Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX

    Time for yet another cap job

    Acquired 2 dells - GX150 and GX270, both small form factor models.

    Here are the boards. I was pulling caps off of the PIII board when it dawned on me that I could document this endeavor.



    Pulling caps off cold is not recommended, but I do it that way half the time anyways. If the force applies to the board instead of the cap legs, you could potentially ruin/break the solder points on the board. You have been warned

    You can see my shipment from badcaps.net on the top left.

    More to come...
    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  2. #2
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX
    First board done. I'll test it tonight and do the next one tomorrow.

    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  3. #3
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX
    Successful boot. I'll run memtest on it later.
    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  4. #4
    Jolly-Swagman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Folding@Home in Downunder Australia.Victoria
    Author Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Great work there ACID RAIN

  5. #5
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX
    Thanks

    Finished the 270 and it boots fine as well. PSU fan was noisy so I added some oil to the bearings. I'll have to see how that works out.

    Basically for 27 bucks (caps plus shipping) I got 2 free computers

    P4 2.8 and PIII 1.13GHz
    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  6. #6
    SU(3) Moderator
    Super Nade's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    It is safer to un-solder the caps (very easy to do, see my sig) than to yank the caps off. I would replace the caps on the VRM daughterboard first!
    Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
    Understanding SMPS Technology
    || ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

    Build in progress
    ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L

  7. #7
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX
    Agreed. These are just toss-out systems so it doesn't really matter. I could have peed on them and tossed them in the garbage (probably not in that order) and been just as happy. I'm just saying

    I did end up walking the others out because of proximity to other components. No room to work haha.

    I would have replaced the ones on the VRM but they are the same rubicons as I put in so I left them. I did really consider those two but they seem to be doing well and the system seems to be running fine with them. I know usage over time matters as with nearly any component, but again, just toss-out systems. If I sell them or something I'll be doing the VRM caps for sure. I can swap those two out in less time than it takes to heat up the iron.
    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  8. #8
    Ah, yes, I've done a few of those GX270s myself. Never seen any of 'em where the VRM caps went out, but the two by the RAM slots and one by the AGP slot have gone bad on every single one I've come across.

    Both those models are pretty decent backup machines once the cap issues are fixed. If the GX150 has the 815E chipset (some just had the older 815), you can stick a Tualatin in there and have a pretty nice low-power system for a server or whatever.

  9. #9
    Member henzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Detroit
    Skwisgaar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry, had to lol.
    CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.347 ghz (207x21) @ 1.41v
    Cooling: Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme push/pull
    Ram: Dominator 3x1gb DDR3 1600 @1656mhz
    Graphics: 2x HIS HD4890 @ 1010c/1010m
    mobo: Gigibyte EX58-UD3R F6
    Case: Beastly huge HAF 932
    PSU: Corsair TX750w
    HDD: 80g WD and a 500g Barracuda
    Game Viewing Portal: HG281D @ 1920x1200 & HG216D


    "Notice how i'm not mad and he's mad. That's being a d ick."

  10. #10
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX


    Best cartoon evar.
    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  11. #11
    Member jediobi1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Nashville Tn
    Heatware Profile
    just wondering what the voltage and uF of the caps you had to replace were? i wanna see if they were the same as the ones i pulled recently
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
    CPU: E8400 3.0ghz
    Memory: Gskill 4 gigabyte 2x2gb sticks
    Videocard: ATI Radeon 4850
    Case: Antec 900
    Mouse: Logitech G5
    Keyboard: Zboard Gaming Keyboard


    My Heatware

  12. #12
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX
    The only ones I remember are 6.3v. I'm at work right now so I couldn't tell you more.

    Manufacturer will matter more than anything, usually.
    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  13. #13
    Super User SuperMiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida, US
    good job... i know dell has had alotttt of issues with the caps of the gx260, gx270, and gx280
    <(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •