Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Member ps2cho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Socal, no hella here
    Posts
    6,181

    Seagate 1.5TB HD $114.99 !!! (HOT!!)

    Code: EMCLRNM27
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...L0A-_-22148337

    Free shipping.

    WOW!! This is HOT
    Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
    Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
    Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
    HDD Server: Celeron 1840 // ASRock Z97Extreme4 // 6TB HDD's // Windows Server 2012


  2. #2
    Senior Member KillrBuckeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Livonia, MI
    Posts
    2,292
    Lowest $/GB I have EVER seen. I guess the firmware problems are really hurting Seagate's sales.
    KillrBuckeye

    Scarlet: i7 3770K @ 4.4 GHz (1.19V), Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, 16GB (2x8GB) GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, WD 750GB Black, Samsung EcoGreen 2TB, SB Audigy 2, Corsair 450VX, Dell 2005FPW + ASUS VH226H, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

    Gray: Q6600 G0 @ 3.4 GHz (378*9, 1.31V), Abit IP35-E, 2x2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400, HD 5450, OCZ Agility 60GB SSD, Corsair CX500

    http://www.killrbuckeye.com

  3. #3
    Member VinnyTAMU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    BCS, Texas
    Posts
    1,680
    Yea, if it were not for the firmware issues I would pull the trigger on this. I am not convinced that they have fully addressed the issue. I have a feeling Seagate is trying to unload these drives and release either a second 1.5 TB 7200.11 model or a new 7200.12 series.

  4. #4
    Member ps2cho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Socal, no hella here
    Posts
    6,181
    Can anybody confirm that the firmware upgrade still has the problems associated? I've not heard of any problems post-firmware.
    Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
    Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
    Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
    HDD Server: Celeron 1840 // ASRock Z97Extreme4 // 6TB HDD's // Windows Server 2012


  5. #5
    Super User SuperMiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    3,424
    i been using this hd for a while and no problems so far..
    <(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Murfressboro, Tenn
    Posts
    69
    Been using one for about 3-4 months and no problems. Go for it.....

  7. #7
    Super User SuperMiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    3,424
    Quote Originally Posted by LSC_YA View Post
    Been using one for about 3-4 months and no problems. Go for it.....
    yep go for it
    <(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>

  8. #8
    Member CharlieCS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New York Forum Points:4576
    Posts
    1,196
    i guess its a good option for people who want cheap Raid1 array , no way both drives will crap out at the same time , but then again
    Looking to buy AM3 Six Quad and Tri core chips. PM me.

    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=67820

  9. #9
    Super User SuperMiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    3,424
    Quote Originally Posted by CharlieCS View Post
    i guess its a good option for people who want cheap Raid1 array , no way both drives will crap out at the same time , but then again
    so this drives have a bad reputation..
    <(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    416
    I've had one for 3-4 months too. It has been great and I am having no problems. I say go for it.
    My Comp:
    i7 K875--AsusP7P55D Pro--Galaxy GTX 460--12 Gig Dual-Channel DDR3--Plextor SATA DVD-RW drive--Antec 500W

    HTPC
    Intel i3 4130T--ASROCK H87M Pro4--4 Gig Dual-Channel --40 Gig IBM SSD--2 TB WD Green--Ceton Infini TV 4

    Heatware
    Folding User Stats

  11. #11
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,358
    The problem can surface at any time, they don't even know what triggers it. I had a freshly RMA'd drive die because of the firmware issue 2 months after it was "fixed"; even confirmed it had the updated firmware.

    I'd suggest staying away.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  12. #12
    Magical Leopluridon Senior MadMan007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    in a magical field
    Posts
    5,294
    Even without the firmware problems there were hardware problems iirc. I mean it's great if you get a working drive that lasts you but there's a reason they're so cheap $/GB, and it's not just this particular model but others in the 7200.11 line as well.
    There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

    "This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"

  13. #13
    Dj Spiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Chicago,IL
    Posts
    927
    Yeah true^^^ Then again Hard-Drives die anyways. It's all a matter of probability...The true question is HOW LONG BEFORE IT DIES.
    ###My Main Rig### Nicknamed "Daddys Lambo"
    *Storage* (Raid 0)1 OS x2 SAMSUNG 840 250GB SSD
    *GPU* x1=AMD/ATI (ASUS) Radeon R9 290X
    *CPU*=Intel Core i7 3770k Overclocked @4.7ghZ/Corsair H100i Liquid Cooled
    *MB*=ASRock #Z87 OC FORMULA
    *RAM*=G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series \32GB\DDR3 1600mhz
    *PSU 1*=Rosewill #LIGHTNING-1000
    *CASE*=Corsair #Carbide Series 500R Arctic White
    *Storage 2*=x1 WD Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
    *NAS*=QNAP TS-509 Pro/RAID5/(5)Seagate Barracuda #ST3000DM001 3TB

  14. #14
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,358
    Quote Originally Posted by Dj Spiel View Post
    Yeah true^^^ Then again Hard-Drives die anyways. It's all a matter of probability...The true question is HOW LONG BEFORE IT DIES.
    Yes, and give the track record of the 7200.10 and 7200.11 series drives, I would not expect them to work for very long.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    73
    Picked up two of these from newegg back in January. One was DOA, one died during initial format. After restarting the machine, it only recognized it as a <500gb drive in the bios. Sent back to Newegg.

    Of the next pair, one lasted <24hrs, the other lasted less than a week.

    Got those swapped.

    The next pair? One was clicking out of the box (but worked okay, firmware update did not fix the clicking) and the other one died within a week.

    So out of 6 drives, none lasted a week. I had to seriously complain to Seagate to get a refund at this point. They insisted on sending me more drives. Talk about obnoxious. And their customer service dept wanted to hear nothing of my troubles and insisted it was just me.

    Look at the customer rating on 1.5TB Seagate drives.

    Never buying another Seagate piece of hardware in my life.
    Gone: Q6600 g0@3.2GHz/Thermalright 120 Extreme/Antec 900/Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6/8GB Skill Ram/2900XT x2 Crossfire
    In Use: i7 920/Antec 1200 with Hidden DVD/XSPC 480, XSPC240, 4870x2...

  16. #16
    BossBorot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    SCU Santa Clara CA
    Posts
    2,936
    Personally I think these drives are good enough to buy even though they had a lot of problems initially. They still seem to have a slightly higher failure rate than most drives but they are not failing in droves like they used to.

    As long as you back it up from time to time, and if you have any hard drive over 500gb I think you should have it backed up in at least one location, you will be fine.

    Also for those of you with a costco card you can get the freeagent desk (this drive in a usb 2.0 enclosure) for 110 in store or online until the 3rd of May iirc.

    I have owned a total of 11 of these hard drives at one time or another and only had one falure. It was taken care of by seagate hassel free within a week from asking for an rma to getting a hard drive in hand.

  17. #17
    Member dreamtfk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Orlando FL
    Posts
    1,882
    Was thinking about going over 1TB but I have read that anyhting over 1TB will use 5 platter engineering which increases power usage and lowers performance. I also heard about the firmware issues which makes me leary although my current 300GB Seagate has been a champ for years.
    i5 3570K @ 4.2Ghz (34c) & CoolerMaster Hyper 212
    Asus P8Z77-V
    G.Skill Ripjaw 1600 4GBx2
    Sapphire 6950 2GB Unlocked/OC'd to 6970 Specs
    Corsair Graphite 600T (Awesome!)
    Corsair 650TX PSU
    120GB Intel(Boot)/Samsung 840 250GB (Gaming)/1TB Samsung (Storage)
    Acer 27" Monitor

  18. #18
    Senior Member Maxvla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    9,289
    I could be wrong, but I am almost sure the WD 2TB is 4 500gb platters.
    The Black Hole
    Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
    Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX460 1GB
    Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
    Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
    Corsair HX850W PSU
    NEC DVD-RW

  19. #19
    Risen From the Ashes
    Premium Member #42
    synthetic_fenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    38.61708841727722, -89.80939149856567
    Posts
    1,786
    I have 4 of these drives in Raid 5 on my file server and they have been operating 24x7 since the beginning of January with 0 issues.
    DARK-PHOENIX
    OS=
    . . . Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
    MOBO=. Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1.0

    RAM= . . 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws
    PC3 14900
    CPU= . . .AMD FX-8350 @ 4.5
    PSU= . . .Corsair 750TX
    VID= . . .2x EVGA GTX660 Ti

    HD= . . . 60GB Crusial M4 (OS) & 2x 600GB V-raptors Raid0 (Games)
    Fold as if your life depended on it . .Protect your Computing Rights!
    Remember that the Forum Search and Google are very helpful tools :)
    My Heat 48-0

  20. #20
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    Quote Originally Posted by dreamtfk View Post
    Was thinking about going over 1TB but I have read that anyhting over 1TB will use 5 platter engineering which increases power usage and lowers performance. I also heard about the firmware issues which makes me leary although my current 300GB Seagate has been a champ for years.
    current 1.5TB 7200.11 seagates use 4 375gb platters.... the 7200.12 1tb uses 2 500gb platters.

    all that said i wont buy another seagate for a while... and i ust to be a huge seagate fanboy.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •