the jumper back onto the original pins and that's it. You should pull the battery for about a minute also and that will set your BIOS back to original settings. The speaker he is referring to is for the motherboard, not the system speakers. Like this.. http://www.cwc-group.com/casp.html.. If you look in your manual you should find a connection for a MB speaker.
    i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
    Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
    Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
    Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
    BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
    Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64

  6. #6
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Posts
    8,159
    Yah motherboard speaker.

    There are a number of cause for this situation

    Bad video cable. (swap cable)

    Bad Video card (swap video card for an old PCI card if you have one laying around)

    Insufficient power to video card (Check PCIE connector)

    Bad memory (try running one stick, no boot, remove and install other single stick, put one stick in 4th slot and cycle power)

    Bad motherboard (If all other components are working than it leaves only the brain)


    I am leaning towards the last since your KB does not light up. Hopefully CMOS reset will help solve situation
    All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
    10 types of people understand binary.
    Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
    Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

  7. #7
    Registered slugshot_90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    48
    well i tried the cmos reset and it didnt do anything also there is no sound coming from the MOBO speaker, its just silence

  8. #8
    Registered slugshot_90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    48
    So I'm guessing that since the keyboard speaker isn't working then the mobo is dead

  9. #9
    Member Mr.DLucey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,185
    Unplug the power to the power supply.
    Theirs a small battery on your motherboard, remove it (if you have a volt meter make sure it has voltage like 1.5v).
    Remove and reinstall the memory.
    Remove and reinstall the video card.
    Set the CMOS jumper to clear the CMOS.
    Leave it sit over night.
    Reinstall the battery, move the jumper back and plug it in.
    E6600 @2.99GHz - DFI Infinity P965 Dark - 4GB PC6400 - WD 300GB Raptor - WD 74GB Raptor - Radeon HD 3850 256MB - Vista Business
    E6420 @2.13GHz - Asrock 4Core DualVSTA - 4GB PC 6400 - WD 120GB IDE - Sapphire HD 3850 512MB - XP Home

  10. #10
    Registered slugshot_90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    48
    tried it and still no luck. So I'm leaning toward it's a bad mobo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •