Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy No LAN connections available

    hi i am having this strange problem...
    after rebooting my PC today, suddenly i couldnt find any LAN connection icon in the taskbar. I dont have any PCI lan card, using the onboard one.
    i checked my network connections, and there was no Local area connection icon, only the 1394 connection. the lan cable is plugged in on the motherbnoard, and the port is blinking. Also the port on my modem is showing data transfer on.
    tried reinstalling the drivers from my motherboard CD, but in vain.

    Also, my BIOS is not showing anything about LAN connection in the on-board peripherals part. Thus i cannot check wether its enabled or disabled.

    In the device manager, there is no other network adapter than the 1394 adapter, hence, the troubleshoot doesnt work.

    i am unable to connect to the internet as i use the LAN to connect to it.


    PLEASE HELP !!!!

  2. #2
    Member JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,107
    Do you have any yellow question marks in the device manager? What motherboard are you using? Most likely either the driver was corrupted or something happened to the NIC hardware.

    Oh, and welcome to OCForums
    Q9650, Rampage Formula X48, 4x1GB G.Skill PC2-6400 (D9GMH), HD 6950 2GB, 2x 64GB SandForce 1222 SSD RAID 0, BFG LS1000, Gamer
    4670K, ASRock Z87 Extreme 4, 2x8GB Crucial PC3-1600, GTX 650, 240GB Intel 335 SSD, 1TB WD Black, Seasonic S12-650W, Lightroom4
    E6600, nvidia e-7150 i630, 2x2GB Mushkin PC2-8500, HD 4650, 500GB WD Blue, Antec 380W, HTPC
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper
    cpu on water, cards air, me whiskey! - icebob

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by JLK03F150 View Post
    Do you have any yellow question marks in the device manager? What motherboard are you using? Most likely either the driver was corrupted or something happened to the NIC hardware.

    Oh, and welcome to OCForums
    THANKS for da welcome...

    i do not have any yellow question marks in device manager. the thing is, it was showing my lan adapter until yesterday, but today there is only the 1394 adapter....

    like my whole hardware is missing. no change even after installing the drivers....

    my motherboard is asus m3n78-em
    Last edited by him_damian; 02-19-09 at 03:56 PM. Reason: update

  4. #4
    Member JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,107
    In the BIOS go to the Advanced tab, Chipset, Southbridge Configuration. There should be a selection to make sure the Onboard LAN is Enabled (page 2-29 in the manual).
    Q9650, Rampage Formula X48, 4x1GB G.Skill PC2-6400 (D9GMH), HD 6950 2GB, 2x 64GB SandForce 1222 SSD RAID 0, BFG LS1000, Gamer
    4670K, ASRock Z87 Extreme 4, 2x8GB Crucial PC3-1600, GTX 650, 240GB Intel 335 SSD, 1TB WD Black, Seasonic S12-650W, Lightroom4
    E6600, nvidia e-7150 i630, 2x2GB Mushkin PC2-8500, HD 4650, 500GB WD Blue, Antec 380W, HTPC
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper
    cpu on water, cards air, me whiskey! - icebob

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by JLK03F150 View Post
    In the BIOS go to the Advanced tab, Chipset, Southbridge Configuration. There should be a selection to make sure the Onboard LAN is Enabled (page 2-29 in the manual).

    i did find the bios settings.... they r set to 'enabled'
    but still... no network card detected...

  6. #6
    Member JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,107
    Have you tried doing a nforce driver update to see if the LAN is detected after that?
    http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

    If you still can't see it after that, I'm guessing you may need to RMA the board.
    Q9650, Rampage Formula X48, 4x1GB G.Skill PC2-6400 (D9GMH), HD 6950 2GB, 2x 64GB SandForce 1222 SSD RAID 0, BFG LS1000, Gamer
    4670K, ASRock Z87 Extreme 4, 2x8GB Crucial PC3-1600, GTX 650, 240GB Intel 335 SSD, 1TB WD Black, Seasonic S12-650W, Lightroom4
    E6600, nvidia e-7150 i630, 2x2GB Mushkin PC2-8500, HD 4650, 500GB WD Blue, Antec 380W, HTPC
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper
    cpu on water, cards air, me whiskey! - icebob

  7. #7
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    Have you scanned for hardware changes from device manager? Highlight your computer name there, then go to actions>scan for hardware changes. This is supposed to detect installed hardware that is not being recognized.

    Otherwise, run a diagnostic of some sort. If your manufacturer provides one, that would be best, otherwise you may try something like PC doctor. It would be interesting to see if that detects a malfunctioning device at all.
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •