Page 31 of 82 FirstFirst ... 21 30 31 32 41 81 ... LastLast
Results 601 to 620 of 1633
  1. #601
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    Quote Originally Posted by Aynjell View Post
    That'd explain it! But are your machines set to turn back on?
    Yes, but they didn't come back on, for some reason. It lost power for a very brief second. Hasn't shutdown since, figured this thing was bad.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  2. #602
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    Hey Thid.

    I MIGHT have someone getting me a key for your HP rack. I left a message with a friend and hopefully they can pull one. IF they do, they will mail it to me and Ill let you know.
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  3. #603
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    That would be pretty awesome, thank you.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  4. #604
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    So, been thinking about a HTPC for a long time. Going to try and get one running shortly. I was given a Dell (cheapo) system that a company was getting rid of. Single core P4, 2gb of RAM (upped from 512) in a slim case. It works ok, but I want something a bit more robust for high def content. I've looked at HTPC cases, but they are all expensive, small and just...I don't know; not "rack mountable". Nothing overkill with them except price and looks. Neither of which I care about. I'll probably create a thread in the HTPC section of the forums, but this is where I'm going to "store" my thoughts and discussion. Here is the case that I'm looking at:

    Norco 270 2u server chassis

    The case is a bit smaller, but it fits standard ATX power supplies (big plus) and half height cards. My only concern at this point is cooling on the processor and what type of video card to use in an HTPC. Cooling probably won't be a problem as I can use forced induction on the heatsink if it is an issue. The one thing that I don't know about is accelerated graphics for media.

    Cable wise, I can easily run a HDMI cable (or SPDIF) up through the floor from the rack. This would allow me to keep it very close to the switch and have it as loud as I want. It would free up space in the entertainment center, so that is a big plus too.

    I'm looking for input on the following topics:

    • Which video card for a HTPC
    • Which remote/keyboard that will go through a floor (UHF?)
    • Which operating system (Mythbuntu, Windows with Media Portal) - Looking for any and all input

    ----------------

    The other thing on my plate is wiring my rack up. I need to get the power strips working so that power is much easier to wire. I may be looking at making/purchasing arms so that wiring is even simpler. In addition to that, I'd love to add an LCD screen that is nearer the rack so that I can work on the servers easier.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  5. #605
    Member Tsnowflake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    714
    GPU: ATI 5570, or you could wait for the new wave of Nvidia cards which will purportedly support bitstreaming audio and are intended for the HTPC market.

    You could actually forgo a GPU if you plan on using the HTPC purely as a playback machine. The i3 CPU+h55/h57 chipset combo can play full HD and bitstream audio w/o a GPU.

    Remote/Keyboard: I hear people really like the DiNovo Edge Mini, but I don't know anything about its range. I'm using a $20 dell wireless keyboard, but its <10ft from the setup.

    OS: I use Windows with XBMC (rapier skin) on my HTPC. Media Portal is good too, but i liked the ease of use/simplicity of XBMC better.

    Also if plan to record TV TiVo style, i think HDhomerun devices are still the way to go.
    Reading Read

  6. #606
    Very kind Senior Xaotic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Greensboro NC
    Posts
    2,579
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    The other thing on my plate is wiring my rack up. I need to get the power strips working so that power is much easier to wire. I may be looking at making/purchasing arms so that wiring is even simpler. In addition to that, I'd love to add an LCD screen that is nearer the rack so that I can work on the servers easier.
    Horizontal PDU strips are a good idea. The vertical strips are generally painful, but still functional.

    Vertical and horizontal wiring managers -- yes
    Cable management arms -- never
    They are good for creating air dams and nothing else.

    If you have sufficient space in the rack, the Dell E2010H LCD monitors fit well and combined with a console keyboard create a nice work space in the rack.

  7. #607
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    Quote Originally Posted by Xaotic View Post
    Horizontal PDU strips are a good idea. The vertical strips are generally painful, but still functional.

    Vertical and horizontal wiring managers -- yes
    Cable management arms -- never
    They are good for creating air dams and nothing else.

    If you have sufficient space in the rack, the Dell E2010H LCD monitors fit well and combined with a console keyboard create a nice work space in the rack.
    Good information. Regarding the wiring managers, do you have links so I know exactly which you are talking about? The reason I was looking for arms is I pull my servers out to work on them, so the cables need extra slack. That is, unless I'm thinking of this incorrectly.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  8. #608
    Member neonblingbling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,885
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    I'm looking for input on the following topics:

    • Which video card for a HTPC
    • Which remote/keyboard that will go through a floor (UHF?)
    • Which operating system (Mythbuntu, Windows with Media Portal) - Looking for any and all input
    A popular/common thing to do for HTPCs is to purchase an Acer Revo, and run XBMC Live from it. XBMC Live uses the onboard graphics (NVIDIA ION LE) to accelerate video; it seems that newegg customers can play 1080p on it. I have a similar setup, Zotac IONITX-C-U, which also has the ION GPU. I haven't tested 1080P, but there is a definate difference between running 720p media in XBMC without GPU acceleration (in Windows 7) versus running it with acceleration (Live, which is a Linux build). The Atom CPU isn't very fast so there are parts of videos where it stutters, but everything is butter smooth with the GPU acceleration. I figure it should be pretty easy to find an Nvidia card that is faster than an 'ION GPU'...

    Dunno about the input device though. How long can you run a USB cable before loosing signal... This product says it has a 150ft range, which would allow you to run the input receiver up to the media center.
    [HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(

  9. #609
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    Quote Originally Posted by neonblingbling View Post
    A popular/common thing to do for HTPCs is to purchase an Acer Revo
    Looks expensive and non-upgradable. That doesn't follow the name of this thread. It is neither "Rackmount" nor "Overkill".
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  10. #610
    Member neonblingbling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,885
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Looks expensive and non-upgradable. That doesn't follow the name of this thread. It is neither "Rackmount" nor "Overkill".
    Sorry, I simply brought it up as an example.

    tl;dr: XBMC Live works well with slow CPUs and reasonable Nvidia GPUs. Maybe could get away with a 8400.
    [HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(

  11. #611
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    This section is on a definite hold right now. The people I purchased the rack from called and said "Oh, well, we forgot to cash your check. It is going to go through shortly!". Now I'm -$137.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  12. #612
    Very kind Senior Xaotic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Greensboro NC
    Posts
    2,579
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Good information. Regarding the wiring managers, do you have links so I know exactly which you are talking about? The reason I was looking for arms is I pull my servers out to work on them, so the cables need extra slack. That is, unless I'm thinking of this incorrectly.
    Horizontal wiring managers are good for controlling wiring near switches:

    http://www.stayonline.com/searchresu...ategoryid=2826

    A vertical wiring manager could be mounted outside the rack and aids routing. You probably will not have high enough density to need these:

    http://www.rackmountsolutions.net/Re....asp#34-207612

    I have a high denisty cage where I house my production servers. Due to the nature of the systems, I use 6" vertical cable management on the front and rear between the racks.

    Office server room wiring uses both horizontal and vertical wiring managers as the cable count is generally much higher. I attached a picture of a small office rack for visuals. It is a bit of overkill for 7 users on average, but has to be completely redundant. They have no onsite support and I am about 700 miles away. The rack contains wireless, POE VOIP switches, office and server subnet switches, Cisco Unity Express routers, Cicso MPLS routers, firewalls, horizontal PDUs and an auto transfer switch to handle single power circuit failures.

    Cable arms are convenient for moving out a server, but it needs to be off to service it in any event. It is not much more trouble to unplug a couple of cables to do things right. Think of it as a tag out/lock out process. You don't want to work on equipment with a chance of it being turned on. In my case, non HPC cluster servers all have remote management including power. They could be remotely started if the servers have power and the dedicated management network connection. This could go very wrong in an instant.

    One of our locations wanted to get around 30 arms for their servers. I perhaps went a bit over the top in saying no perhaps too forcefully.

    Stayonline is also good for short power cables.
    Last edited by Xaotic; 07-14-10 at 10:00 AM.

  13. #613
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    Very good information, thank you.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  14. #614
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,364
    How do you intend to hook it up? Have a rack mount htpc with some kind of remote setup or what?
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  15. #615
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    Quote Originally Posted by Aynjell View Post
    How do you intend to hook it up? Have a rack mount htpc with some kind of remote setup or what?
    I'm not sure what you are asking. The cables would run up through the floor.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  16. #616
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,364
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    I'm not sure what you are asking. The cables would run up through the floor.
    So what you're intending is a long ass hdmi cable? That's what I was asking.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  17. #617
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    Quote Originally Posted by Aynjell View Post
    So what you're intending is a long ass hdmi cable? That's what I was asking.
    Long? Sort of. A 15ft should be more than enough. The rack sits directly below the TV.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  18. #618
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,364
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Long? Sort of. A 15ft should be more than enough. The rack sits directly below the TV.
    How will you control it? That's another curiosity I have. You could run a usb cable with it, and then have a hub at the end nearest the TV, with wireless stuff plugged into it. Or did you have something more overkill in mind?
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  19. #619
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    Quote Originally Posted by Aynjell View Post
    How will you control it? That's another curiosity I have. You could run a usb cable with it, and then have a hub at the end nearest the TV, with wireless stuff plugged into it. Or did you have something more overkill in mind?
    UHF goes very far, even through floors. This would allow me to run a single HDMI cable through the floor.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  20. #620
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,364
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    UHF goes very far, even through floors. This would allow me to run a single HDMI cable through the floor.
    I guess that works! I'll be interested to see how this turns out!
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

Page 31 of 82 FirstFirst ... 21 30 31 32 41 81 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •