Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    18

    Question DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8 & 920 D0

    If anyone has a DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8 & 920 D0 would you mind rolling your BIOS back to the original one and let me know if your computer will post. I have this setup and don't have the updated BIOS as I don't have a C0 and can't get my computer to post to do the BIOS update. I have myself as well as others in other forums stumped on this. Just trying process of elimination and this would be my 1st setup to decide on whether it is the BIOS needing updated or the mobo needing RMA-ed. Here is the post code I am getting:



    My leds are lighting up on the board and I have tried my RAM in every slot from triple channel to single channel. My GPU's aren't even turning on. Any help will be greatly appreciative. Some seem to think that it is the 920 causing this as it is incompatible with the older BIOS. Some also think that the mobo needs RMA'ed.
    No outside links in sigs - IMOG
    Intel Core I7 920 D0 3845B027 aka "Golden Graham"
    DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8
    Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000 3x1GB Elpida's
    EVGA GTX260 SLI
    PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1200W
    HSPC Top Mount Tech Station
    HANNspree 28"

  2. #2
    Senior Jedi Master
    Premium Member #9

    ghost_recon88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3,735
    Do you have a Microcenter or Fry's nearby where you could go and pick up a 920 C0 just to update the BIOS, then return it?
    The will to live will always outweigh the ability to die

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    18
    No I don't. Only thing we have in Oklahoma is a Best Buy.
    No outside links in sigs - IMOG
    Intel Core I7 920 D0 3845B027 aka "Golden Graham"
    DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8
    Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000 3x1GB Elpida's
    EVGA GTX260 SLI
    PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1200W
    HSPC Top Mount Tech Station
    HANNspree 28"

  4. #4
    Member Kampfzerstorer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    213
    I've experienced a similar type of nonsensical LED post code when I had a faulty power supply that didn't supply all the proper voltages along the 24 pin ATX connector.

    This is probably not the case for you or the others on forums. Its a bit strange though as I'd expect an 88 code for a non compatible CPU.
    Processor: 4790K @ 4.8
    Motherboard:MSI Z97 Xpower AC
    RAM: 2x8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum
    Video Card: PNY GTX 780 Ti x 2
    Power Supply: EVGA SuperNOVA NEX1500 Classified

  5. #5
    Member Alchemy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,721
    I read on another forum this morning that D0's require a BIOS update. Like the other guy said you need to get your hands on a C0 update the BIOS and then install your D0.

    I have two brand new C0's sitting in my living room. I can take that D0 off of your hands if you'd like...lol I'm just kidding...or am I?

    Ahh...here it is. http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=100586121

    i7 920 D0 (4ghz @ 1.28v) l EVGA Classified l WD 300gb velociraptor l maxtor 200gb l 6gb G. Skill Trident 2000 l Cooler Master 1100 UCP l XFX GTX260SLi l Black MM Extended Ascension) l 2x PA 120.3 l 2x DDC+(355's) l Heatkiller Cu v3 l Dell 2005FPW l


    Gigabyte UD3R as a backup
    Heat


    "Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery/None but ourselves can free our minds " -Bob Marley

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Kampfzerstorer View Post
    I've experienced a similar type of nonsensical LED post code when I had a faulty power supply that didn't supply all the proper voltages along the 24 pin ATX connector.

    This is probably not the case for you or the others on forums. Its a bit strange though as I'd expect an 88 code for a non compatible CPU.
    Well that was the 1st post code I had was an 88. I reset CMOS and then I got the code in the pic.
    No outside links in sigs - IMOG
    Intel Core I7 920 D0 3845B027 aka "Golden Graham"
    DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8
    Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000 3x1GB Elpida's
    EVGA GTX260 SLI
    PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1200W
    HSPC Top Mount Tech Station
    HANNspree 28"

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Alchemy1 View Post
    I read on another forum this morning that D0's require a BIOS update. Like the other guy said you need to get your hands on a C0 update the BIOS and then install your D0.

    I have two brand new C0's sitting in my living room. I can take that D0 off of your hands if you'd like...lol I'm just kidding...or am I?

    Ahh...here it is. http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=100586121
    Yeah that was my thread I started. I have posted this question in many of forums in hopes that someone has had similar issues or can do a test for me with their setup.
    No outside links in sigs - IMOG
    Intel Core I7 920 D0 3845B027 aka "Golden Graham"
    DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8
    Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000 3x1GB Elpida's
    EVGA GTX260 SLI
    PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1200W
    HSPC Top Mount Tech Station
    HANNspree 28"

  8. #8
    Member Kampfzerstorer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    213
    Quote Originally Posted by DrNip View Post
    Yeah that was my thread I started. I have posted this question in many of forums in hopes that someone has had similar issues or can do a test for me with their setup.
    If you need the updated BIOS but don't have a C0 to update with, you can always order a pre-programmed BIOS chip with whatever BIOS you want. It should only be about $20.
    You may also have some luck posting on the DFI forums and (I think his name is RGone?) may direct you to get a pre-programmed BIOS chip from the nearest DFI service center.
    Processor: 4790K @ 4.8
    Motherboard:MSI Z97 Xpower AC
    RAM: 2x8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum
    Video Card: PNY GTX 780 Ti x 2
    Power Supply: EVGA SuperNOVA NEX1500 Classified

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Kampfzerstorer View Post
    If you need the updated BIOS but don't have a C0 to update with, you can always order a pre-programmed BIOS chip with whatever BIOS you want. It should only be about $20.
    You may also have some luck posting on the DFI forums and (I think his name is RGone?) may direct you to get a pre-programmed BIOS chip from the nearest DFI service center.
    Thanks.
    No outside links in sigs - IMOG
    Intel Core I7 920 D0 3845B027 aka "Golden Graham"
    DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8
    Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000 3x1GB Elpida's
    EVGA GTX260 SLI
    PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1200W
    HSPC Top Mount Tech Station
    HANNspree 28"

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    18
    Well I got my 3rd mobo and let me tell you it is great! Here are some pics and the highest I have manage to get on air.

    4835.8mhz on air

    CLICKY CLICKY CLICKY



    No outside links in sigs - IMOG
    Intel Core I7 920 D0 3845B027 aka "Golden Graham"
    DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8
    Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000 3x1GB Elpida's
    EVGA GTX260 SLI
    PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1200W
    HSPC Top Mount Tech Station
    HANNspree 28"

  11. #11
    Member Alchemy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,721
    What voltage? That is a crazy clock!

    i7 920 D0 (4ghz @ 1.28v) l EVGA Classified l WD 300gb velociraptor l maxtor 200gb l 6gb G. Skill Trident 2000 l Cooler Master 1100 UCP l XFX GTX260SLi l Black MM Extended Ascension) l 2x PA 120.3 l 2x DDC+(355's) l Heatkiller Cu v3 l Dell 2005FPW l


    Gigabyte UD3R as a backup
    Heat


    "Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery/None but ourselves can free our minds " -Bob Marley

  12. #12
    Member eva2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,100
    looking good DrNip

    If you're game time to try 4/28 beta bios http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=604767

    Memory Addict

  13. #13
    Member chuck4456's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    eastern nc
    Posts
    236
    Quote Originally Posted by DrNip View Post
    Well I got my 3rd mobo and let me tell you it is great!
    3RD Time around huh???

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    18
    @Alchemy1 - 1.45v

    @eva2000 - Just now making another bootable flash drive and puttin it on there.

    @chuck4456 - 1st was physically damaged, 2nd was dead on arrival but the 3rd worked like a charm. I was ready to quit computers altogether but luckily the 3rd one work and I purchased a golden chip!
    No outside links in sigs - IMOG
    Intel Core I7 920 D0 3845B027 aka "Golden Graham"
    DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8
    Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000 3x1GB Elpida's
    EVGA GTX260 SLI
    PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1200W
    HSPC Top Mount Tech Station
    HANNspree 28"

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Hardass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    S.W. Florida.
    Posts
    2,967
    Would really like to see your bios setting on this one.
    Folding User Stats

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •