Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    jstutman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    MOOissouri
    Posts
    2,535

    how to copy files using dos

    im trying to copy a file using dos. can someone tell me the what the command line looks like//

    thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Thread Hijacker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Six inches to the right.
    Posts
    1,312
    Simple commands in DOS.

    Your prompt should be "C:\>".

    Issue the command "Copy" then the location from, and the location to. Say you wanted to copy c:\test.txt c:\temp\test.txt. The command would look like this:

    C:\>copy test.txt \temp

    And away you go!

  3. #3
    jstutman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    MOOissouri
    Posts
    2,535

    i cant figure it out

    its a .dll file first off.


    the paremeter looks like this

    im pulling it form my a drive so

    copy a:\text.dll

    then i add where i want it to go


    copy a:\text.dll c:\program files\ws_setup

    then it gves me invalid syntax

    what gives.

    i got it to work once. and it said windows is using this file.

    can i make windows stop sing the file, so i can swap the file out?

  4. #4
    Senior Thread Hijacker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Six inches to the right.
    Posts
    1,312
    Are you typing it exaclty like you have it?
    "copy a:\text.dll c:\program files\ws_setup"
    Remember, DOS will only do 8 character file and directory names. So you'd have to do:
    copy a:\text.dll c:\progra~1\ws_setup

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Baldwin Park, CA
    Posts
    157

    Re: i cant figure it out

    Originally posted by jstutman
    i got it to work once. and it said windows is using this file.
    Were you trying in pure DOS or DOS in windows?

  6. #6
    Piano Man PhoenixMDM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Candia, NH
    Posts
    730
    Just curious, why not just use windows explorer to copy it? Are you on a DOS-only sys or something? Heh, dos-only...

  7. #7
    Inactive Moderator RED Hot Machine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, England.
    Posts
    1,271
    Originally posted by Wa11y
    Are you typing it exaclty like you have it?
    "copy a:\text.dll c:\program files\ws_setup"
    Remember, DOS will only do 8 character file and directory names. So you'd have to do:
    copy a:\text.dll c:\progra~1\ws_setup
    If your in a dos windows in 2k you can type

    copy a:\text.dll c:\program files\ws_setup

    but in windows 98 you would have to type

    copy a:\text.dll "c:\program files\ws_setup"

    Notice you need the "
    You only live once, look out for those true friends and never forget them EVER!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •