Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: newbie question

  1. #1

    Question newbie question

    I have a AMD Duron 1Gig on a K7AMA motherboard with an ALIM1645 chipset. I have read the manual and read the beginners guides on this site. I couldnt find any thing in Bios for setting the FSB and it wouldnt alow me to change the CPU speed or set that option to manual. Maybe in just stupid :-P
    Any suggestions ?

  2. #2

    OK I guess what im asking is...

    Does anyone know of a good online tutorial or beginners guide other that those on the overclockers.com website. Preferable one that is more specific to the type of motherboard and proccessor that I am using (see above) ?

    Any help will be greatly appreciated!

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    i dont know ur motherboard but will respond regardless and try to help. some motherboards call fsb "cpu bus", if that helps, also on the motherboard there may be some clock multiplier settings and some bus speed settings along with some memory voltage settings, so check ur manual and fiddle with the dip switches, make sure ur temps are low, use small increments, be careful.

  4. #4

    Immutable
    Administrator
    LutaWicasa's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Chicago
    Heatware Profile
    First, welcome to OC.com

    OK. That is an ECS board and they aren't known for the most oc freindly mobos. They tend to be stable and fairly quick but lacking in features we all tend to love
    It would be helpful to know specifically which board you have though. There are 3 versions of the K7AMA at the ECS site.
    You may have the ability to oc somewhat using settings found in CPU PnP Set-up in bios.
    Abjure obfuscation

  5. #5

    Cool Would this help ?

    This is the most that I know to tell you about my mobo....

    Motherboard Features
    Ali® Magic 1645 & Magic 1535D+ Chipset
    Sockets A for AMD® Athlon/Duron (K7) processors
    Two 184-pin DDR DIMMs and two 168-pin DIMMs with DDR DRAMor SDRAM support, support, up to 2GB
    RealTek 8139C LAN Chip on board
    AC97 Audio Codec on board

    PROCESSORS Detail
    AMD® Athlon/Duron (K7) processors
    Full series of Athlon/Duron CPU including the future Athlon processors
    K7AMA mainboard has a Socket-462 processor socket for an AMD K7 type CPUs. You can install any one of these processors on the mainboard. The mainboard supports Socket-462 processor front-side bus speeds of 200MHz or 266MHz.

    CHIPSET
    Ali® Magic 1645(NB) & Magic 1535D+(SB) Chipset
    Support AGP 2.0 specification (4X)
    Support PCI 2.2 Specification

    LPC I/O - IT8870F
    SAN: RealTek 8139C
    AC97 Audio Codec Compliant with AC97 2.1 specification

    MEMORY
    2 DDR DIMM Sockets and 2 DIMM sockets support (can not be used simultaneously)
    Two 184-pin 2.5V DDR SDRAM (DDR266/DDR200) or
    Two 168-pin 3.3V SDRAM (PC133/PC100)
    Maximum: 2GB

    SYSTEM BIOS
    AMI 2MB Flash EEPROM
    Supports Plug and Play 1.0A, AMP 1.2, Multi Boot, DMI
    Support for ACPI revision 1.0 specification

    I/O INTERFACE
    Supports Plug and Play function
    PS/2 keyboard and PS/2 mouse connectors
    Two USB Ports
    One - EPP/ECP mode parallel port
    Two - 16550 high-speed serial I/O port
    Audio Ports (Line-in, Line-out, Mic-in, CD-in and game port)

    LAN Header
    Supports 360K~2.88M Byte, 3 Mode FDDs
    Dual PCI IDE interfaces - support four IDE devices (PIO mode 4, DMA Mode 2, Ultra DMA 33/66/100)
    ATX Power Supply Connector
    Ports, Headers and Others: IrDA Cable header, Two Extra USB Headers Onboard
    Front Panel MIC/Line-Out header, Green, HDD, Power indicator LED headers
    CPU and Case Fan headers
    LAN Card Wake Up / Internal Modem Ring Wake-Up headers

    RTC & BATTERY
    M1535D+ included 256 bytes of CMOS
    With CMOS hardware clear jumper

    EXPANSION SLOTS
    4 PCI slots, 1 AGP slot, 1 AMR slot

    FORM FACTOR
    ATX (304mm*220mm)

  6. #6

    Immutable
    Administrator
    LutaWicasa's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Chicago
    Heatware Profile
    If you look here you will see where to identify which version of the board you have.
    Let us know and we'll try to help
    Abjure obfuscation

  7. #7
    OK. I have seen that before on the ECS site and I never found any kind of stamp like that. I looked again today (found a flashlight) and still cant find it. Looks like it should be in between the two pci slots closest to the agp slot. The only thing I saw way a stamp that said K7AMA but it was on the other side of the agp slot. From what I've seen there is supposed to be at least something there. Do you think some one screwed up at the ol mainboard factory ?
    Last edited by mcoon; 01-30-02 at 04:04 PM.

  8. #8

    Immutable
    Administrator
    LutaWicasa's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Chicago
    Heatware Profile
    Originally posted by mcoon
    OK. I have seen that before on the ECS site and I never found any kind of stamp like that. I looked again today (found a flashlight) and still cant find it. Looks like it should be in between the two pci slots closest to the agp slot. The only thing I saw way a stamp that said K7AMA but it was on the other side of the agp slot. From what I've seen there is supposed to be at least something there. Do you think some one screwed up at the ol mainboard factory ?
    They move'em around for some reason
    No ver # with it though??
    Abjure obfuscation

  9. #9
    Cant find it anywhere. Could it be on the back ?

  10. #10

    Immutable
    Administrator
    LutaWicasa's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Chicago
    Heatware Profile
    Wouldn't think so. What about any stickers anywhere(underside of pci slots, ps/2 connectors etc.)?
    Abjure obfuscation

  11. #11
    I did a very good check and I didnt find any stickers or any stamps with a version number on it. I doubt this helps but all I found was a very small sticker that just said "0" and on the AMIBIOS chip I found a sticker that said 104. It is either really small or it is on the bottom and I cant see it without taking every thing completely out. I really dont want to have to do this.
    Also, I found this on the back of my user guide:
    P/N:40-012-592111
    Version: 1.1
    Thats probaly had nothing to do with the board its self but Im not sure. I might try contacting tech support on the ecs website.
    Last edited by mcoon; 01-30-02 at 07:09 PM.

  12. #12
    Übercaffinated Member Caffinehog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    In the lab
    I've had a couple ECS boards that don't support changing the FSB. Might've had that one... can't remember. Not all boards will let you overclock at all. Gotta check the reviews first. Give that manual another look, and check everything in the bios. Good luck.

  13. #13
    New Member Chiefkdm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    I have that board and the only way you can change the fsb at all is by means of jumpers. Mine doesn't have a revision number on it either.

  14. #14
    Member Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Fussa Japan
    oh ya,
    WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!
    Athlon 2000+ @ 1.9 147/147
    ECS K7S5A
    256 MB TwinMOS DDR PC2100
    ATI Radeon 9000 128 MB (Saphire)
    40 Gig Western Digital
    Atapi CDRW
    Atapi DVD ROM 16x
    Stock HS and Fan
    Watercooled- Maze 3 Lucite,Dtek 200GPH Pump/Res, Black Ice Micro

    "So, please, flush any 100% across-the-board crap out of your heads and let's look at this anew.

    You Were Wrong, Wrong, Wrong; The Radeon Rules!"
    - Overclockers.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •