Page 9 of 82 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 19 59 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 180 of 1633
  1. #161
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    13
    Overkill is an understatement... holy crap...

  2. #162
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    Hehe, thank you
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. #163
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    If you dont want to leave that Optie HS on, you might want to look at the AC freezer LP.

    IT NEEDS LAPPING FIRST! but it is a 2u HS that doesnt do too bad on the Phenom X3 I have it on (NON OCed though).

    If you end up deciding on a second Perc5i, drop me a PM I can forward you the link to the Ebay seller I just bought my Perc5i, with cables and 512 of memory from for 150 shipped.
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  4. #164
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    I will need a second Perc 5/i, but I do not need cables, I actually have 2 extra ones.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  5. #165
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    I will need a second Perc 5/i, but I do not need cables, I actually have 2 extra ones.
    There is a guy on Ebay that every few months puts up like 100 Perc5i's for 75 with free shipping
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  6. #166
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    Sure, send me the link, I'll need it eventually. That is pretty cheap.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  7. #167
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    Oh yeah, forgot to mention that I got everything back up online. I ended up figuring out that once a disk goes "foreign", you can just hit the import button. I had no idea that the tab existed and ended up wiping out my RAID array and had to rebuild it >.<
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  8. #168
    Super User SuperMiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    3,424
    nice work!
    <(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>

  9. #169
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Sure, send me the link, I'll need it eventually. That is pretty cheap.
    get it to ya tonight if i can find it. I have seen him twice and neither time have I added him to favs.
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  10. #170
    Folding for Team 32! Ben333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    2,586
    Thideras, that case is sick! Good luck sorting out the issues. Are you sure it's ok to run every drive on just two cables? A power supply cable usually only has two or three molex connectors on it but you have 6 connectors on each cable. Are you sure thats safe? I'd imagine it is but I'd be worried if you had all the bays filled.

  11. #171
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    Yes, the cables are lower gauge for the power draw. Assuming 1 amp per drive (which I believe is WAY over what they actually are) at startup, that is only 10 amps power draw per cable. I have a little room left
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  12. #172
    Member neonblingbling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,884
    What are your hard drive temps? I see the 5 (80mm?) fans, but I don't see how the air flows over the actual hard drives.
    [HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(

  13. #173
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    Quote Originally Posted by neonblingbling View Post
    What are your hard drive temps? I see the 5 (80mm?) fans, but I don't see how the air flows over the actual hard drives.
    When the case is closed, it pulls it through the front of the case, over the drives. I'm not sure what the temps are, my Perc 5 isn't reporting it.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  14. #174
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    After wrestling with the server for days, I finally got it over to CentOS instead of Solaris. Solaris was a PITA to use from a command line, the commands were different from "normal" linux distros and they were bass akwards.

    SO! After some stupid moments, I finally got the folders shared and everything is functioning correctly.

    I also learned that fdisk can NOT work with disks larger than 2tb and you need to use parted to make the partition then format with a 4kb block size (EXT3) to use the entire array. To anyone that has an array this large and wishes to use EXT3, DO NOT forget the '-j' flag (journal), it takes over 1.5 hours to format the disk just to find out you formatted as EXT2 >.<
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  15. #175
    Super User SuperMiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    3,424
    no freebsd??
    <(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>

  16. #176
    gangaskan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Lorain, ohio
    Posts
    3,135
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    After wrestling with the server for days, I finally got it over to CentOS instead of Solaris. Solaris was a PITA to use from a command line, the commands were different from "normal" linux distros and they were bass akwards.

    SO! After some stupid moments, I finally got the folders shared and everything is functioning correctly.

    I also learned that fdisk can NOT work with disks larger than 2tb and you need to use parted to make the partition then format with a 4kb block size (EXT3) to use the entire array. To anyone that has an array this large and wishes to use EXT3, DO NOT forget the '-j' flag (journal), it takes over 1.5 hours to format the disk just to find out you formatted as EXT2 >.<
    a rather long mistake

    CentOS is pretty fun to play with its been good to me atleast.
    Main Rig: [Silverstone TJ06 painted hammer black] [Intel E6550 3.2 ghz 1.35v ] [4 gigs Gskil] [Asus P5k Premium Wifi/ap] [Soundblaster Audiguy ZS platinum] [ATI 3560 pro] [enhiem 1250 pump, Swiftech Storm, primoflex tubing, mcres micro, maze 4 gpu block][ Windows Vista x64 Ultimate sp1]
    HTPC: [LianLI V300B] [Opty 165 1.88 ghz] [Thermalright XP90] [2 gb OCZ Platinum DDR400] [Soundblaster X-FI Xtreme Music] [8600GT Stock] [Windows Vista Home Premium sp1]
    Server: [Rocketfish Tower] [c2d E6600][Scythe Ninja Jr] [4 gigs Gskil ddr2 800][ATI X850XT ] [Windows Vista B]
    Network: Cisco 851W uptime: forever
    Heatware

  17. #177
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperMiguel View Post
    no freebsd??
    I'd rather start with something I'm familiar with first

    Quote Originally Posted by gangaskan View Post
    a rather long mistake

    CentOS is pretty fun to play with its been good to me atleast.
    That it is. I finally got the server setup with no GUI and I just SSH into the box. I can work on it from work and it just makes it a ton easier than dedicating an entire 24" monitor to the server.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  18. #178
    Super User SuperMiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    3,424
    no more zfs?
    <(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>

  19. #179
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperMiguel View Post
    no more zfs?
    I wasn't using it to its full potential. Combine that with the command line being a PITA made me want to switch.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  20. #180
    Super User SuperMiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    3,424
    :
    u were my only zfs buddy

    :
    <(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>

Page 9 of 82 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 19 59 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •